We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must see!”

Museum of Broken Relationships
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$31.90*
and up
Walking Tour of Zagreb and Museum of Broken Relationships Entrance
Ranked #9 of 216 things to do in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Winner of Kenneth Hudson award 2011 for the most innovative museum in Europe.
Kongsberg, Norway
2 reviews
“a must see!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very cool place! People from around the world have sent in special items from their lives, with a small note.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Burgundergul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,297
    830
    333
    91
    52
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“what a wonderful little museum”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When told by my friends that I should visit this museum while in Zagreb, I snorted. I could curate that museum, I said, and vowed to avoid it.

While in the center of town with two equally stubborn friends, however, I was pretty much dragged to visit it. I am so glad that I did.

I once worked in a world-class museum and know something about how exhibits are developed and curated. This was a poignant, lovely and completely non-exploitative look at how and why relationships end. Artifacts are personal and come in from around the world, and the short text descriptions, written by the donors, are to the point and moving.

The material is organized in a few rooms. You don't need more than an hour or two to visit, and it is so worth your time.

I've visited grand museums in many imposing cities. Never have I been more aware of the sorrow and hope of a common humanity than in this little place. If you find yourself in Zagreb, this is the one thing you must see.

And I bought a souvenir. A "Bad Memories Eraser." We could all use one of those.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank njp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Most unusual”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This museum is quite unusual and well worth a visit. It is fairly small, but in a small space, there is plenty to make you think! There is a café attached to the building but I did not sample its delights.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFethiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Interesting concept”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

As soon as I heard about this museum, it was one of the things I couldn't leave Zagreb without seeing. Every single exhibit is fascinating and there is a good balance of sad and amusing stories and items on display so it's not all doom and gloom inside!

Took around an hour to read every single display (they were all so fascinating!) and the museum is well signposted around the city.

Open from 9am - 9pm, entrance fee was 25KR and there was a small gift shop and cafe inside too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank scratchgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating & unusual museum”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a fun and interesting museum in a great building up town. Allow your self enough time so you can read through all the little descriptions and stories behind each object.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Broken Relationships also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Museum of Broken Relationships? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing