We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ideally based for a short trip to Sofia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Niky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Niky
Ranked #24 of 127 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Neath, Soth Wales
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Ideally based for a short trip to Sofia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel is located 10 minutes from the centre of Sofia.
The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were basic but clean. The breakfast was decent enough offering a variety of rolls, pastries, fruit and cereals.
The hotel has a very nice beer garden offering a great range of soft and alcoholic beverages as well as traditional meals if required.
Sofia is a city in need of some restoration, however, much has been done to make the visitor comfortable and safe. There are many fabulous buildings and churches to be seen.
Sofia is occupied by many comfortable coffee houses and cafés, a welcome site after a hard days site seeing.
The hotel was well situated to allow us to visit the attractions and various restaurants. One of our favourite evenings was spent at the skyline bar of the Sense Hotel offering fabulous views of this compact and interesting city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth006_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    98
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
74
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

While on a 3 month motorcycle tour of Europe, I visited the Hotel Niky. It is a city center type hotel that is clean, modern and friendly. The sights of Sofia are nearby and easily accessible by Metro. I extended my stay here several times as I enjoyed the place. The staff allowed me to park my motorcycle on the sidewalk in front of the hotel. However, I am not sure where you would park if you were driving a car. Reaching the hotel can be a little complicated with a number of one way streets in the area.

However, once I arrived, the staff was friendly and spoke English. The rates were middle range and reasonable for this location. My room was booked through Hotels.com.

The room included breakfast. The breakfast wasn't anything elaborate, instead it was a simple continental type fare. It was a little disappointing, but still the hotel was a very nice place to stay. Also, I had dinner there which was reasonable, tasty and the atmosphere was nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Location: it's located within a very short walking distance from the bul. Vitosha part of which is a pedestrian street filled with stores and restaurants. The metro is also close by. If you're in the walking mood you can easily walk to the main attractions from the hotel since Sofia is very small.The hotel is in a quiet street right in the middle of the two big avenues so there's not much noise.
Hotel: the hotel is clean. Smallish rooms but not uncomfortable. The bathroom is ok but just a bit uncomfortable because the shower is open and the water gets everywhere. Toiletries, a safe, mini bar, and hair dryer are offered in the room.
The reception staff is very helpful with travelling suggestions. Also, the breakfast served is good.
It was a good choice, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KNDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My stay at hotel niky was much enjoyable. I first moved there alone but after a day my family joined me for further 2 days. I was a bit lazy in making bookings and in spite of booking a room online I kept delaying it till I reached the place. I was lucky enough to have a courteous staff there that not only welcomed me but also made every effort to get me a room of my own choice. After settling myself I started getting worried for my family who had to reach after 20 hours. I called the manager from room and he arranged a perfect room for my family despite full bookings. The complementary stuff starting from breakfast to newspapers to some limited laundry services literally did not let me spend some extra bucks. Honestly, I did not spend much on food items since lunch and dinner was also inexpensive. We as a family recommend you to stay there!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimMerrtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We went to Sofia for 4 days... We have choosen this Hotel because was in the center (very close to the main street). The room was quiet also because the room has a double door so you don't hear anything from outside the door. Big enought and confortable. A bit hard the mattress. The room and toilet was clean and the room cleaning service was nice.
The breakfast was ok... most of all salad thing (that personally I prefer). We have tried the restourant also because we had a discount code of 10%. The food was good (just a bit too much Oliy). The proce was aboslutelly good (we paied about 28 euro for a dinner for 2). The funny thing is that they give you a paper where you can express you vote for the food, service and so on.... but.... waiters...precompile it for you with all goods ;-) So is an Unusefull thing. 8 for the place, 7 1/12 for the food, 6 for waiters. People at reception is kind and explain you everything you need to go around sofia. We suggestyou to ask at receptionist if you think to book a taxi. So you are sure you book a not scame company.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuppy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel has a nice welcoming lobby and reception. They speak English and one of the reception staff was extremely nice and helpful, having lived and trained in the US. My room was large (they had made a mistake and put me in a larger room than I reserved, but didn't charge the difference), but had an unfortunate bad sewer smell coming from the bathroom that the receptionist said was common in several rooms and there was nothing they could do about it, just suggested I put the bath mat over the drain, which I did, along with keeping the fan on and door shut and it made the room more bearable. The room was modern, well outfitted and clean, but the pillows were either hard or lumpy and not comfortable. The computer in the lobby wasn't working the whole three days we were there and they were waiting for a technician to repair it, but there is free wifi everywhere. There is a lift and the hotel is quiet and comfortable. It was a good value in a good location and with a really good inexpensive restaurant that was the highlight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romalaurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over weekend of 18/19/20 October with 5 friends. We checked in on Friday afternoon and the receptionist was very friendly and made us very welcome on our first trip to Bulgaria. First impressions were very good.
The hotel and room was very clean and tidy. The only downside to the room was the intermittent cold and hot water supply in the shower - one second it was too hot, the next second it was too cold.
The hotel is very central and is very close to the major transport links. More importantly, it is also close to the great JJ Murphy's Irish bar. It is also very close to the main shopping area. The breakfast had a very basic choice of cereals, cold meats and hot food but it was sufficient to set you up for the day.
This hotel was perfect for our weekend break and ideally located. It was also great value for money and I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 127 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Hotel Favorit
#16 of 127 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Oborishte
BEST WESTERN Art Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poduyane
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#28 of 127 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Diter Hotel
#85 of 127 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Suite Hotel Sofia
#12 of 127 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niky

Property: Hotel Niky
Address: ul.Neofit Rilski 16, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Niky 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Niky is the first privately owned all-suite hotel in Sofia. In response to the modern requirements for business and pleasure, the hotel offers modern furnishing and comfortable atmosphere, which makes it an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists. In addition we offer a great Bulgarian Garden Restaurant where you can experience our culture and enjoy your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Niky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niky Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing