We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and Calm Place”
Review of California Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
California Hotel
Ranked #96 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have stayed in Hotel California twice on my business trip to Sofia. Let me tell you that you wont find amazing rooms its very basic but everything you need will be provided to you.The TV's are the old and cheap ones also the cable TV quality is very bad. The best part about this Hotel is that its in a residence area hence its very quiet and you can relax ones you are back in your room. There is no spa, no indoor games,no swimming pool but yes there is a restaurant in the basement which operates from 7 am to 10 pm. I like the staff in this hotel they are very kind and helpful and also speak good English hence I choose this hotel on my visit to Sofia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moiz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 42 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

We paid around 40 euros per night for the room(but we had a Bulgarian local book the room for us)
The hotel rooms have definitely seen better days and décor is not modern as such. But the room is very clean and the coffee they serve is delicious. The staff is very friendly and I think it is a family run hotel.
The wifi is a bit choppy because of the the way the room is designed but that's okay. The hotel is very close to the tram stop and the metro station James boucrhier. Piccadily is a good 30 mins walk downhill inside a mall, you can take the metro back.
Piccadily serves real good food which you can takeaway.
I didn't find any fault in the hotel, the first night our shower was broken but the next day it was promptly fixed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed in quite a few hotels in Bulgaria now and this one is by far the best for the money. It is clean, comfortable and most of all in a nice quiet area. After staying in several places that made you think your room was millimeters away from a major motorway or 24 hour tram line I was pleased to find I actually got a good night's sleep here. The area is very residential; not really where you would expect a hotel to be. This fine by me as it was still easy to get into the center. The staff were happy to ring you a taxi and explain to them where you wanted to go if your Bulgarian wasn't up to it. Or you could make the 2 minute walk around the corner and pick up the number 10 tram that whisks you into the center far faster than a taxi would.

I have stayed there four or five times now and would not consider anywhere else. The staff are very friendly and organised a trip to the Rilla Monastery for us last time we were there which was much appreciated. Unlike some hotels, the rooms are clean and fresh, They have not chosen the usual route of turning a smoking room into a non smoking room by emptying a can of lemon air freshener which appears to be the technique of a lot of the other hotels.

Very good is all I can say.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vagabundo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed in de luxe room.
Very good hotel at a very good price.
Location is fine, not downtown but metro station is 5 mins walk away,about 7 minutes away from city center.
The room was big enough and very clean .In room there is always soap, shampoo,clean towels.
Free WIFI in the lobby and rooms.
The hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly.
It is very good place if you visit Sofia. Not only for business.20 minute drive from the Airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with innstant.com
Thank Rami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A nice but whacky hotel. It has no end of lights and switches in the room. Quite a few don't work anymore. We had a balcony. It is located in a quiet area, leafy suburb. The staff was very helpful and spoke good English.
Our shower was one of those pods. it was old and the only thing that worked was the shower itself. The breakfast was very simple and the coffee not good. Luckily there was a shop on the corner and they have a coffee machine outside.
It could do with some updating and maintenance but this is not a reason not to stay here.
I did think that it was a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel when I was in Sofia to see FIVB World League Finals 2012. Room was spacious with balcony. Surrounding area was very quiet but it was quite far to the centre and to the buses. On the other hand tram stop was close and taxis in Sofia are cuite cheap. Bathroom was ok but I would prefer normal bath or shower instead of jaccuzi that did't work and was leaking a bit. Still it wasn't big problem for us. Breakfast was ok although it was little choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 13Lukasz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

It was our first trip to Bulgaria - and heed the warnings to get a licensed taxi from the airport or you may be stung with a 50euro trip instead of a 5euro trip.

This hotel is located in a residential area - walking distance from a large shopping centre (where you can go see movies in English with Bulgarian subtitles if you are that way inclined). It's a fair walk into the centre of Sofia, but a (legitimate) taxi ride is extremely cheap as an alternative.

Staff have ok English, and are pleased to help if they can. They may seem stand-offish but Bulgarians can be quite shy - we had a great time trying to get through the language barrier.

The breakfast at the hotel is basic - cold meats, cheese and breads. Average orange juice. However if you eat dinner at the hotel, it is very cheap and the food was absolutely outstanding. Large serves, tasty fresh meat and vegetables and desserts were fantastic.

The rooms are clean and large - the decor a little dated, but fine. Had a spa in our room and it was very cheap to stay.

Will definitely stay again when we go back. Great place to visit and lovely hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europe-travellers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hotel Brod
#92 of 135 in Sofia
47 reviews
Art Hotel Simona
#60 of 135 in Sofia
35 reviews
Hotel Bansko
#88 of 135 in Sofia
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serdica
City Avenue Hotel
City Avenue Hotel
#40 of 135 in Sofia
60 reviews
Akord Hotel
#32 of 135 in Sofia
101 reviews
Hotel Cheap
#38 of 135 in Sofia
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Hotel

Address: ul.Bigla 30, Sofia 1407, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $34 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — California Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your California Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing