We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location ok conditions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location ok conditions”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are average but the location is amazing if you want to hop up snd down sofia centre. Loads of bars and restaurants around. I would recommend not to go for the first suggestions from reception but let yourself get lost in the streets. Super safe and lively area. Be ready for a toll parking and a nightmare if u looking for a spot in the day. But metro station is around the corner.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anthony131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller294452, Manager at Best Western Art Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at BEST WESTERN Art Plaza Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Petar Kostov
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    97
    43
    6
    12
See reviews for
44
71
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My colleague and I arrived late to Sofia and started to search hotel without our GPS after driving for 5 hours and loosing additional 2 hours (one from spring time change, and other from diferent time zone in Bulgaria). After 10 minutes of driving in city centre he whoop: Hotel! So I made a turn and there we were - tired, ready to sleep and they had room.
Small lobby, kind young receptionist, a bellboy which is not a boy for at least 35 years but helped us and we went sleeping in a fast lane.
The room is worth 2 stars, breakfast is not something special but OK with a'la carte menu also but location is worth 4* hotel without any problem! In the heart of the city centre, close to restaurants, bars, monuments and shops.
Nice stay in Sofia!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadrifilozof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I was stayed there with my family only for 2 days but would like to stay another week nex time.Staff is very kind and gentle.Speeks english as well.Hello to Simeon...
Hotel is located at the heart of the city,very close (about 100 meters) to the famous Vitoshka street.Hotel itself is in a quiet autentique place where we rest and sleept well.Otherwise Sofia is crowded as the other european capitals too.That so it is hard to find such a friendly place to stay around the city.
Special thanks to my friend Mr.Nikolay Kolikovski-boss of the hotel,who was so kind with us and very very helpfull.
Me and my wife was very satisfied of our stay in that hotel.Highly recommended it.

We'll back again.
Chao!

Tuncher Yilmaz
Istanbul

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuncer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller294452, Manager at Best Western Art Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Dear Happy Guest.

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending BEST WESTERN Art Plaza Hotel hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!

Best Regards,

Petar Kostov
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights. Reception was small, yet convenient. Staff was very friendly and willing to help, breakfast area was small and food nothing special (both quality and quantity wise). Size of the room was fine and it's quiet clean. The sheets were clean, yet threadbare and old. Major issue was the bathtub, where despite the fact that it had a curtain, it could not reach one edge. As a result, after every shower, the bathroom was full of water. Bathroom's faucet was leaking!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CH99637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed in a suite for more than a month, comfortable enough, but dark, very low wattage light bulbs and dark walls. Carpets are old but the bathrooms are updated and all was clean. Do not expect anything more than average, the table cloths at breakfast are often soiled. Breakfast should be eaten within the first hour of being laid out, after that its cold and not very palatable.
The bed is comfortable and the staff pleasant, they do their best to make your stay pleasant and try to fix whatever problem is bothering you. It is fabulously central and within walking distance of all sights and a block from the beautiful shopping street, Vitosha Blvd and great inexpensive restaurants. A three star hotel with few frills, not hugely cheap but if you are staying for a week or longer send an email to the manager and she will negotiate a good rate. All in all a pleasant stay in a quiet, perfect area.

Room Tip: Find a room not painted in a dark colour because all the light bulbs are of very low wattage. All ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller294452, Manager at Best Western Art Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Dear Happy Guest.

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending BEST WESTERN Art Plaza Hotel hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!

Best Regards,

Petar Kostov
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Kolikovski was my home for a couple of days in Sofia. It's very centrally located, steps away from the main Vitosha street, as well as the NDK complex. In the very vicinity of the hotel is a quiet residential area, which is convenient to live in. When walking past the hotel coming from the NDK side for the first time, the closed entrance before reaching the hotel's front door reminded me more of a strip club than an hotel, but that soon – luckily – passed.

Checking in was painless, and the personell was rather welcoming. Especially one of the ladies there was fluent in English, and gave advice and tips as well as a map.

The room wasn't so large, but adequate and reasonable. Storage space was provided, and the bed was comfortable, as well as the bathroom. A bit unusual is the baby-blue wallpaper, but well, you don't really book this kind of hotel for its design.

Breakfast had a surprisingly large choice for the area it was served in, and provided cold and hot options including fried eggs. A minus was that the hot food tended to get quite cold when approaching closing time at 10, but it was by all means still edible and good. During my stay the breakfast room had few visitors, so this apparently varies with time of day and weekday (duh).

In all, I enjoyed my stay at the Kolikovski. Its location is very convenient, and there's nothing wrong with any of the services provided. I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvmtvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller294452, Manager at Best Western Art Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Dear Happy Guest.

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending BEST WESTERN Art Plaza Hotel hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!

Best Regards,

Petar Kostov
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

There was nothing particularly awful about this hotel. From the outside, it looks fantastic and the reception area also appears very impressive. The location is amazing; just off Vitosha Boulevard and close to restaurants, bars and most of Sofia's main attractions. However, the rooms were of a two-star standard; very basic with a tiny television and the dreaded two single beds masquerading as a double. The shower also leaked water all over the bathroom floor. Moreover, our bathroom door had a habit of locking when you closed it from the outside so we twice had to ask receptionists to let us into our own bathroom. In addition, the automatic front door of the hotel is a little temperamental; we witnessed an (admittedly hilarious) incident in which one poor guy walked straight into it and almost broke his nose. In conclusion, as I said, there is nothing outrageously wrong with the hotel and the staff were very helpful and professional; we had a fairly pleasant stay. However, don't expect the inside to be as nice as the outside looks and beware of the front door!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diarmuid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hotel Niky
#21 of 133 in Sofia
236 reviews
Serdica
Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
452 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
670 reviews
Art Otel
#43 of 133 in Sofia
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Art Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Art Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Address: Hristo Belchev str, 46, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly Kolikovski Hotel)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Oborishte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Art Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Art Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolikovski Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing