We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well located little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel The House
Ranked #93 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“well located little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

we have picked this hotel based on comments written on tripadvisor. we were not disappointed. we have spent 3 nice days in Sofia. the hotel is well located (closed to a lot of bus/tramway/trolley lines and at a walking distance from downtown). the rooms are not big and the decoration is not very modern but it's very clean, quiet, there is aircon, the breakfast is good and the prices are decent. so I recommend this hotel, especially if you are visiting Sofia and its surroundings and you're looking for a base camp

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cilou75015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
11
42
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel the House is ideally sited for shopping or seeing all the important tourist sites in Sofia. It is in a quiet back street just behind Vitosha Boulevard. The building is an attractive old one with an outside restaurant between it and the road, this restauarnt area is enclosed by trees and shrubs so you are nearly hidden from passers by. The hotel offers a warm welcome and Ivan, the manager, is a font of knowledge about the city and what to see. The owner is often around and he is a friendly chap. Our room what spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable with a shower room attached. We were travelling by car and there was off road parking available behind the hotel.
The breakfast was excellent and it was served in a small dining room. We had a a first rate meal in the restaurant and there is an extensive wine list with a number of interesting Bulgarian wines.
Hotel The House was excellent value for money, provide first rate service and is ideal for anyone wanting to explore Sofia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a small guest house in a quiet street at the bottom of Vitosha Boulevard. It's a great location - both quiet and central. The hotel is in an old house where the ground floor is a restaurant.

Our room was pleasant with double aspect and a nice big shower room. The hotel has character and serves a very good breakfast. Staff were helpful and friendly, if not quite as polished as you would expect in a large hotel. The only issues with the hotel is the decor. The panelling, woodwork and furniture are dark. This could be lightened / brightened with a light carpet and curtains / bed covers but they are all dark brown which makes it look a bit dated and heavy.

We were initially going to stay in their two bedroom apartment. While this is spacious and very good value (sleeps 5 for about 65 Euros per night) it is actually in the apartment block next door which wasn't what we wanted.

A very good value hotel.

Room Tip: Room six on the first floor is dual aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael_Bramber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I spent two nights here and I enjoyed it tremendously. The room I was given for 37 Euro was, frankly, fantastic. It was clean and and decorated in great big wall mirrors. It even had a small kitchen (this may not be typical of all the rooms in the hotel)

The hotel is absolutely central and all the major tourist sites of Sofia are minutes away by foot or taxi.

The breakfast options were excellent: cereals, bread, cheese, meat- and eggs and coffee. And yoghurt and honey because this is, after all, the Balkans.

In short, this a clean and affordable and central hotel. Stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the big room in the separate building around the back. It's worth the shower alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onvasurlemonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
323 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Though the exterior of the building is nothing to look at, and the stairwell and small hallways are also a bit dark and uninviting, the Room itself was magnificent -- especially when compared to other comparably priced (or even much higher priced and star-rated) Hotels. Our "Classic Double" (the larger of the 2 double sizes), was indeed large for a double room, with extra walking around room between the bed(s) and dressing/tv table, which also had a desk; and, then there was a an extra hallway entrance area, where one could also stow the suitcases giving even more room. Beds were very comfortable with nice firm mattresses providing restful sleep. And the bathroom, oh the bathroom -- wow -- especially by Bulgarian standards -- VERY large, with a good sized standing sink, double size shower cabinet, great water pressure -- what more can I say. Also lots of hot water, and also very cold (potable) water. Very high speed Wifi Internet access was included, as was Cable TV with many english language channels, And, even a small refrigerator in the room. Finally, the included Breakfast was also delicious, with eggs cooked to order, pre-made Crepes, fruits, fresh swee tomatoes and cucumbers, cereals (including granola), individual cold-cut and cheese plate brought for each diner to the table, and of course the great Bulgarian breads. The Staff were all friendly and helpful; and the price was great value for what was provided.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We chose The House because the price was very good and the location in the heart of Sofia seemed close to perfect. When we walked through the deserted patio garden (it was a very rainy day) into the darkened bar-reception, we had a little bit of trepidation. It wasn't at all like the sleek modern business hotel where we had stayed in Belgrade. But in no time the waitress who was also the receptionist and bartender made us feel welcome.

Our room on the second floor was up a narrow stone staircase, but it was large and comfortable with a tea service and ample lighting. The decor was early twentieth century Europe - what you might see in a movie of the period, but the bathroom was fine and the beds comfortable. It was really a place to feel at home in the middle of the city - lucky for us since the rain kept us from exploring quite as much as usual. The restaurant was also very good - unpretentious but serving generous portions of good Bulgarian food.

The staff was marvelous, particularly Ivan our waiter who gave us much useful advice and even gave us Easter eggs since it was the orthodox Easter. I was headed to a convention in Slovenia and had forgotten my business cards so Ivan walked me to a nearby printshop where I had a small batch made of the same price and quality I would have found in the U.S. If we have a chance to return to Sofia, this is the place we will stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Halintours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great location, really friendly staff, lovely big room with amazing shower and a good breakfast. And was a bargain too! Would definitely stay there again.

The only thing I would change is the decor in the rooms, which too is incredible (the carpet, wow!) but a little bit dark :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cass1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Akord Hotel
#39 of 130 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Hotel Cheap
#36 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Hotel Niky
#21 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forum Hotel
#35 of 130 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Hotel Geneva
#84 of 130 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Poduyane
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#31 of 130 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The House

Property: Hotel The House
Address: ul.Verila 4, Sofia 1463, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is situated in the centre of the city, 20 metres away from Sofia’s most personable boulevard – Vitosha, and in close proximity to the National Palace of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The House Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing