We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”

Konoba Didov San - Gornji grad
Ranked #15 of 758 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Soups, Eastern European, Croatian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to the tripadvisor page taverns Didov san ( grandfather's dream ) Meet part of our gastronomy and the specifics of the restaurant
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Nice,little restaurant in upper old city, very romantic in the evening due to narrow streets, lightening and traditional ambient of the restaurant. Food was delicious! We tried bbq froggs with prosciutto! Amazing! We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Aleksandra_zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    156
    65
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was a nice touristic restaurant close to the centre with a good atmosphere and good (but not special) food. The staff was nice, too. So we were happy with our choice to try it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“traditional Croatian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant while walking the streets by St. Mark's square. After eating our meal my husband commented that the NY Times review didn't do the restaurant justice. Our meal was delicious; veal fillet with hunter's sauce, mine was snails with polenta. We had a local wheat beer, traditional doughnuts and flan for dessert. The service was efficient and friendly. Price was very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Nanook780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

during the day we are in the culinary event "Restaurant Week" visited this tavern. we are delighted with the atmosphere, quality food and excellent service. Even we are not bothered or two kids from the next table who were shouting each other all night and play. Eating one: Grandma's pan

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Wow - Traditional Croatian Restaurant + Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were looking for a "traditional" Croatian restaurant - nothing "themed" or touristy.

I short-listed several restaurants around the St Mark's Square area and Konoba Didov San was the first we came to. Looking at the plates of people eating outside we quickly concluded this was what we were looking for - so we grabbed an outdoor table. Inside the restaurant looked great - very cosy and full of character but a few people were smoking so outside seemed a better option + we could grab the last of the summer sun.

It was interesting to see lots of local businessmen coming for lunch - Konoba Didov San clearly has a good local reputation.

The range of menu options was impressive and we opted for the veal, lamb and potatoes with traditional doughnuts (we had had a large breakfast so didn't want a large lunch).

The veal, lamb and potatoes was excellent. The vegetables were very tasty - no idea how they got them tasting so good. And there was lots of tasty meat.

The doughnuts were interesting - I have never had savoury doughnuts before and these came with feta cheese.

I only wish I had been able to have a desert because these looked very good. As a final bonus it was very interesting having a stroll around this part of the city after lunch - loved it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Didov San - Gornji grad also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Konoba Didov San - Gornji grad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing