We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Amazing Hostel, great atmosphere with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Mali Mrak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Mali Mrak
Ranked #7 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Split, Croatia
1 review
“Amazing Hostel, great atmosphere with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great place to stay and know people form around the world. The hostel was nice and I really enjoyed the atmosphere. The rooms were big and confortable. The bathrooms were clean and everything worked very well. The staff were friendly and they help you for all your needs.
The hostel had an amazing vibes and Igor (the Owner) is simply the best.
I'm pretty sure that i will come back as soon as possible in this wonderful place!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierluigiDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Pierro!! good to read you here, thank you as well :)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
20
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juiz de Fora, MG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

For a lot of reasons this place is amazing!! A LOT! But you can just talk about the people who works in the hostel. They are great! Nice people, very friendly and helpful! You just have a good sensation of being at home, in a nice and cozy place. I went to croatia for just a few days and at the end i spend a whole week at the hostel! Great place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
And that brazilian style lunch you made is still remembered, as the picture shows, lol :D
Thank you B., !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great staff, location and facilities. The guys'll help you with whatever you need, and make you feel at home at the same time.

The rooms are worm and the kitchen is ok to cook, wich is good if you are travelling on a low budget, also the room price is not expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks! Update: there's an additional, outside summer kitchen now :=)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

As a big group, we all enjoyed our stay here. It wasn't in the city, but it was only a short tram away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a very quiet neighbourhood and the staff really respect this- We were asked to be quiet at around 9pm for talking slightly loud in the garden. So it is definitely a place to go and chill and not a party hostel. Perfect place for lone travellers or small groups to meet other people from all over the world. The rooms themselves were decent and the hostel felt more like a massive house than seperate dorms which was different from any others we stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ccoop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Yes sir, exactly :D! Quiet place, not a party hostel, that's us :) I like your review, but i do have to make a correction: Quiet time is after 22:00, not 21:00, and if you were asked to be quiet, it's because people from England are usually really loud (sorry, but that's a fact :D), so your perception of " talking slightly loud" would be "quite loud" in ours. We have no other choice, even if we wanted, because the police regulates these issues very precisely!

Thanks for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I mean that title literally. I've traveled all over Europe and Africa and stayed at more hostels than I can count, and if I had to pick one place to go back to, it would be Mali Mrak. I planned to stay one night on my way to the coast but ended up staying a week the first time, and barely left the hostel because I was enjoying drinking wine in the garden with the staff and other guests too much to leave. I came back through on my way out of the Balkans and got stuck nearly another week because I couldn't make myself leave. I wanted to live there forever. If you've been on the road a long time and need a place to recover your sanity, I can't recommend this place more highly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Cidmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
High praise, dear Cid :) We're glad you came, and stayed and came again. But i think there's a lot of "best places in the world" :) We are expecting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haskovo, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed at Mali Mrak for a few nights in the spring (2014) and have been recommending it to friends going to Zagreb every since. Igor and company have created a warm, welcoming environment that fosters community. The staff was helpful and kind, the rooms were great, and the location away of the noise of the city center. I will absolutely stay here again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you Sam, for being part of the community, and the nice review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As someone who has stayed at dozens of hostels in the past few years, I can honestly say that Mali Mrak is among the best I've seen. It is constantly being renovated, very clean, afforably priced, and has a fantastic atmosphere; all that, though, pales in comparison to it's most positive aspect: the people. The owner is without question the warmest and most welcoming I've encountered, and everyone working there couldn't be more pleasant. During my stay I was treated to a free hiking tour and a delicious homemade meal. I honestly cannot recommend this hostel highly enough.


And in regards to comments other reviewers have left about the hostel being a place full of "scary drugs", I will only say that I saw nothing of the sort during my time at Mali Mrak.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeStone00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thanks for the support, Jake. The issue has been solved. Turned out to be a somewhat problematic girl. You are always welcome here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swanky Mint Hostel
Swanky Mint Hostel
#1 of 142 in Zagreb
5.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
#2 of 142 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Funk Lounge Hostel
Funk Lounge Hostel
#3 of 142 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostel Shappy
Hostel Shappy
#4 of 142 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Brit Hostel
The Brit Hostel
#11 of 142 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mali Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mali Mrak

Property: Hostel Mali Mrak
Address: Dubichka Ulica 8, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi there! If you need a warm, cozy place to stay at, you're welcome here, but please, indulge me and read on first, see what's up here, then make up your mind,ok? Thank you :) Take your time, read some the reviews (there's 1000+), that's what choosing the right hostel for you is about - ESPECIALLY those of unhappy guests because they tell a good story - if you recognize yourself in them, please skip the booking and save us all the trouble, there are things more important than money -spoiled and complicated people are not a thing here :) Also, Mali Mrak is *NOT* a party hostel, we don't do pub crawls, drinking games or similar routines. The house is a simple, clean, warm and cozy place, run by friends, as well as an ongoing ambience & art project, with many contributions and handmade items from different places. While it has all the amenities of a hostel, we and a huge proportion of our guests think of it as home and way point for travelers. We prefer simplicity, honesty, spontaneity, sharing, community, common sense, talks, exchange of ideas, to see who you are and what you do - you have all our knowledge and resources at your disposal, as long as you respect the house and the people inside. The house is also ideal if you just want to have a quiet time on your own, bothered by no one, to do your own thing. Stuff that often happens, no schedule or plan though: Hiking trips, cooking, bike & other spontaneous tours around Zagreb. There's always good, local wine to be had here, at this time of the year that will often be mulled or spiced wine. We don't charge for *anything* except your bed, and that's it. LOCATION: We're located 15-20 min. by tram from the center, in a peaceful neighborhood, as well as 15 minutes walking from the nature park 'Grmoscica', located on the foothills of Medvednica, the local mountain. Ideal if you love hiking & nature. Also, for those who are traveling on a budget and have certain skills- if you can and feel like it, you can contribute /upgrade the house in a specific way - we love that (especially the art section has grown in the meantime). You certainly wouldn't be the first. ***PLEASE NOTE:**** The City Tax (7kn per person per night or cca. 1€) is not included in the room price you book . That's all, folks! igor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Mali Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing