We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofia Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$139
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Niky(Sofia)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Sofia(Sofia)
$131
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$68
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cheap(Sofia)(Great Value!)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
8
34
32
25
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
34
32
25
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaid in advancecomfortable double bedconvenient locationminute walkkeytaxi
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 132 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Average 3-star hotel, although they are registered as 4-star, I have checked the public registry. Needs some renovation and better management. Staff should be additional trained for customer care. Location is good, just opposite the Sofia main railway station and very close to Central bus station and Serdika bus station. A lot of tram lines stop just in front of the hotel doors and enable access to the city center in 10 min. Soon will be opened also new subway station. Breakfast is OK if you come at 7.30 - nothing would be added later. Towels not changed every day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nedko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The location was perfect for us because we were just overnighting in between buses - it's 200m from train and bus station. It's also right near an ATM and supermarket, so everything you would need is within 5 minutes.

The hotel has potential to be a lot better but they just don't seem to pay attention to detail. There was one towel (between two of us), the pillowcase was yellow with sweat stains (lucky we carry a spare), the breakfast was a buffet but was really poor. Bread was stale, tea and coffee was cold, the waitress was constantly loading serving plates with her bare hands. The "juice" was extremely watered down cordial. It was the worst included breakfast we have had on our RTW trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarratt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

stayed here following reviews from previous guests.this advice enabled me to make this wise choice for my 4day stay in sofia.had been 12 years previously and can say sofia has improved a lot.my room was 1st floor ,large and very good<had shower not bath,which i prefer>.had i not arrived during the freak snowfall and 'antarctic' temperatures,i would have strolled into town more often.with the snow/ice it took 20 mins.i took taxis ordered by hotel which cost about4leva,a good price,<taxi from airport cost10leva>.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geeteeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel is quiet despite its location along the city's tram lines. My room was at the back, but I heard little street noise in the lobby, and hope that the front rooms are equally quiet. The bathroom was of good size, with a large bathtub. An amazing array of English-speaking TV channels was available. The hotel is very clean, and close to the train station. I found it easy to walk to the city center - the only problem being broken sidewalks in some areas; but maybe too far for some to walk, and not a good plan at night - if only because of those broken sidewalks. The breakfast spread had good variety.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We needed to stay somewhere close to Sofia main railway station as we would be arriving late and departing early the next morning. This place fitted the bill, being pretty much across the main road from the station and reasonably priced. The receptionist was very helpful in ordering us a pizza delivery and also telling us that the (crap) beer selection in the hotel bar was overpriced and that we'd be better visiting the shop across the road (which was true!). WiFi in room worked perfectly as did the air con. Room and bathroom spotless. What more could you want?!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews