We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and central”
Review of Arte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arte Hotel
Ranked #51 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Visited for 4 nights during a business trip. Easy to find, central location and welcoming staff. Plenty of information (and recommendations) on what to visit and where to eat available and within walking distance of major points of interest. Clean and well presented rooms, relatively quiet (it's at the side of a 4 lane road in the centre of town) and a decent breakfast buffet. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deri_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 173 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel is in amazing location - in the very heart of the city. It is close to absolutely all the most important sights of Sofia, as well as shopping and administrative locations. The service is average - the staff at the reception did not seem to be overall attentive or friendly, but it was ok. In general I believe it was very good quality for the money. And the location - once more - is great. The rooms are tiny (I was in a standard room, so maybe other categories are more spacious), but for a short business trip it was more than enough for me.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

excellent location :
- right in the historical center , along the waking tour route
- 2mins from metro & supermarket
- 3mins from superb restaurants & traditional market

Clear room & washroom, friendly staff.

free wifi

flat screen TV with lots of channels ... we watched Euro 2012 matches in our room !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_and_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Nice hotel not to be confused with Hotel Art also in the Centre of Sofia.
Nice basic room, with friendly staff in a good position close to the mineral water springs.
Clean, friendly staff and nice morning breakfast.
Good value for money modern no frills hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel is located in a fantastic location next to the Ministry Building, opposite the Party House and close to the President’s building.

The hotel is within 10mins walk to Alexander Nevski Cathedral and a short walk to other sites in Sofia.

The standard room is not large but a decent size and is fine for a couple. The bathroom is also not large but an ok size. Both room and bathroom was clean.

The staff are friendly and helpful. They helpfully called a taxi for us to the airport and made sure the taxi driver understood which terminal we wanted.

The only complaint was the room was unbelievably too warm even though we did not have the heater on all trip. We were there in April and the daytime temperature was in the high teens. We had to open the window in the middle of the night. Still don’t understand why the room was so hot but when we told reception the room cooled down. I suppose this is a plus if visiting in winter as the room is very warm with both a normal heater and under floor heating in both the room and the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank White_T_Shirt_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the Arte for two nights in late April. The location is close to all that is good in Sofia and the hotel is run efficiently and professionally. At 10 euros extra per person for breakfast we breakfasted in nearby coffee shops but all else was good. The hotel is a 5 lev taxi fare from the bus station.
The staff were professional and helpful.

Room Tip: The windows are doubled glazed so the rooms are quiet, but if you like fresh air at night choose a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This time I chose the hotel based on the reviews and the location. Right in the centre of Sofia, Hotel Arte is a good base for exploring the city. The people in the reception were nice and professional but didn't offer much information.

My room on 3rd floor was nicely furnished and had all the normal amenities. It was slightly too hot because the sun apparently warmed it during the day and air conditioning doesn't work before summer (after freezing the previous night in the mountains in an unheated hotel that was not so bad). The bathroom was clean and fragrant.

My only complaint is about the noise which, on the other hand, is natural in the centre. Because of the temperature I had to keep the window open for some time, and even when it was closed the traffic noise disturbed a bit.

Room Tip: Better avoid the rooms facing the main street because there is heavy traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maril_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Hotel Niky
#16 of 135 in Sofia
269 reviews
Diter Hotel
#67 of 135 in Sofia
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serdica
City Avenue Hotel
City Avenue Hotel
#40 of 135 in Sofia
60 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
600 reviews
Serdica
Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arte Hotel

Address: Dondukov Blvd 5, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Poduyane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $61 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing