We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay but not that close to the city center.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Aris
Ranked #46 of 128 Hotels in Sofia
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place to stay but not that close to the city center.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying here. It was clean, comfortable, quite and the staff was great. It's a quick walk from the train station which is great if you're coming off one of those terrible Balkan night trains. However, it's quite a walk to get to the sights of Sofia. Though the breakfast is great, the dinner in the restaurant was underwhelming to say the least. Overall though I'd totally stay there again (I'd just eat dinner elsewhere).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitko K, Advertising Agency at Hotel Aris, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear valued Customer,
Thank you for sharing your experience with all!
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your time in our hotel!
We are looking forward to meet you again!
You are aways welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
26
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leganes
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I choose twice the Aris Hotel for its location, within walking distance of bus and railway stations. You can go to the city centre in 15 minutes, or is only a two stops subway trip, in a very modern line.
The surroundings are quiet, and a little dark at night, but I always feel secure. Very few shops and restaurants in this part of the city.. Plenty of taxis due to the vicinity of Princess Hotel and Casino.
Staff was courteous. My room was very clean, carpeted and modern, spectacular bathroom and excellent wifi.A little balcony with a chair and a table.
The breakfast wasn`t plentiful, but OK. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patanete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitko K, Advertising Agency at Hotel Aris, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for sharing your possitive experience with all!
You are aways welcome again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, we received a warm welcome by staff who could not do enough for us, the hotel is designed beautifully. Our room was small but very lovely the whole place was pristine, the bed was very comfortable, breakfast was not the best but we didnt leave hungry. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank decoratorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitko K, Advertising Agency at Hotel Aris, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear valued Customer,
Thank you for sharing your feedback!
We will consider your comments to emproove our service.
We are looking forward to meet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellent staff, very kind and very helpful. English speaking which is a bonus. Helped us with taxis and directed us to the hotspots in sofia. Clean hotel rooms. It is within walking distance of the bus and train stations.Will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: we stayed in a room facing local bulgarian houses but this did not take away from the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitko K, Advertising Agency at Hotel Aris, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear highly valued Customer,
Thank you for sharing your possitive feedback with all!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in our hotel.
You are aways welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Peaceful spot with plenty of room. Clean, modern with an excellent breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitko K, Advertising Agency at Hotel Aris, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear highly valued Customer,
We are delighted to hear your possitive feedback for our hotel.
You are aways welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Excellent place to stay.Everything brand new. Good location, good price, friendly staff, clean rooms. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VladimirR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitko K, Advertising Agency at Hotel Aris, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear highly valued Customer,
Thank you for sharing your possitive experience with all!
You are aways welcome to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

As we were going to be staying for just 1 night in Sofia, and leaving via train early the next morning, we wanted to be in the vicinity of the train station, so we didn't have to rush and mess about early on a Saturday morning.

To this end, we decided to book the Hotel Aris.as it was close - but not too close - to the train and bus station. it was also with an acceptable walking distance of the City Centre.

We arrived from the airport late-ish via taxi and were greeted by a friendly lady on reception who checked us in etc and gave advice about getting to town so we could get some food and a drink.

The rooms were average - but for approx. £25 a night it was pretty much what I was expecting. 2 single beds in my room - quite small and not too comfortable, satellite TV, mini-bar and a small bathroom with a shower that was hot and strong.

Ihave to say I didn't get the best nights sleep ever, as the windows were not the most soundproof ever made, and there were dogs on the street barking for what seemed like most of the night which kept me awake. Later on, towards the morning, there was also some traffic noise as one of the central roads throuh the city runs 1 block away.

The breakfast was continental buffet-style and while the choice was not gigantic it was more than adequate.

Overall, assuming that dogs don't bark every night and that I was just unlucky, for the cost of the room I would say this is a reasonable hotel and like everything in life - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rheadworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitko K, Advertising Agency at Hotel Aris, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear highly valued Customer,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with all!
We will consider your comments to improove our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hotel Favorit
#14 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Hotel Light
#22 of 128 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cheap
#30 of 128 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Oborishte
BEST WESTERN Art Plaza Hotel
Poduyane
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#31 of 128 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aris

Property: Hotel Aris
Address: ul.Seliolu 1, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 128 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aris 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened Hotel Aris enjoys a quiet location a 5-minute walk from the International Bus Station and the Sofia Train Station. Within a 10-minute walk you can reach the city centre with the Presidency and The Council of Ministers. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing