We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nokturno

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Nokturno to your Saves list
Hotel Nokturno
Skalinska 4a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cute little hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My friend and I were in Zagreb for a concert at the Šalata and chose Nokturno based on the good reviews and great price (plus, the location is not too shabby either), we didn't regret it one bit. We had the private room (their only private room) so I can't speak for the rest of the hostel, but our room was very clean and pretty comfortable. Location is very very central, it's in a beautiful little alley surrounded by cafes and restaurants. Downside: it was quite noisy late in the evening so I'm guessing this hostel wouldn't be such a good choice if you need a nice, quiet place. We only saw the staff at check-in/out but they were very friendly and helpful. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AureliaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
11
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

A decent low budget hotel or hostel is the Hotel Nokturno. The facilities are adequate for the price being paid. While booking check out if you are getting a private bathroom. The advantage is the location, being close to all the good spots in the city. Try walking on pedestrian friendly areas and also the serpentine narrow lanes. The angles and corners of the roads would definitely overwhelm you. The Cathedral is also just a stone’s throw away. The restaurant is good but when there are more choices in the bazaar, it is difficult o eat at the hotel. Surprisingly, the staff is very accommodative and extremely helpful. The other main feature is the bar scene. There are so many bars, that you can sit in your hotel and watch. The Taverna Skalinda in the hotel is an extremely nice bar to sip your drink.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneTBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hostel is in the best position possible, few steps from the cathedral. It also includes a nice and cheap restaurant.
On the other side the rooms were extremely hot in summer (no AC) and very noisy, because the windows are just over the street with restaurants and bars.
Last, it seems a bit priced compared to other hostel in the city. Probably with the same price you can get better!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaVolpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I visited Zagreb in summer and I did not have booking for this hostel. we arrived and the girl who was at the reception was very kind. the Hostel was very cheap and clean. the rooms where tea it is located in the center of zagreb just 1 block away from the action. we ended up staying 2 nights but they didn't have any more available beds so they let us stay at a couch for free!!! it was a wonderful experience. I really recommend this Hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manuelocampo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The streets are labyrinth-like but once you find it, Hotel Nokturno is excellent. Fantastically located next to a row of wonderful cheap restaurants and being right by them means you can get there early and bag the outside seats. Then just a second down the hill there are lots of cool bars.
Beds were comfortable and bathroom clean. Washing facilities and lovely kitchen to use. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Freezing leaky showers.
Bathroom smelled horrible from first second in the room.
Cobwebs in the room.
Just a bad place to stay. Don't go. Area was lovely just awful accomodation that put a downer on our stay in zagreb! Should be of higher standard

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location - a stone's throw away from the bustling market and the Cathedral. Also around the corner is the heart of the city's nightlife (don't expect anything more wild than a cocktail bar). The pedestrianised area is safe and appealing, with its winding narrow streets striking out at surprising angles. Our room was small but clean, with a nice private bathroom. No air con, and the noise from diners right underneath our open window made getting to sleep difficult. Nonetheless, there was a well-equipped kitchenette and a helpful reception desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zipstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
1.0 mi away
Camera Felice
Camera Felice
#19 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rooms Zagreb 17
Rooms Zagreb 17
#2 of 49 in Zagreb
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaptol Hostel
Kaptol Hostel
#15 of 137 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nokturno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nokturno

Property: Hotel Nokturno
Address: Skalinska 4a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nokturno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing