We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most helpful staff and great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Sofia
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Pazardzhik, Pazardzhik, Bulgaria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most helpful staff and great hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked this hotel on our way into Bulgaria in July not knowing the area so well we relied on our sat navigation .
This tried to take us threw the centre of Sofia unknown to us at the time, a political demonstration was taking place, after traveling from Croatia a nine our journey, we were exhausted.
Having been given the run around the city streets blocked we gave up and headed towards Pazerchiick where we have a property on the way out of the city we spotted the hotel lit up by its name on top of the building.
We could not access the car park due to the central reservation I crossed the reservation and spoke to a man at reception who did no more but come in my car and help me navigate to the hotel.
This we were very impressed with the room was stunning complete with robes slippers and free mini bar .
The breakfast was fantastic in the morning with bacon sausage eggs and all the trimmings as well as cakes fruit and full continental selection.
The management and staff are superb highly recommendedgg

Room Tip: Choose a high room the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    154
    40
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
69
28
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I travel often to Sofia due to my business and ever stay in different hotels, but this one definitely impressed me. Next time I'll know where to book. It's near the airport and offers free shuttle service (although my flight was delayed from the hotel took care to track information and shuttle was waiting for me at the airport - still wondering how they do that!!!!). Helpful and friendly staff at the reception. Clean rooms with good WiFi connection (at no charge). Sumptuous breakfast and fine dinner (congratulations to the chef - amazing desserts)... Definitely the best business hotel I've ever been...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilios D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Overall the Hotel is fine.
Reception friendly and helpful,yes,actually caring.
Rooms are clean and very well equipped with amenities.
Location ok

Few minor Issues i Have,
1.) Breakfast: I tend to show up approx 1 hr before breakfast closure to enjoy start of Day.it happened now twice that the Buffet was nearly empty ,no tables cleaned or prepared.
You could hear loud laughing out of kitchen ,still no one appeared even after knocking.
To get a cappuccino or espresso ,omlette etc...you need to be brave to not "annoy" the People working there or get the Danger to be on their " black list" .
Had a very unwelcoming feeling and so far i prepared my table always by myself.
I would wish that there are some people working ,which really welcome you and help you ,even only if 4 Stars.please fix!!!

Gym: maybe a little bigger would be nice.
Sauna steam ok

Massage could be easier to book and please if ic book 1 hr,it means 1 hr hands on ,not prepare room etc .average massage total time aft preparation and phone calls answered by the lady : 45 minutes ,rest Preperation and disturbances....needs a fix!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainFischmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropolitanHotelSof, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments. It is of vital importance for our team to receive both positive feedback as an encouragement and criticism as a guidance for improvement. For our staff, if you share your experience it means that you care and this is why we react instantly on your requests and recommendations in order to exceed your expectations.

I would like to comment on the specific issues that you mentioned in your review.

Regarding the breakfast, our aim is to offer the best buffet breakfast in the city. Thus, we pay a lot of attention to its quality, presentation and service. We have a new Food & Beverage Supervisor who will be responsible for the breakfast control. Moreover, personnel trainings are taking place regularly, so that restaurant staff is now performing on the expected level of service.

Regarding the massage therapies, our masseuse was absent for 3 months and we had a temporary employee replacing her. Fortunately, she is back on duty now and the quality of the Relax Center offers will be immediately improved. I guarantee her professionalism and desire to work.

I hope you will visit us again soon, so that we can show you the positive changes and satisfy all your needs and expectations.

Kindest regards,
Martina Sarafova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Having traveled around Bulgaria a bit, I can safely declare that the Metropolitan is one of the most professionally managed hotel properties in the country.
The internet, water and electricity work well and the rooms are clean. One oddity is the Soviet/E European beds. The Queen turned out to be two singles rammed together and there were two futons/coverlets. I imagine Bulgarian lovers don't like to sleep entwined in each other's arms.

The strong point of the hotel is its location. It's five minutes from the airport and runs a free shuttle. It is also on the main route heading out to Plovdiv and Burgas. If your destination is Varna or any of the other cities on the northern highway, the Sofia ring road is also easily accessible. Finally the hotel is located directly across from the Mall (Carrefour, Starbucks and every mid-price international retail chain you care to name). I was traveling with my teenage daughter. Given a choice between strolling about the commercial center of Sofia or running around an air-conditioned enclosed mall, you can easily guess which she preferred.

If you must go to the charmless center of town, it costs about 5 euros in a taxi. Or walk over to the metro station (500 m away) and spend 50 cents.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplesimon666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropolitanHotelSof, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

On behalf of the hotel team, I would like to express our gratitude for your sincere and detailed review. It is wonderful that you rated us so high and that you preferred Metropolitan to all the other hotels in Sofia.

Your comments are a true motivation to all the hotel employees. They are the ones that rationalize our quest to be the best host for you!

Looking forward to your next visit at the MET.

Kindest regards,
Martina Sarafova
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent modern hotel with all the facilities you could want. We stayed for one night and it was perfect, close to the airport and good connections to the city center, very rich brekfast, friendly staff and perfect organizaton. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aneliya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is really handy for Sofia airport (with airport shuttle) It has friendly helpful reception staff. The decor is very stylish. The rooms are well designed and offer a lot of space.The room has all the communication facilities you'd expect. The bathroom is spacious and well designed. It is close to transport links to central Sofia. The buffet style breakfast is a wonder to behold.and very more-ish - it will set you up for the day.

Room Tip: a room on one of the upper floors gives you great views of modern Sofia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It's a nice hotel in a decent location. Although a little far from the main city center area, it is close to the airport so makes a good airport hotel. It is also walking distance to the mall nearby, very easy to get to.

Rooms are clean and spacious, service is very good, and pretty good value for your money.

Best as a good airport hotel, as its a little far from the city. Otherwise everything else is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainFancyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
1,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 133 in Sofia
492 reviews
1.9 mi away
Suite Hotel Sofia
Suite Hotel Sofia
#12 of 133 in Sofia
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#6 of 133 in Sofia
443 reviews
4.5 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#7 of 133 in Sofia
480 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Sofia

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Sofia
Address: bul.Tsarigradsko shose 64, Sofia 1784, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan is a 4* stylish urban hotel with unconventional design. It is strategically located at the eastern gate of the capital - close to Sofia Airport and the city center, on the way to Business Park Sofia and at a walking distance from Inter Expo Center and shopping center The Mall.High-quality service, feel-at-home sensation and varied entertainment make your stay a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing