We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad customer service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vitosha Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vitosha Park Hotel
Ranked #71 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

I just came back yesterday so wanted to add this while fresh in my mind.
All the staff at the hotel should be sacked as their lack of enthusiasm and customer service was absolutely pathetic. They were very unfriendly rude and arrogant this can also be extended for majority of Bulgarian's from the taxi drivers to shop assistants and even the hookers we came across. Although they were getting paid for the service but they could not care enough or show any emotion apart from looking grumpy and miserable. One thing I realised was the only way you can get a response or a smile from Bulgarians was to be rude and arrogant as them and eventully they will be willing to speak to you. Apart form the staff the hotel was good, just watch out for the lift door and beware of hidden charges, e.g when you order toast you will get charged more for the butter then both coffee and toast put together. And if you are getting (free) transfer to the hotel from the airport it is not free a taxi only costs 15 leva.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZalamBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    19
    5
    13
See reviews for
14
11
6
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

As most previous reviewers said, the hotel is actually quite good. The double room is reasonably large, with a shower cubicle, LCD TV with channels in many languages, free WiFi, good heating and a small kitchenette (sink, fridge and microwave). Breakfast was good, provided you were not too late. The staff did not seem that friendly, but they really tried to help. The restaurant was adequate, and while I did not check out any other facilities, the underground piano bar seemed quite popular on Saturday night.

The location is good if you have business in the university quarter, and terrible otherwise. To get to the city, the most convenient option is a taxi - taxis are dirt cheap day and night. Alternatively, you can walk 15 minutes to the metro station (opened during 2009), which will take you to the center in 10 minutes. If you want to go to the Vitosha mountain to ski or just walk around, you can take a taxi to the Simeonovo lift (as I said, taxis are cheap) and then take the gondola to Aleko - it's a great 6 km ride. There is a bus stop 5 minutes from the hotel, but you need two buses to reach the center or Simeonovo.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xgeorgeAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

This is a 4 star hotel in Sofia, outside the city center on the student city. So be prepare to enjoy those lovely taxi rides to go out. The hotel itself is quite nice, rooms big, with microwave and small sink area. Bathroom Ok and clean too.
Facilities wise, spa, big swimming pool. There is a fitness room (have to pay to use it). The restaurant will be the one with room for improvement. Breakfast is quite below average, and the dinner menu quite plain.
It has a nice bar on the lower floor.
It is a new hotel and the staff is learning, their customer service orientation hopefully will get better.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The restaurant and the lack of non-smoking areas!!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank majobor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UIK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

I am staying at the Vitosha Park Hotel at the moment, I am one week into a three week business trip.

The hotel was booked for me by my clients and I have only just read the only revue so far. So I thought I would redress the balance.

The Hotel looks very new, so maybe it is not the same alhougth there are several similarities in the other revue.

OK the TVs are small, but I dont consider that a problem, I do appreciate the opportunity of finding quite a few English language channels in addition to BBC World and CNN.

The quality of the double room I am in is excellent, modern furniture, a decent size desk and plenty of cupcoard space. The bathroom is well fitted and can be closed and locked ??? It does not have a bath, but has a good sized shower cubicle.

I have found no problems with the restaurant, the food is very good and good value compared with western Europe, it was nice to be recommended a very good local wine at a good price rather than one of the more expensive imported wines available.

It was very cold when I arrived here but, in fact I had to turn the heating off as it was too warm in the room.

I would agree that the hotel is not best situated at the moment, but a taxi to the centre of Sofia costs between 6 and 10 Lev depending on traffic, or the bus stop is about 250 metres from the hotel.

I would also add the the staff are very friendly and efficient. The internet connection in my room is LAN and not wireless, but cables are available and the connection is a reasonable speed and consistent.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blindjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

I have been in this hotel for several times (don't ask me why). I had there single rooms, double rooms and apartment. I have for you only one tip: AVOID IT! Why? I will try to give you a brief description.....

Location: Sofia, in the middle of nowhere! No restaurants or clubs around. If you want to go to the city you need a taxi.

The hotel:
Single room: has 2 beds, each bed is created for one the the 7 dwarfs. Snow White must take a double room or an apartment. The TV set is smaller than the laptop screen, so better take some books with you or DVDs. The bathroom's door cannot be closed. The same functionality is available for double rooms and apartments. In the bathroom do not expect to see any bathtub, you simply take a shower somewhere in. In the room you have a mini kitchen?!?

Double room: the bed is large enough for a normal person. The TV set is the same size as
the one in the single room. No bathtub, but minikitchen with microwave oven. Who on Earth is supposed to cook in the hotel's room? Something more: for the TV set - you might have a remote control for it (lucky you!), or not (this can be solved if you tip the bellboy to steal one for you from another room). If your luck is really big you may have also batteries in the remote control for the TV.

Apartmets: wach out! There are different types: do not take any apartment that finish with 07. Those are worse that the double rooms. Advantage for the other apartments: normal TV set and bathtub. Of course, the bathroom's door cannot be closed, but you ask too much already.

Heating in the rooms works only when is really cold outside. You can use the air conditioning but you need a training before.

Restaurant: if you are lucky enough you can get your food in 20 minutes if in the restaurant are not more than 6 people. Otherwise, go somewhere in the city.

Bar: OK for beer and spirits. They have coctails also but they look and taste completely different than you expect.

Sports and recreation: the pool is very good, big, clean. Massage also!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mircea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sofia hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hotel Vega Sofia
#33 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Suite Hotel Sofia
#14 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lozenets
Silver House
Silver House
#34 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Hotel Fashion
#73 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitosha Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitosha Park Hotel

Property: Vitosha Park Hotel
Address: ul.Rosario 1, Sofia 1700, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitosha Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vitosha Park Hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood near a park and has easy access to the centre of Sofia and the airport. G.M. Dimitrov Subway Station is a 10-minute walk away. The hotel features a conference centre, 2 restaurants, a lobby bar, a night bar with live music and a modern spa and wellness centre. The swimming pool and gym can be used for free. Refreshments and cocktails are served in the lobby bar. The main restaurant offers Bulgarian, Italian and European cuisine. You can find a pleasant atmosphere and more privacy in the new restaurant Piаmonte. The Winter Palace and Arena Armeec Hall are 1 km away. The Sofia city-centre and its airport are a 5-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Vitosha Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing