We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International middleclass Standard and Price - Friendly - Good Location”
Review of Diter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diter Hotel
Ranked #79 of 132 Hotels in Sofia
Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“International middleclass Standard and Price - Friendly - Good Location”
Reviewed February 15, 2010

wo got a brand new double room with every international middleclass standard you'll find in europe. Modern interor designe in good quality. The location is good. The english speaking stuff is very friendly and very helpful! They helped us with several phone calls to Rumania and in Bulgaria all for free! Thank you very much! The Restaurant in the building just beside serves great local food (even if it is a little to folkloristic styled)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30andtravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
24
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Decent location, although not as central as some. Airport pickup rate (€25) is a joke, as a taxi costs about €7. They are profitting on tourists fear of being ripped-off by a "dodgy" taxi. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was poor, especially as we arrived at exactly 10am. There was hardly any food leftover. The restaurant was decent, with a nice garden area in which to eat. The rooms were just what we required, and were clean & spacious. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Rooms_R_2_Warm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2008

I was for a short stay In Diter hotel due to a Business trip and I Have to say that it has a great price/quality ratio.
the location is central and within walking distance to the main city centre attraction, rooms are clean, comfortable and really good value for money...

  • Liked — Peaceful and centrally located.
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Emiratep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

The staff members are hard-working and very attentive, the rooms are clean and amazingly quiet for a city with huge traffic problems. Not enough is done to make the guests aware of the history of the place -- the building is architecturally undistinguished and its only saving grace -- the cultural associations with the erstwhile owner should be displayed and advertised more prominently. The one negative comment has to do with the designation of Junior Suites as such -- the so called "Suite" is simply a more spacious corner room -- no couch, no additional furniture, rather bare all around. No trouser-press, not even an ironing board, no coffee-making facilities, no second phone -- it is hard to see what distinguishes the "Suite" from a standard room, other than the steeper price.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The street approach is uninviting
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwostarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

I used Hilton points for our first two nights in Sofia. Our workshop group was staying at the Hotel Diter, so we moved there for nights 3 - 10. Owner was hospitable; moved us from the Hilton to Diter without charge in his own car and took us to the airport on our day of departure free of charge. Drove us on a brief tour of the city on the way to Diter. His employees offered all sorts of assistance free of charge; changing money, loaning umbrella, etc.

The free breakfast was astonishing, actually better than at the Hilton Executive Club. Multiple types of items: eggs (scrambled and boiled), ham (broiled, sliced, minced, potted), sausage, new potatoes, tomatoes, milk (cold & hot), juice (orange, peach), many cereals, several fresh fruits, many flavors of yogurt, at least 6 kinds of cheese, olives, croissants and fresh bread of many kinds, too many things to try them all in the 8 days I was there! I read the other review about the poor breakfast; this wasn't my experience at all!!

Our room was warm, comfortable, just great! Those lightweight goosedown comforters you find in the best European hotels are there. Bathrobes and slippers, refrigerator in the room, etc, etc. Best of all, FREE WIRELESS in our room; no problems at all with it the entire time we were there. The shower has a sort of complicated water massage capability, and a page of instructions explains how to use it. I just turned it all off and used it as a plain shower the whole time. There are all sorts of extras in this hotel.

The location was much better than the Hilton. The typically excellent Hilton was obviously more elegant, but it costs 4 or 5 X as much too. Our Diter room was just as comfortable as the Hilton for sleeping. When we checked out, the Diter charged us 10% LESS than the price they quoted on the web. It was just too good to be true! I could go on and on, but you get the idea.

  • Liked — location; free internet; warm, comfortable, huge free breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DrDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2007

Stayed at the hotel for 6 days in August. The place is brand new and has all the amenities that you need. The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves very good food at reasonable prices. Most importantly, the hotel is in downtown Sofia and only a short walk from the tourist attractions (Vitosha blvd shopping, Alexander Nevski cathedral, etc.). Would not hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank llt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joensuu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2007

I must say that the owner is very hospitable. But the hotel leaves much to be desired...

The hotel was noisy and I was woken up at midnight to the sound of furniture being moved above me.

The breakfast is probably the worst I've ever had. They put out VERY small portions of sad looking items, very disappointing for someone who expects a decent breakfast, for which they have the nerve to charge 4 euro for.

The worst part was the service. The woman at the reception was not properly trained and was of no help what so ever. She even gave me the wrong price for the airport transfer, she told me it would be 15 euro, but in the morning it was suddenly 25 euro! Which left me running the streets of Sofia looking for an ATM at 6 am. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katertomater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Hotel Niky
#21 of 132 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Hotel Zenith
#46 of 132 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Otel
#44 of 132 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Hotel Light
#17 of 132 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Poduyane
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#38 of 132 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diter Hotel

Property: Diter Hotel
Address: 65, Han Asparuh Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DITER business hotel is just a few minutes away from government and state institutions, major banks and offices.DITER is the nearest hotel to the European commission and the European Union representative office in Bulgaria. Within walking distance of the National Theatre, the National Palace of Culture and the main shopping street "Vitosha". The Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. The Vitosha Mountain, offering ski and other sports facilities is just 10 km from the hotel. The ideal location makes DITER hotel preferred place for business travelers. Built in the end of 19-th century and now after a complete renovation the building preserves the charm and spirit of the house. Since 1895 it was the residence of Todor G. Vlaykov - Bulgarian writer and politician.The building is a cultural memorial and embodies the charm and spirit of Old Sofia. A special corner dedicated to the memory of Todor G. Vlaykov has been set aside near the reception desk for the benefit of our guests. The name "DITER" holds a special meaning. It is derived from the first letters of the names of the owner` s family. DITER hotel is built on 3 floors. It is equiped with an elevator, free Wi-Fi internet - unlimited use, offers 21 rooms - 7 singles, 6 twins, 6 doubles and 2 suites, 24-hour security and front desk, restaurant with garden, air-conditioned public areas with anti-fire control system and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Diter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diter Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing