We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Casa Ferrari B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Ferrari B&B
Ranked #1 of 104 Sofia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ludmil's small BnB in central Sofia is a great find and a perfect place to stay. The apartment is quiet, kept immaculately clean, (free) Wifi is working just great, a kitchen is available for guests' use, and the best is Ludmil's personal attention to his guests. His thorough knowledge of Sofia and Bulgarian history provides a great source for breakfast conversations, which we very much enjoyed. All this background information and recommendations certainly made our trip to Sofia the more special. We hope to be back for more of highly interesting Bulgaria, and will then hopefully be able to follow Ludmil's recommendations for great places to see throughout the country. Sofia is a great city with a special atmosphere, lots of small shops and coffee houses, friendly people, great museums with fantastic historical treasures, and very easy to navigate as most of the sights are within the central area and just mintues to walk from Casa Ferrari. Thanks again for all your help and recommendations!

Room Tip: There are three rooms only, one triple, one double and a single. We saw all of them, all looked nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stadtnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
53
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Excelsior, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent a week in Sofia at the Casa Ferrari. It is a charming B and B in an excellent location near the center of the city. The managers, Ludmil and Marianna made us feel very welcome and at home. Ludmil took us on several excellent tours, viewing ancient and more recent historical sites. He is a very knowlegable historian and taught us much about Bulgaria's rich history. Marianna accompanied us to a delightful traditional Bulgarian restaurant with folk dancing.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patpeter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Location for city access and quiet neighborhood more than met my expectations. Ludmil is a treasure trove of historical knowledge of his country, which he obviously loves. Whether finding a taxi, suggesting walks loor local sites to visit he is the perfect b&b manager. Ask and he will bring in some local specialties for breakfast. Central walking street Vitosha, taxi stand and trams are just a short walk away. Room decor uses nice wood pieces along with modern bath. Don H. Manager nonprofit.

Room Tip: Each room has adjustable window for fresh air and conditioner I assume might be appreciated in summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a lovely time in Sofia and the Casa Ferrari accommodation was superb. The room is central and convenient. Although we thought we would dine out every meal we ended up going to a local gourmet bread and cheese shop, took samples home, and had a fabulous meal at the B & B, using their well-stocked kitchen. Ludmil was a terrific guide and one day he took us to an old village that still has the flavor of its 19th century past-- just charming.
The apartment is quiet, so we slept well every night.

Room Tip: We slept in the blue room facing the back. Very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

As a South African visiting Bulgaria and Sofia for the first time I was very nervous of what to expect. Thank you Ludmil and Casa Ferrari for making my stay "home from home". What you see in the website and pictures are exactly as it was. Accomodation was really comfortable and the breakfasts were lovely including the traditional Bulgarian breakfast of Banista! Casa Ferrari is central and in good walking distance of the Vitosha Boulevard. Ludmil is a mine of information and only willing to please his guests. His historical knowledge is amazing! Any newcomers if you have time take up Ludmils offer for his personnal tours. I have gone away wanting to return not only for the beautiful Sofia and surrounds but for the welcoming I received by Casa Ferrari and Ludmil. I stayed in the Yellow Room but hope to return to try out the other rooms. I visited there from the 6th August to the 10th.

Room Tip: All rooms airconditioned..and situated in a quiet street so any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Location - great! Rooms- impeccable! Advice from Ludmill- priceless!
We went to for a short weekend break to Sofia with our 3 year old and chose Casa Ferrari based on trip advisor reviews! And were not disappointed! Ludmill is a gracious host - from the time he picked us up from the airport till check out, he has thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We had the whole apartment to ourselves. The bed was large and comfortable, room good sized, bathroom clean and modern. Breakfast is served in the living space, the furniture is period Italian - lovely. The kitchen is well stocked will all amenities. Taxis are easily organised for trips to the station or airport. All sights are within walking distance, but don't leave the apartment without talking to Ludmill- he will guide you with directions and advice on what to see- you won't waste any time!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Keyamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is perfect. Clean, smart, central. The owners cannot do enough for you, but are never invasive. The balance is perfectly judged. You can take a monastery tour out to Rila and Boyana also, which, if you are pressed for time, is a great way to pack in two UNESCO sites of incredible value in one day. As a solo traveller, this place made great sense, with just the right balance of privacy and attentiveness.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheUnnamable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
478 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
927 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 133 in Sofia
183 reviews
Serdica
Hotel Anel
Hotel Anel
#5 of 133 in Sofia
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ferrari B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ferrari B&B

Property: Casa Ferrari B&B
Address: ul.Lyulin planina 16, Sofia 1606, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Ferrari B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa Ferrari is an extraordinary, family run B&B where the attention to detail is second to none. We offer our guests a warm welcome, a cozy atmosphere, and a caring and attentive attitude. For your comfort we provide high quality facilities in a quiet city-center neighborhood. Rooms furnished with early 20th century handmade Italian furniture provide a special accent. We are always ready to share the highlights of Bulgarian history and heritage giving our guests a personal look into Bulgarian life and culture. Our B&B is located in the center of Sofia and is only a short walk from Vitosha Boulevard and National Palace of Culture. Sorry, no smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Casa Ferrari B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing