We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but nothing extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Sofia
Ranked #13 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Location ok; breakfast decent; good wi-fi; nice view to one of the main Sofia boulevards; nice people..

One complaint... a strange (not fresh) smell within the room... I suppose is difficult to fresh the air while the windows cannot fully open...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pracovian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 398 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is one of the best that I have had the pleasure to stay in. The rooms are very quiet, the room service is excellent, there is a free minibar (it is consisted of several drinks which are supplied every day), the sleep is fantastic, I'd recommend a room with a view on the boulevard. The breakfast is exotic and full of fantastic choices for every day.

Room Tip: room with a view on the boulevard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice standard hotel, everything good, not excellent, but far away from anything to complain. Nice stuff, rooms nice, breakfast good. Location also ok. Price very good. Safe choice but nothing extraordinary.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The property is lovely - modern, clean, elegant. But the management belongs in the Soviet era. Where to begin.... First, it's a business style airport hotel. But try to print a boarding pass - oh, dear. It took over half a hour. Their system is quite bizarre. It took four trips to the front desk and we finally had to email the passes to a front-desk attendant's personal account, and he printed them. Printing a boarding pass at an airport business hotel is a miserable, highly complex procedure - seriously? The "free wi fi"? We couldn't get a decent signal. The hotel was empty when we were there. The lobby - totally empty. The restaurant - two other customers total. Our floor - not a soul. But we were told there were "too many guests" on our floor, the system was overloaded and they would bring up a cable. A cable?? I remember those - from the 1990s. Next, at the restaurant, we had over $40 in leva left from our trip and wanted to pay part of the dinner bill with leva, and put the balance on our credit card. Oh, dear. That was way, way too complex a transaction. Really, we were the only customers who ever wanted to use up our local currency (at an airport hotel) before leaving the country? And forget their airport shuttle - it runs only once an hour and they charge the same amount as a taxi. We just wanted to have one short, relaxing last night in Bulgaria. Way too many silly little problems for a few hours.

It's a shame that such a lovely physical property is so terribly undermanaged. Best of luck if you stay and keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GreatCoupleWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropolitanHotelSof, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you for your time and the useful feedback. Let me assure you that your opinion is very important and I would like to share with you my comments on all the points in your review.

Regarding the printing of boarding passes, it is possible that there was some technical issue. However, to avoid any future inconveniences, we have bought a new printer for the Business Center (situated behind the Reception desk), which will be used for printing of boarding passes and it will be a complimentary services for our guests.

During your stay we were in the process of upgrading the Wi-Fi devices. Thus, you have encountered an unstable connection. Now, we provide top of the line free Wi-Fi on all the hotel premises.

I have spoken personally with the restaurant personnel about the separation of your bill. It is indeed an easy transaction which we regularly perform. The reason why we did not assist you in a proper manner was that the waiter could not understand what you need exactly. We have scheduled an exceptional training for all the waiters to improve their skills.

Our airport shuttle is on every 30 minutes and is complimentary upon arrival and departure, unless you use a special group or event rate.

Please, excuse us for any inconvenience we may have caused. I assure you that the necessary measures have been taken and we will strive at providing even better service to our guests.

Feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance! It will be my pleasure to meet you in person should you decide to visit Sofia again and to offer you a complimentary VIP treatment as a compensation!

With kindest regards,
Martina Bojanska
Director of Sales & Marketing
Martina.Bojanska@metropolitanhotelsofia.com
T: + 359 2 42 47 811

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel, the staff were brilliant, the rooms were clean and wonderfully furnished, the free mini bar was a welcome touch ! The bed was huge and comfortable.
We ate in both the restaurant and bar and could not fault the food, the breakfast was much the same as any other hotel buffet with freshly cooked omelettes.
Even though the hotel is not in the city centre there were 4 of us which made the taxi fare cheap at today's exchange rate £4.28 one way (about £1.07 per person).
All in all I would say that through all the travelling the four of us do (4 - 5 times a year) this has to be one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropolitanHotelSof, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Mr. Sam,

First of all, thank you for your review. It is truly inspiring!

For our team it is of vital importance to receive feedback from our clients. We appreciate the fact that you spared from you time to review the hotel and also that during your trip, you chose Metropolitan to be your host. I am more than happy that you enjoyed your stay and all of our services. This shows that our efforts are worth it and even more - that they are appreciated!

Have a successful week and we hope to see you soon!

Kindest regards,
Martina Bojanska
E:sales@metropolitanhotelsofia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

staying there few times per year, Good location, close to the airport (around 10 mins) and in front of a big shopping mall, very good service, food is OK, no problem at all, rooms are comfortable, clean, recommend it for either business or pleasure trips

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropolitanHotelSof, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Mr. Pablo,

Thank you for the honest and inspiring review.

You probably know how important it is for the hotel management and the employees to receive appreciation of their efforts and unbiased comments, especially from regular guests. Once again, on behalf of the MET team, please accept our gratitude for your loyalty!

We hope to see you soon!

Kindest regards,
Martina Bojanska
E:sales@metropolitanhotelsofia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here as part of a business trip to Sofia which included meetings at this hotel. It turned out to be a very good choice. The location is convenient if you don't need to be in the center, as it is a 10 minutes drive from the airport. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. The resaurant serves high quality food and offers a wide selection of Bulgarian wines and there is even a private "wine tasting" room that can hold a small group. There is a very nice spa with facilities that are not common for a 4 star hotel and also a small but well equiped jim. Value for money is excellent!

Room Tip: The junior suites are really wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropolitanHotelSof, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Mr. Aviad,

First of all, thank you for your positive review.

We organize numerous events and it is of vital importance to receive feedback for our clients. I discussed your comments with the whole team today and I can assure you that it was a truly motivating start of the day!

Have a successful week and hopefully - see you soon!

Best regards,
Martina Bojanska
E:sales@metropolitanhotelsofia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#17 of 135 in Sofia
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 135 in Sofia
542 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
593 reviews
4.5 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 135 in Sofia
484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Suite Hotel Sofia
Suite Hotel Sofia
#15 of 135 in Sofia
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Sofia

Address: bul.Tsarigradsko shose 64, Sofia 1784, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $63 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan is a 4* stylish urban hotel with unconventional design. It is strategically located at the eastern gate of the capital - close to Sofia Airport and the city center, on the way to Business Park Sofia and at a walking distance from Inter Expo Center and shopping center The Mall.High-quality service, feel-at-home sensation and varied entertainment make your stay a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing