We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Sofia
Ranked #14 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was one of the best hotels we stayed in during a recent visit to Bulgaria. It's located very close to the airport and provided one free shuttle service returning to airport. You have to pay 3 euros per person for other trips and shuttle service to the airport must be arranged prior to arrival. Out room was very nic. e and drinks in our room were complimentary (beer, apple juice, water and Coke). We did eat in their restaurant which was closed but the same service was provided in the minibar cafe area. Our dinner was good. The grilled veggies are awesome. Although we expected crepes instead of french fries with the 3 course value deal of the day. The word used was cepes and at first glance appeared to be crepes. We did not have breakfast as our flights left early. We took a walk through of the gym and saw there were many choices for an ample workout. The spa area seemed nice as well. The business center consisted of a room with table and chairs. We emailed out flight arrangement to the front desk and they printed them for us Our beds were comfy and cool. Heard hardly any noise. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 403 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at the Metropolitan from 6th-14th July 2014. We were delighted with the warm and efficient reception which we received at the airport as we had requested their free transfer offer.
On arrival at the hotel we were warmly welcomed by reception staff, who were very helpful throughout our stay. The rooms were spotless and maid service was provided every day ( the lady who cleaned our room was very friendly ) I wanted to mention this as this is not always the case in some hotels. The breakfast was fine with a good selection of food, the only downside was that the hot foods was not very hot.
My only negative comment would be that the pillows were very soft and lumpy, maybe the hotel could consider a change here. All in all the Metropolitan is a nice hotel and I would certainly stay there again if I was back in Sofia

Room Tip: A large shopping mall is across the road from the the hotel via an underpass
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a business trip. Chose this hotel because it is not too far from the airport.
I really liked the spacious, clean room. The staff at the reception desk was also very friendly and helpfull. I would gladly recommend this hotel and stay here again on a next Sofia trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dimitry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

very kind and helpful staff at the reception, gave some good advice on what to do in sofia, clean and nice room, free minibar (drinks - coke, beer, water, juice), replenished every day, altogether comfortable and nice

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ant0n1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropolitanHotelSof, Marketing at Metropolitan Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for the time you have spared to share your impressions and experience of your visit in Metropolitan Hotel Sofia. We highly appreciate your overview and we do assure you that the staff will continue working on upgrading its service qualifications and skills.
We’ll be glad to have you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Metropolitan Sofia was a very good choice.
Although not close to Sofia downtown, the boulevard leading to the city centre is just there and by taxi it takes just some minutes.
Good and clean rooms, good bathrooms, cleanliness everywhere.
Nice bar and very good restaurant. Wide choice of food for breakfast, I think almost all the tastes get satisfied. Waitresses served quickly and had kind behavior.
Prices reasonable. I would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Location ok; breakfast decent; good wi-fi; nice view to one of the main Sofia boulevards; nice people..

One complaint... a strange (not fresh) smell within the room... I suppose is difficult to fresh the air while the windows cannot fully open...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pracovian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is one of the best that I have had the pleasure to stay in. The rooms are very quiet, the room service is excellent, there is a free minibar (it is consisted of several drinks which are supplied every day), the sleep is fantastic, I'd recommend a room with a view on the boulevard. The breakfast is exotic and full of fantastic choices for every day.

Room Tip: room with a view on the boulevard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 135 in Sofia
556 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,375 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#21 of 135 in Sofia
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
625 reviews
4.5 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 135 in Sofia
496 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 135 in Sofia
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Sofia

Address: bul.Tsarigradsko shose 64, Sofia 1784, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $64 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan is a 4* stylish urban hotel with unconventional design. It is strategically located at the eastern gate of the capital - close to Sofia Airport and the city center, on the way to Business Park Sofia and at a walking distance from Inter Expo Center and shopping center The Mall.High-quality service, feel-at-home sensation and varied entertainment make your stay a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing