We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff”
Review of Arte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arte Hotel
Ranked #57 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of Sofia within walking distance to many sites and close to an underground station. In the immediate surroundings of the hotel are several banks with ATM machines on the outside. On the next corner is a kiosk which sells bottled water, sweets, fruit etc at very low prices until late at night.
My room was newly renovated, with an exceptionally well equipped bath room. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The staff at the reception are extremely friendly and spoke fluent English and German.
Breakfast was not so great - - there was a shortage of plates and knives...but again, the staff was very friendly.
Another "problem" is, that there is only a tiny lobby (with seating for three) and there is no bar or restaurant or any other palce on the premises where guests can buy something to drink, or sit together and talk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbow51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Arte Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 169 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. For the price I expected it to be a bit more basic but the room was actually quite luxurious. Very clean, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, mini bar. Reception staff were helpful. A good option for a night or two in Sofia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luispquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My son and I stayed there for 2 nights. The location was perfect, the price was good, the hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful. I would stay there again. We took an airport shuttle to and from the airport but a local bus was available from the airport which stopped at the university a few blocks away. Be careful of the Taxis as you can get really ripped off. Stick with OK taxis and not CK Taxis. Great art in the building if you're into that. Good price for the quality of hotel,

Room Tip: Can walk to most of the sightseeing location.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 767captlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Touring Bulgaria with a group of friends we stayed one night at this hotel at the beginning of the holiday and two nights at the end. It is a place of contrasts. Location is excellent, staff are friendly, helpful and speak English, breakfast and the room in which it is served are delightful. The rooms themselves are a very good size for a city centre hotel, a bit bland, although the orange highlights brighten it up a little, but the beds are small and the pillows bullet-like. If you prefer a double bed then ask for a twin bedded room and push the beds together, because unlike all the other hotels we stayed in during our trip, this was the only one with 4ft 6in double beds. The singles aren't huge either, but pushed together are fine. Bathroom is small but everything works and there is a shelf for putting ones own toiletries on (missing in most hotels I find). Almost the best thing about this hotel is the real art on the walls, particularly on the staircase. It is worth taking the stairs rather than the lift just to see the pen and ink drawings, there being a particularly fine portrait of a woman on the landing near the ground floor. Because the hotel is situated on a main road traffic noise is a problem if you leave windows open at night. We tried the A/C but it didn't seem to work, so tolerated the swishing of traffic which turned out to be reasonably soporific. All in all a convenient and pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms at the front are an interesting shape with lots of space and a window on each wall so a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Highgateglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

On my Travels I stop in Sofia for 2 days. It is an under rated city. Actually the food there was great and It is a nice city for walking. Anyways, Arte Hotel is a nice place. The staff are super helpful and nice people. The Hotel is perfectly located in the city super close to the metro to get to the outlaying areas and super close to the center sights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this very pleasant hotel for a short 3 day break in March. It was in a perfect location for sightseeing etc.

The hotel is functional and comfortable. Our room was small but spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a standard shower with good power. The usual shower lotions were supplied.
The room was very hot and we were told that the air conditioning was on “winter setting” and so will only blow out hot air! Never mind we just opened the window – this may not have been so convenient if you room faced onto the main road as it was quite noisy.

Breakfast was served between 7-10, however, it would probably be more accurate to say breakfast was put out at 7 and if you went down later you ate what was left.

The staff at this hotel were fantastic and could not do enough for you and were always willing to have a chat and give advice.

The hotel is well worth the price, but I suggest you look around for the best prices.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superhoopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I like this hotel very much..Its in the center of the city,there is very nice hospitality,the breakfast was good,the room was very cute and comfortable..i cant say that something was bothering me,coz all was perfect..

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Slavica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Hotel Niky
#18 of 133 in Sofia
253 reviews
Diter Hotel
#62 of 133 in Sofia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
522 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arte Hotel

Address: Dondukov Blvd 5, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Poduyane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $64 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing