We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful suites!”
Review of Sofia Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofia Residence
Ranked #37 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. Absolutely amazing rooms- comfortable and cozy as if you are at home.
Staff at the reception was very polite and accomoddated all our wishes.
Only trouble we had was the restaurant associated with the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doinsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is the fourth time in nearly 6 years that we stay at this hotel, the last time 3 years ago. It has always been a very nice, comfortable and friendly place but since the last time the decor has been improve, a new cafè just opened and if it were possible, the service has become even friendlier and more refined. It is a small hotel with with 9 suites and rooms and feels like a home. The hotel is in one of the best central and quiet areas of the city - iin the street and in the immediate surroundings there are several embassies. It is only around 10 minutes walk to the main historical and cultural attractions. The rooms are mostly small appartments - spacious and nicely appointed and with free WI-FI access. The staff are young respectful, efficient and professional people who would go out of their way to accommodate one's wishes and even "whims". The manager, Ms S Ivanova is an example of a quiet but attentive and obviously, closely monitoring the establishment leader. Nothing is too much for her and the staff. (As the TV was in the bedroom and as the UEFA Cup final was not of much interest to my wife, I enquired whether the set could be moved. The next thing, we found another TV set installed in the sitting room! My wife enquierd about a floor cover for her exercises. A special mat for Yoga/Pilatis exercise was delevered from somewhere!)

The breakfast is served in the room and one has a choice of 4 kinds of breakfast - all of them really nice and substantial up to the point that after a week I requested less than half of my breakfast. The newly opened cafè with tables outside under the cool shade of the trees is a joy to spend time in and enjoy the different cocktails, icecreams and nice snacks.

We always stay there about 2 - 3 weeks and again we felt like being at home and surrounded by a family with all the hospitality and care given by the marvellous staff. The prices for such a position, level of comfort,, amenities and service are more than reasonable. We have been in other hotels which offer mmuch less for higher prices. We would not hesitate to recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone, being sure that there will be no disappointment for anyone who likes comfort, warm atmosphere, convenience and ultimately, enjoyment. For us, the logo of the company - "Your place in Sofia" - is actually more "Our home in Sofia"! And naturally, we will be back.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bella51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a lovely well located hotel with some exceptionally spacious and well furnished rooms. There was an exceptional range of toileteries, bath robes and slippers provided. The staff were friendly and helpful, so I would certainly recommend this hotel to others. It was only a 5 to 10 minute walk straight down the street to the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral near the center of Sofia.

Most, if not all rooms have double beds, so if you need two beds, then this may not be the best choice for you. However, the staff set up the sofa as an extra bed for the friends travelling with us, which suited them well. Some of the rooms have baths strange places (e.g. end of the bed or in an alcove), so it may be worth you checking their website’s pictures and request a specific room for your taste.

The only thing I wasn’t too keen on was the breakfasts. Although there is a choice of four to choose from, they are pre-ordered, prepared early, and served on a tray, sometimes with cold scrambled eggs, cold toast or cool coffee. A cafetiere or fresh filter coffee would have been nice, with a choice of eggs or omelette, but the coffee tends to be espresso in Bulgaria. Also the orange juice is squash, not fresh juice.

The hotel is on a one-way street, so if you plan on driving about Sofia, then expect to have trouble parking nearby. Also expect to get lost, as there are no road directions in Sofia, except for the street names. Even the Bulgarians get lost here, but many of the locals speak good English, and we usually found our way with a little friendly help.

Room Tip: Check the room pictures on the hotel website to reserve a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John4One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This beautiful hotel is situated in a quiet part of town and approximately 15 minutes walk from the main attractions of Sofia. The staff is like a family, are simple people, who talk with you in a quite natural way and try to help in any way for you feel comfortable and oriented in the city. The rooms are all very finely decorated and you can hardly find something so large and beautiful to stay.
Each suite has a predominant color, and i was in the suite Sredetz whose predominant color is a kind of pale violet red, and it has a beautiful view, with balcony, for a nice courtyard.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

First of all very friendly, helpful staff! Listening your needs and provide the best service.If you are a boutique hotel person this is where you re looking.Clean and well located. Safe and quite district, only 10 minutes to Catedral.It is a good luxury to have an option to have your breakfast to your room with 7-8 different breakfast options you can select :) You can park your car in front of hotel no cost and it is safe. Rooms are decorated nice and definitely comfortible

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yeliz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

I have stayed 3 times at the Residence Obrishte .. a charming boutique hotel, located in the center of Sofia. It is a converted villa, with spacious rooms, traditional furniture, yet modern bathroom. (great showers!). On same street as foreign embassy residences, only 10 minute walk to Nevsky Square. There is a delightful new restaurant adjacent, offering a healthy breakfasts, a modern European menu for dinner, and bar stocked with some outstanding Bulgarian wines. This is "find" in Sofia, more suited for the vacation than business traveler, and at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HDaniel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Recommended both for business and family holidays. We are coming back to this place every time when we stay in Sofia. Excellent, warm-hearted staff that is willing to go "the extra mile". Rooms are large and well decorated in a classical style. Many diplomats are staying in the place. If you prefer a small personal hotel / residence to a large anonymous one, this is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savile_row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1.3 mi away
Les Fleurs Boutique Hotel
10.7 mi away
COOP Hotel Sofia
COOP Hotel Sofia
#38 of 135 in Sofia
19 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Favorit
Hotel Favorit
#13 of 135 in Sofia
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#21 of 135 in Sofia
311 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 135 in Sofia
1,010 reviews
1.5 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Residence

Address: 63 Oborishte Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria (Formerly Residence Oborishte)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Sofia
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $83 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofia Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sofia Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Oborishte Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing