We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as mediocre and frustrating as the hotel (Regent)”

Zinfandel's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 783 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $138
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Unique environment created at the Zinfandel's and superb cuisine that combines excellent local ingredients with tastes from all over the world are the winning combination for fine dinning experience in the heart of Zagreb. Building up on the Esplanade tradition of the finest cuisine, Ana Grgic, young & charming Chef, is refreshing the local restaurant offer by connecting Zagreb with the Mediterranean and continental Europe. The Zinfandel's menu features delicious, modern and creative dishes based on fish, meat, poultry or vegetables. Each dish is prepared with great care and sense of beauty. All wines have been carefully selected, by country's first Sommelier, to perfectly complement the dishes from the menu. Selection of fine sweets from all over the world is complemented with local delicacies, prepared by Croatia's No. 1 Chef Patissier. Oleander Terrace offers is a popular place for dining outside during spring and summer months, and offers stunning views across the park and city. Restaurant is open seven days a week and serves buffet and a la carte breakfast, seasonal a la carte menu for lunch and dinner, business lunch and Sunday Brunch. A la carte dishes can be ordered from ipad menus or can even be downloaded prior the arrival to check the offer. Restaurant and Terrace can be rented for celebrations, events and weddings. Open: Mon-Sat, 6 am - 11 pm Sun, 6.30 Am - 11 pm
Redwood City, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just as mediocre and frustrating as the hotel (Regent)”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Terrible, disorganized and slow service (be prepared to wait an hour plus between courses at dinner). Food is just mediocre for the high price. Staff does not do well with larger parties. Maybe they are too cheap/ old school to invest in modern software to manage the turnover and run the kitchen efficiently to properly serve the customers?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ambreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    53
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Old world charm and service in a beautiful room. Top notch, attentive service, friendly staff. The five course tasting menu was very enjoyable and the portions quite substantial. The tuna and scallop carpaccio was good, but not as good as the tuna tartare prepared at the table that my wife had. The rest of the meal was superb, well prepared and presented. This is elegant, high end dining at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nfazerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, ny
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“If you don't order buffet breakfast”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I went down for breakfast was seated on a terrace which was nicely set up. Once I told maitre de I only wanted continental breakfast I was moved to an isolated area given coffee micro pastries and went 45 minutes without service. Finally went back inside told a waitress I was leaving as they took my room number. Apparently you must eat the buffet or you're not worth their attention. Coffee in Croatia is great but not here avoid. Afterwards I had nice coffee around the corner. The front desk cafe, valet were all wonderful. The maitre de for breakfast was the worst I've seen in some time.

Helpful?
4 Thank les d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A pleasant suprise”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The main dinning room at the Esplanade. Superb food and service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cussons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hope it was just a bad night”
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

It was the best restaurant in town according to multiple travel sources but our experience was terrible. In all the hotel had sloppy service for a 5 star- the restaurant as well. We started with oysters- they were not well prepared. The first had a cracked shell & was fresh but not well cleaned. The second was hideous- very foul. I should have spit it out- but was so shocked that it slid down my throat. We waited for a long time for the main course. When it finally arrived, my husband had was not at the table & my duck slid around on the plate- as the waiter was in a hurry. Steak was a poor cut, tough but did have a nice sauce. Beautiful presentation but bland would describe the duck. It was a busy night with the staff focused on a euro cup game- they had a football club promo. I wish they would have closed the fine dining part. The best part of dinner was the potato chips I had in the room for dessert as we got the check & left ASAP

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank York476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinfandel's Restaurant also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Zinfandel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing