We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
244
168
56
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
244
168
56
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman ruins separate toilet cul de sac quiet side street russian church large bathroom nice hotel breakfast choices reception staff lobby area enjoyable stay stayed nights alexander nevsky cathedral executive room walking distance the ground floor central location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 491 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Overall, this is well worth 5 stars. The location is wonderful for local museums and other attractions and for proximity to the metro. The side street its on is a bit derelict but the steps at the end are very handy when heading anywhere south. A bonus (which sold the hotel for us) was the Roman ruins in the basement- something other hotels don't have.

The room was large and clean. A piece of cake on my birthday was a nice touch! Not sure the ac would be up to a hot Summer but the window to the balcony opened so we had a comfortable sleep- especially with the large bed.

The staff were friendly & helpful and can suggest local places to eat and visit.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Dear John,
Thank you so much for your nice words about your stay at Arena di Serdica Boutique Hotel. I am happy to hear that your time spent with us was a good one, that the situation of the hotel and the staff met your expectations and that our small surprise for your special occasion touched you. I hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards,
Boryana Dolapchieva Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

The first impression is not good: the front desk is ugly. I had an executive room: it was large, with a classic design. The bed and mattress were okish, no more. WiFi was free and fast.

The breakfast is very poor, with low quality unappealing products.

In the 5 stars category, go rather to the Sofia Balkan hotel, much better.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank H8288FCbenjamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

Where to start?
3 star mob hotel that bought 5 stars. That is so obvious. Notices that they buy reviews also. Someone should report this hotel and take off couple of stars. No one helped us with the baggage untill we brought all the bags by ourselves in the lobby.
Rooms: Old furniture, dirty carpet, dirty balcony, hair in the bathtub, horrible vibe. You can not control the room temperature and we couldn’t sleep because it was roasting . Asked for an iron- didnt get one, its not allowed in the room.
Restaurant: Eastern European 3 star hotel restaurant with a 3 star food. Breakfast was a disgrace for 5 star rating. Dirty restaurant, only one waitress spoke English, food cold and bad quality. Coffee? Jesus. The worst coffee I’ve had in a long time. In the middle of breakfast a huge older guy in sweatpants and dirty shirt came in and slammed the door, closing it, and started looking everyone angrily, taking food in the kitchen(apparently the breakfast was over and he wanted us to know?) Asked for fruit, they were pissed off and demanded to know what kind of fruit would i like so they dont have to chop all of the fruit again??
Service: First of all, you just simply can not send staff to our room when we are not there without asking. Ok, you have put couple of shower gels in the bathroom , but ive noticed my stuff was moved and someone snooped around. Reception staff was ok. Concierge guy(trust me, he doesn’t even know what that is) looks like an old villain from 80s movies, and acts like that. Spa personnel? Rude.
Value for the money? NO NO. Go Intercontinental, go Sensa. Go 4 star. Do not go Arena. Do not pay the money.
The ONLY positive thing is the Loccitane bath stuff you get. Haha.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank unicorn_foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear Lorak 764,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your stay at Arena di Serdica Boutique Hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience at the hotel. We will be taking your comments very seriously. They have been already shared with the team and will be reviewed internally.
We pride ourselves on offering a great service experience and are sorry to hear this was not the case on this occasion. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the hotel so we have the opportunity to show our better sides.
Regards,
Boryana Dolapchieva | Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

Tucked away on a small dead end street is a very nice boutique hotel, Arena di Serdika. Great for business or pleasure.

It is definitely more than the typical European box room hotel. It truly is a nice place to stay with enough room in each room to not feel boxed in, unlike so many other European hotels.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. While the breakfast is first rate.

A very interesting feature of this hotel is the lower levels. When the hotel was constructed it was found to be on top of Roman ruins. Most of which are preserved and completely exposed on the -1 floor. Walk among ruins and take yourself back in time. It is very interesting to think of the thousands of people over the hundreds of years that lived, ate and slept in this same space you are in.

I would recommend this hotel for business or personal travel over all of the other hotels in Sofia. Either new ones or existing. I have stayed in then all.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank 906dennisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPI-Hotels, Front Office Manager at Arena di Serdica Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

Dear Dennis,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Arena di Serdica Boutique Hotel. I am truly happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that you have good memories to share for the hotel and also for the amphiteather. I hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards,
Boryana Dolapchieva | Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

Superb little hotel built over Roman ruins has a unique fleur and is one of the best we have stayed in. We enjoyed a suite at the top floor with a huge terrace and great views over the city and mountain Vitosha. The staff was most helpful. The breakfast was delicious, and the Italian restaurant at the top floor was excellent! We are grateful for the warm hospitality and plan to be back in the future.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews