We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't even try another hotel in Sofia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
Ranked #22 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I am coming to Sofia every three months for a bit more then a year now and the hotel was recommended by my Sofia based business partners. So far I have only seen very friendly service from the hotel staff. All rooms (executive) are very spacious and usually have a separate living area and separate bedroom with on suite bathroom. What I like most about this hotel is that it really does take the no smoking policy very serious and you are not bothered with smoke if you book a non smoking room. In fact I don't even know if they have smoking rooms. That really isn't always a given in Sofia. I stayed previously in the Radisson Blu which despite 5 stars had burn marks on furniture and stale smell throughout the hotel. That just never happens in the AdS. My team is happy to stay at the AdS as well when they travel to Sofia and no one had any complaints so far.

The lobby area with the excavated roman remains of the Sofia (Serdica) Arena are really nice to see but my second most loved feature is the spa and fitness area in the basement of the hotel. It is cozy and luxurious with steam bath, sauna and all fitness equipment one needs.

Lastly the location is very central and convenient. I'll keep coming back here, there is just no need to try something else. Looking forward to go again in three weeks.

Room Tip: Do book an executive room its worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peroxyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 400 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

I have stayed at the Arena di Serdica in Sofia for over two years and have never been disappointed in the rooms or service. Latest trip in December was for 5 nights - and I hosted 8 business colleagues and friends for stays of 1 or 2 nights to join me in business events. All were extremely happy with all aspects fo their Arena di Serdica (AdS) stay which says a lot.

The AdS provides first class facilities, rooms and smiling staff from Reception through to the Doormen. Very clean and spacious rooms - well worth upgrading to Executive rooms for extra space and bath tubs.

Well located for all of downtown Sofia on a quiet road ( Budapeshta) running off of a main road Dundukov. Just behind the President`s offices, Parliament and British Embassy. 15 minutes by foot covers a lot of the downtown area.

Hotel has Wifi and underground parking. Breakfast is buffet style with a good assortment. The breakfast room is very nice but one of the areas that would be below the rest of the hotel in comparison with a top hotel. There is a restaurant on the top floor, tried it once but did not return as it wasn`t anything special. With many good restaurants in Sofia within walking distance really not an issue.

The bottom floor is made up of the uncovered Roman Arena of Sofia (Serdica) and thus the hotel name. Reception overlooks the arena on the mezzanine floor. A great conversation piece and setting.

The wellness area is also very well done. Quiet and luxurious, saunas, steam and relaxing areas with full massage facilities. An excellent addition to any hotel.

Arena di Serdica represents good value for a top, well located hotel in downtown Sofia. Highly recommended for business or a private visit.

Arena di Serdica represents great value for an excellent hotel in downown Sofia.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller12305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Room 209 is a Handicap accesible and should be avoided if not handicaped. The shower floods all the way to the bathroom door. The window looks into an air shaft. The room is not well insulated for sound and so I could hear the disco next door and the conversations of the people in the next room. Avoid this room - ask for a room on the high floors of the Hotel.

I have stayed here before and enjoyed the Hotel but this particular room was awful.

The hotel is well located, has a bood breakfast and nice staff. It has the addition of having a Roman Arena built into the hotel lobby.

The Hotel claims to be 5 star and maybe it is when all is functioning well but Room 209 is probably what I would expect in a 3 star.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here for a recent business trip to Bulgaria, this is in a residential/ office block area - although very near to the Cathedral which is very beauitiful.
Hotel is good, not the best i've stayed in - but the room was spacious with good facilities and a large bathroom with large shower and large bath also. I had a separate toilet.
I guess the reason i havent given it five stars is because the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night and wasnt stopped for ages (and wasnt very loud in the room, worringly) and also the hotel bar shut at 11 and we were hurried to finish our drinks.
Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorisBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

In my recent business trip to Sofia I was asked by my company to stay at this hotel, rather than my regular one. I was somewhat hesitant, as I really like where I usually stay. I have to say it was worth trying this hotel. It is rather small (40 rooms and 23 apartments); the rooms are quite nice - good size, with all the needed amenities. The bathroom is spacious and nice looking. The unique aspect of the hotel is that it is situated on top of an old Roman amphitheater, discovered while the building was renovated - it is nicely preserved and can be seen at the lower level of the hotel. This is also the location of the spa - which is really wonderful. The hotel has one functioning restaurant - La Tribuna - which is quite good. They advertize a Panorama restaurant on the top level - but it is currently closed. The one caveat, is that some of the rooms get some street noise starting early in the morning. Otherwise, a good choice for business travelers to Sofia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel - which should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aviad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Beautiful modern hotel located in downtown , close to all sights of Sofia . Efficient staff , large and silence room . We expected for a more rich breakfast but in summary this is a splendid hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Haifa-LHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I visited this hotel, for business. It's a 5 star hotel, with a personal touch. The rooms were amazing and extremely big. I asked for a smaller room, because i was alone, and they replied that this was the smallest! Amazing. Rooms are located in a way that you have privacy, unlike other hotels, in which you can hear the next rooms.
On the basement, you can see the ruins of the arena, which gave the name to the hotel. Moreover, i used the room service twice and the food quality was by far the best i have tried in any hotel, and superior to the majority of restaurant i have visited world wide.
Regarding Sofia, i have to say that apart from the center, the pedestrian street and the Church of Levsky, it's a rather dull city with low interest factor.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okyalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.5 mi away
Les Fleurs Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 135 in Sofia
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 135 in Sofia
723 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel

Address: 13-15 Moskovska Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $99 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena di Serdica is the newest 5 star Residence Hotel in Sofia affiliated to the FPI Hotels & Resorts chain.Strategically located in the heart of the city, right next to the main states institutions, business centers and banks, as well as to the cultural and historial places of interest in Sofia, the luxurious Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel Sofia is excellent choice for business and cultural trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing