We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel President Pantovcak
Nearby Hotels
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel(Zagreb)
$150
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$91
$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$107
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Tomislavov dom(Zagreb)(Great Value!)
$49
$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
143
46
18
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
46
18
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelroyal suitefriendly and knowledgeable staffwelcome drinksmall hotelgarden viewthis lovely hotelcentre of townevery morningquiet locationtwo night staycold meatswalking distancelarge roompleasant staystayed longervisit zagreb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 212 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We selected President Pantovcak largely on the strength of its TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed: this tiny (six rooms!) boutique hotel on the Pantovcak Ulica is indeed a jewel. Not perfect, but close enough for a 5/5 rating.

The entrance is easily found by navigation software, and there is enough room on the street -- by utilizing the sidewalk for parking, Zagreb-style -- to unload the luggage next to the hotel entrance. (You can find free parking on the small side street about 100m away from the hotel entrance.) From here, you can walk to Ban Jelačić Trg (square) in the centre of the city in 15-20 minutes.

Entering the hotel, the reception is furnished in leather and glass, and the staff are both friendly and very helpful. We ended up in a standard room as the deluxe rooms (which are larger and have a balcony) were not available for our stay. The staff were superb, very helpful in getting us settled in our room, pointing out the free parking location, suggesting restaurants and providing tips for sightseeing. Not to mention that 6 AM cappuccino for our early-morning departure!

The rooms, as noted, are not big, but there is a large, comfortable lounge area in the hotel, overlooking the woods below, so this should not be an issue for most people. The furnishings are modern and clean, and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was very good, and the deluxe rooms are better yet in that area (the attached photos are of the standard room and bedroom). The view from the windows or balcony is pleasant, as the hotel backs onto a wooded area, if not particularly scenic. There is no alarm clock as such, but if you don't have your mobile phone with you, you can program the TV to come on at a set time in the morning.

The included continental breakfast, at the gorgeous downstairs breakfast area, was very good: all items were delivered to our table, and we had the choice of eggs cooked in various ways. The coffee (including cappuccino) was very good, and there was a good selection of tea available.

I did say not perfect, though. The pillows, as at so many hotels in Croatia, could use improvement. At a nice boutique hotel such as this one, the choice of foam (which is what is usually included) or feather pillows would be a very nice touch. The second issue is that the nicely designed room doors are unfortunately hollow, and don't block a lot of sound. To resolve this, I recommend selecting a room on the upper floor. And the hotel does have an 11 PM quiet time policy in any case.

We had some extra noise, but had we known about the room selection, it would have been great -- so in the end I decided that President Pantovcak deserves the full 5/5 rating, especially given that the room prices start at just 99 euros.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper or lower floors, not on the main floor, to minimize the noise from the hallway.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris V, General Manager at Hotel President Pantovcak, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Tom,

Thank you for your excellent review! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel so much and that you found it outstanding. Customer reviews were the right way to make your choice.
I'm sorry you didn't have the opportunity to see other rooms, they are all quite larger and have terraces. We'll have to change that next time you visit us.
Instead of the alarm clock our staff will be happy to provide you with a wake-up call, just remember to ask them.
Good point about the pillows. We do have foam pillows and provide them to guests who tell us they are allergic to feathers. It never occurred to us to offer them as a choice to everybody, we just might start doing that.

Thank you once again and warm regards,

Boris Vizintin,
Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel exceeded all my expectations. A beautiful building,comforable rooms, excellent staff, and amazing breakfast make for an unforgetable stay.
Not too far from the city centre using trams but far enough to be both a peaceful retreat and a place to unwind.
All staff exceptionally helful in all respects, especially Andrea who was absolutely outstanding in terms of her professionalism and friendliness.
Would stay here again with out hesitation!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet , but be aware there are a few stairs which should not be a problems considering the attentiveness of the staff
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights when we visited in May 2012. The rooms were beautiful, and the service was excellent. Our room had a pretty patio overlooking the woods. Breakfast was amazing. The staff was so very helpful in making recommendations about sights to see in and around Zagreb. I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my mother. The hotel is hidden in what appears to be a bit of a grotty road but which is actually the road where the president lives. One down side is taht it is up a steep hill - but if you dont want to walk up it at the end of a busy day just jump on the bus which waits at the bottom and go up for 2 stops. The hotel is really a hidden gem. Its a beautiful boutique hotel which is really nicely furnished. Our room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious. We had a huge deck which is covered by a sail canopy. The breakfasts are superb - fresh fruit, meats and cheese and lovely fresh bread. We ate in twice and although the menu is simple it is well cooked. Andrea makes wonderful fresh soups and Kristina makes pastry to die for - try the apple pie. The staff are really lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them. We have friends who live just outside Zagreb and I will definately be going back to this hotel with my husband next year. One request - you need a small pool to make great into perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therizbo, General Manager at Hotel President Pantovcak, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Karin,

thank you so much for taking time to write this wonderful review, your satisfaction makes all of us on Hotel President staff sincerely happy!
I just have one remark considering the bus ride: if you want to skip 5 minute walk uphill, on Britanski Trg buses depart every 15 minutes (lines 101 and 138) and stop right in front of the hotel. Hotel is the first bus stop from Britanski Trg (not second). It is indeed very convenient!
I couldn't agree more about the pool! There is already a designed space in the garden for an outdoor jacuzzi and we hope to have it in near future.
I dare to say you have friends in our hotel also :). Andrea and Kristina are thanking you for your compliments, and we are all looking forward to seeing you again as our guest.

Kind regards,

Boris Vizintin, Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel President with my daughter who was newly pregnant and celebrating her 40th birthday. She was born in Zagreb, we left when she was 6 months old so this was a very nostalgic visit. The hotel laid on champagne and delicious cakes. I cannot fault anything in the hotel; breakfast was a gorgeous feast, fruit platters, cheeses, eggs any-which-way, sausages etc. Our room had a lovely private verandah with table and chairs and a little lawn. The bathroom was ultra modern. The views over the trees especially from the dining room with the sliding doors open made one feel as though you were in Thailand! The staff were fantastic, sorry I can't remember the names now. The location was also great, very close to the Britanski trg market and Illica shopping street. Loads of places to eat and it's not expensive. We looked at other hotels that had been on our list and we were more than happy with our choice. Our criteria had been small, quiet, exclusive, close to amenities, sophisticated. Hotel Hotel President ticked all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: To be honest all the rooms (7 of them) were good so it would be difficult to choose. Each one was different from the next but all were very well appointed.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roby934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therizbo, General Manager at Hotel President Pantovcak, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Roby,

I want to thank you for taking your time and writing such a positive and personal review. We cherish the moments when guests include us in their celebration of important life events, and in return we can always promise to make your stay with us a memorable experience.
Thank you for all the compliments!

Warm regards,

Boris Vizintin, Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews