We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely bad experience !!!!!”
Review of Agava

Agava
Ranked #46 of 1,063 Restaurants in Zagreb
Price range: $8 - $43
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "Restaurant AGAVA" - a place where fine dining truly meets a casual atmosfere. This is very special place, a bit hidden, a bit shy...A classic Italian restaurant filled with subtle dark colours and distinctive lightning. Wide windows provide an unique view, and in spring and summer the green terrace will attract you immediately. The restaurant was opened in 2005. It is runned by Belizar Milos (owner/partner) who is also the main chef, responsible for many mediterranean delices and beyond. So, come to the number 39 of Tklaciceva street... It'll take you 39 staircases to come to your little hiding place.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

We were 8 of us going for dinner and the waiters were extremely rude to us, I ve never had such a bad experience in a restaurant in my life and i ve been in many restaurant around the world, after waiting for 10 minutes before to be able to order the waiter basically yelled at us in a horrible way in front of other customer, felt like kind of racism and so direspecful ! it s a service industry I believe they should treat everyone with respect no matter what. I highly recommend you to NOT go to this restaurant !!!!! unless you want to be treated like animals...

Date of visit: August 2016
7  Thank Norella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AgavaZagreb_Croatia, Owner at Agava, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

Dear Norella,

thank you for your review. Unfortunately You didn't said main point in your review.
Your company put your food and drinks at table where you were seated. Sorry, our product is exactly that. So, how in the name of common sense can you do that when
you come in the restaurant? I don't think that is a way to behave and in fact it is rude
and disrespectful to us who are at full disposal to everyone..
We offered you the last available table for dinner, and half of your
company did not want to order because they have brought their
"own food and drinks"!
Please, tell my who was then insulted?

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 410 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

Very good food and fair service.The prices are higher than average,but food is worth.Located in the old town,in a romantic ambiance,in a street with many other restaurants.They do not serve beer draft,but only bottles.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank sebastiaomarcosv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Agava is a marvel. The waiter was very polite and knowledgable about Croatian wines. in the end, I selected an Istrian rose after his having kindly given me a crash course-and I was far from disappointed. It was truly excellent. The food was also excellent. The chicken fillets were cooked superbly and garnished with finely-sliced local vegetables. This made for a very healthy lunch. In addition, the setting is charming as you ascend steps up a hillside into which Agava is actually set. i got good views of the scenic Tlakchicheva Street with its multitude of bars and cafes.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 20, 2016

The waiter was great and he recommended good wine. The food was good, we left happy and full. This is one of the best restaurants in Zagreb for sure.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

Nice atmosphere in the street, great table, amazing food, charming and entertaining waiter, excellent wine recommendation. What more could you want, they even lent us an umbrella to get to the tram in the rain! Eat here, it's fantastic.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank GuoYe340
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Agava also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Agava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.