We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Zagreb!”
Review of Hostel Mali Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Mali Mrak
Ranked #9 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel in Zagreb!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hostel was great! Igor was a wonderful host the hostel is beautiful and everything was clean and comfortable. If you go to Zagreb on a budget (or not, if you like hostels) there's no reason to look further than Mali Mrak!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank zarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
:D why, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
21
33
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walla Walla, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

First, I should start by apologizing that this review is very long overdue. I stayed at Mali Mrak a few months ago while backpacking. I think that Mali Mrak is an exceptionally special place. What makes it so special is the people and the conversations you have, for sure. Igor, the owner, is a remarkable person who genuinely wants to create a welcoming space. When you come to Mali Mrak, it quickly begins to feel like a kind of home. The rooms are clean, spacious, there is a beautiful garden outside. But the people make the experience one that is not easy to forget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schaefcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you ;) !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was our second time (frist time in 2010) at Hostel Mali Mrak and each time we reached the hostel at 2AM and there was someone to check us in - great points for this from us. The rooms have bunk beds, but confortable. Very nice garden if you have good weather.

Room Tip: shared bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebadoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks for coming back and reviewing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

In the two nights we've stayed there we got to know the hosts, which were more than friendly and very interesting to talk to! The rooms are comfortable.. only downside: the location is pretty much at the edge of the city but it's in a friendly and quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The people who work here are really nice. Upon my arrival, they helped me check in and then let me use their laundry machine and dryer...for FREE. I've stayed at a bunch of hostels and rarely do they let you use their laundry facilities for free. The bathrooms are incredibly clean. I got lucky and stayed in a 4-bunk room by myself. The hostel is quiet, so it's great for people who want to get a good night's sleep, but not for those who are looking to party in Zagreb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancypants123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks! Yes, we are a quiet place, by choice, but also by necessity. we are in a residential district. You're welcome here if you like having a nice, easy time, meeting the local people, cooking together etc. with good recommendations on what to do in Zagreb, from hiking to gastronomic experiences :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Handily situated not two minutes down the road from the Črnomerec tram stop, when we arrived at Mali Mrak we had little idea how good it would be. Sure, the hostel initially looked largely like any other, clean and spacious with great facilities and incredibly helpful staff, but that's not what made it - the thing that makes Mali Mrak is the people. After an hour we felt immediately at home and by the next night we knew everyone by name and spent the evenings enjoying a drink and playing games and it was exactly like a family - we were incredibly sad to leave. The hostel manager mixed being incredibly helpful and able, checking train times and so forth, with an approachability and friendliness unseen elsewhere, often joining us in the evenings. Before our travels my friend and I envisaged travelling with little to do with anyone else. Not only did we not realise that with such an attitude a whole new world would be lost to us but that at Mali Mrak it would be impossible. I have never felt more at home at a hostel.

I could not recommend Mali Mrak more highly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vukojebinje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Manager at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for recognizing our place :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Was only here for 2 nights but had a lovely stay. Upon arrival was greeted by one of the owners and they were very welcoming and friendly. we stayed in a private room and it was perfect. the bathrooms were extremely clean and modern. Excellent wifi and they let us do laundry for free! Only one negative, its a little out of the way but once you have yours bearings its easy to get places. highly reccomended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Nice review, thank you! We are where we are, no helping it :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.9 mi away
Swanky Mint Hostel
Swanky Mint Hostel
#1 of 155 in Zagreb
346 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
#2 of 155 in Zagreb
481 reviews
2.3 mi away
Taban Bar & Hostel
Taban Bar & Hostel
#5 of 155 in Zagreb
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
#14 of 155 in Zagreb
112 reviews
3.7 mi away
Funk Lounge Hostel
Funk Lounge Hostel
#7 of 155 in Zagreb
231 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostel Shappy
Hostel Shappy
#4 of 155 in Zagreb
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mali Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mali Mrak

Property: Hostel Mali Mrak
Address: Dubichka Ulica 8, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi there! If you need a warm, cozy place to stay at, you're welcome here, but please, indulge me and read on first, see what's up here, then make up your mind,ok? Thank you :) Take your time, read some the reviews (there's 1000+), that's what choosing the right hostel for you is about - ESPECIALLY those of unhappy guests because they tell a good story - if you recognize yourself in them, please skip the booking and save us all the trouble, there are things more important than money -spoiled and complicated people are not a thing here :) Also, Mali Mrak is *NOT* a party hostel, we don't do pub crawls, drinking games or similar routines. The house is a simple, clean, warm and cozy place, run by friends, as well as an ongoing ambience & art project, with many contributions and handmade items from different places. While it has all the amenities of a hostel, we and a huge proportion of our guests think of it as home and way point for travelers. We prefer simplicity, honesty, spontaneity, sharing, community, common sense, talks, exchange of ideas, to see who you are and what you do - you have all our knowledge and resources at your disposal, as long as you respect the house and the people inside. The house is also ideal if you just want to have a quiet time on your own, bothered by no one, to do your own thing. Stuff that often happens, no schedule or plan though: Hiking trips, cooking, bike & other spontaneous tours around Zagreb. There's always good, local wine to be had here, at this time of the year that will often be mulled or spiced wine. We don't charge for *anything* except your bed, and that's it. LOCATION: We're located 15-20 min. by tram from the center, in a peaceful neighborhood, as well as 15 minutes walking from the nature park 'Grmoscica', located on the foothills of Medvednica, the local mountain. Ideal if you love hiking & nature. Also, for those who are traveling on a budget and have certain skills- if you can and feel like it, you can contribute /upgrade the house in a specific way - we love that (especially the art section has grown in the meantime). You certainly wouldn't be the first. ***PLEASE NOTE:**** The City Tax (7kn per person per night or cca. 1€) is not included in the room price you book . That's all, folks! igor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Mali Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing