We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Zagreb

“An amazing culinary experience,”
Review of Brokenships Bistro

Brokenships Bistro
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 2/27
8:00 PM
Ranked #124 of 1,025 Restaurants in Zagreb
Price range: $5 - $24
Description: Brokenships Bistro is the culinary affiliate of the world-renowned Museum of Broken Relationships, situated in the Kulmer Palace, on a scenic square of the Upper Town, a 5-minute walk from the main square. Much more than a playful take on the universally baffling theme of love, Brokenships con-fusion menu is grounded in the convergence of gastronomic influences from Austria, Hungary, Italy, France, and Turkey – all historically present on Croatian soil. A delicious selection of locally sourced ingredients in a seasonally crafted menu, with an unexpected twist to traditional recipes, is a modern-day tribute to the healing power of great comfort food. Most of the dishes are available in half-sized, single portions, allowing you to indulge your taste buds with a multitude of flavors even if there is no significant other around.
Restaurant details
Description: Brokenships Bistro is the culinary affiliate of the world-renowned Museum of Broken Relationships, situated in the Kulmer Palace, on a scenic square of the Upper Town, a 5-minute walk from the main square. Much more than a playful take on the universally baffling theme of love, Brokenships con-fusion menu is grounded in the convergence of gastronomic influences from Austria, Hungary, Italy, France, and Turkey – all historically present on Croatian soil. A delicious selection of locally sourced ingredients in a seasonally crafted menu, with an unexpected twist to traditional recipes, is a modern-day tribute to the healing power of great comfort food. Most of the dishes are available in half-sized, single portions, allowing you to indulge your taste buds with a multitude of flavors even if there is no significant other around.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

An amazing culinary experience, fantastic food local contemporary flavors and excellent service 5 stars highly recommend!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 42 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2019

We eat in lots of renominated restaurants across the world but this was something totally different experience. I can't remember when we were so surprised and satisfied with everything. Staff was perfect (and more of that), ambient and music the same, FOOD - perfect, excellent, different, unusual ...
This restaurant is the best description for VALUE FOR money.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 616goranr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marija C, Manager at Brokenships Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Dear 616goranr,

Thank you very much for your generous review.
It is not hard at all to be inspired and motivated by such wonderful guests!

Best regards,

Marija

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2019 via mobile

I was there for dinner with my friend.
The food was amazing. I don't know what was better..bread, main, desserts (btw dessert sooo delicious, just enough sweet, tasty..) the waiter..everything just perfect.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank bananny37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marija C, Manager at Brokenships Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Dear Bananny

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience and let us know how thrilled you were. Your enthusiasm inspires and motivates us even more.

Hope to see you soon again,

Marija

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2019 via mobile

Ordered 2 dishes - Gnocchi & grilled chicken which were fantastic! The only downside is the relatively high prices.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank dawntany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marija C, Manager at Brokenships Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2019

Dear Dawntany,

it's surprising to read that the prices are high since most of our guests are saying that the prices are low considering the quality of our food. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, we'll think about it for sure. Next time when you're in Zagreb, we really wish to see you again.

Sincerely,

Marija

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2019

We were very surprised. The food, the wine and the service!! We like Croatian food and visited many restaurants in Zagreb and Istria, but this is different.
Super!!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edclaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marija C, Manager at Brokenships Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2019

Dear Edclaa,

It makes us happy when our guests are surprised with our tasty food and are acknowledging the different outtake on traditional Croatian food. Thank you for your review of our food and service, hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Marija

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brokenships Bistro also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Brokenships Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing