We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stormy introduction”
Review of Hotel Niky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Niky
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had just arrived in Sofia in time to be caught in a large thunderstorm. We made the shops two minutes away during a lull in the thunder and got beautifully caught in exceptional rain. Shopping except for umbrellas was out. Despite the pressure on desk staff they coped we'll. We were given our keys quickly and no one said anything a out the trail of mud and water.
We went to the hotel restaurant which because of the storm was full but the staff were able
to accommodate and a few others in a the breakfast room next door. W e found the hotel ple Asante and comfortable for our short stay and the price quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Niky
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 253 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed 4 nights at centrally located Niky hotel. Reception and breakfast staff were OK and polite but gave us the impression that they were a bit reserved. Our room was on the 2nd floor, was medium size with good bed and had a large balcony overlooking their hotel’s garden restaurant. Room & bathroom were daily clean and towels changed. Kettle and selection of teas/coffee were added bonus. When room’s balcony door was closed no noise could be heard from restaurant even though at the time of our stay World Cup was on and they had some 4 large screens TVs showing live football. Breakfast was basic but one could order an omelet. Cable TV in room had more than 100 stations. One night we dined at their garden restaurant, we went for their typical Bulgarian food and which was really good and tasty, we had a 10% discount as guests of their hotel. Waiters at restaurant were very friendly and helpful.
We recommend Niky Hotel for a short stay in Sofia.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cajetanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I visited Hotel Niky in June 2014 for three nights. The hotel was clean and friendly, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sofia, it is good value and walking distance to the shops, coffee bars and bars. A nice stay.

Room Tip: Balcony room, is good but beware of the rails on the balcony did not feel that safe.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 169Woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

A group of us stayed here for about 4 days, end of May. We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The rooms, though not air conditioned, were clean including the bathroom. The staff were really helpful and added that extra touch of assisting us as needed. There is a garden restaurant located on site. Food was delicious. The menu extensive and prices good value. Restaurant staff DID NOT like splitting the bill. It is best to let the wait staff know in advance if you want split bills. Depending on the location of your room, noise can drift up from the restaurant. However, we found it did not disturb us a great deal. This hotel provides complimentary breakfast. You get a good range of food and each morning a lady would prepare fresh omelette as requested by guests. The omelettes were delicious. The hotel is less than a 7 minute minute walk to the main shopping mall area. Fashions galore all at very good prices.

Room Tip: There is one room in this hotel located on the second floor, which has a huge balcony. The room is a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank circlette00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Disappointed as this hotel as it had been a favorite of ours when in Sofia. Arriving late in the evening, I of course wanted to sleep in. No chance. Very noisy.
Also since I slept in I was too late for breakfast so decided to go to the restaurant for a coffee. think it was the worst coffee I had ever had.
Disappointing, as I had enjoyed staying there for the last few years either when my flight was arriving late to Sofia or departing early in the mornings.
However, it is centrally located with being only two blocks away from the main central shopping area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerryanne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

we stayed there for 1 week and found it to be an amazing family owned hotel in the heart of sofia. very friendly people and the garden restaurant offers a large variety of bulgarian and international food. 5 out of 5!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Gabriela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Having never travelled to Eastern Europe, I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised by Hotel Nicky. The rooms had big comfy beds, lots of built in storage, modern bathrooms (though my room had lacked a lip on the floor of the shower, so water got everywhere), and a BONUS tea kettle in the room. The wifi was a bit spotty, breakfast was nothing special, and though the linens on the bed were clean, the underside of the duvet was covered with lots of hair which kind of grossed me out. Still a good value for the location though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
522 reviews
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 133 in Sofia
457 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
964 reviews
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niky

Address: ul.Neofit Rilski 16, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $57 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Niky 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Niky is the first privately owned all-suite hotel in Sofia. In response to the modern requirements for business and pleasure, the hotel offers modern furnishing and comfortable atmosphere, which makes it an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists. In addition we offer a great Bulgarian Garden Restaurant where you can experience our culture and enjoy your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Niky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niky Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing