We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is a little gem. hidden away off the main street”
Review of Hotel Niky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Niky
Ranked #13 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel is a little gem. hidden away off the main street yet within walking distance of the centre.
Rooms very comfortable and clean nice en suite shower room. Bonus, tea and coffee making in room. Free Wi Fi in all rooms. Great breakfast good selection of hot and cold cereals etc. fired eggs cooked to while you wait. This hotel has properly the only garden restaurant in central Sofia, and excellent it is to. Patrons many locals (so must be good) enjoy tables under cover but open roof in centre area where pond and river with terrapins walking, swimming freely. Great ambience. Recommend Free walking tour of Sofia meet outside Cultural building in centre. Ask at reception.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 281 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

Staff at the hotel was not friendly or informed at all. The hotel is not expensive and centrally located, but for this budget there are nicer places in Sofia.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiziger82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We have stayed 2 nights in this hotel and our overall experience was okay. The hotel has good location, there're quite a few nice restaurants in the area (Cru, Pastorant) and it takes less than 30min to get to the airport.

Our room was located on the 4th floor, with window overlooking the restaurant - a bit noisy in the evenings so ask for a quiet room if you're staying there.

The rate includes WiFi which worked and breakfast which was okay, with a designated person to cook eggs whichever way you may like them.

The room looked clean, so was the bathroom. There was a kettle in the room and a mini bar. The English-speaking staff has been very helpful, providing us with additional info about the city and ordering taxis.
I'd say there's nothing special about this place, but as we were going to the sea side and didn't want to spend too much money in Sofial, Niky hotel provided a good value for its price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connected2space
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed with my wife in Sofia 4 nights 9.-13. June 2011. Our accommodation was in hotel Niky, in a spacious suite-like double in the fifth floor. Niky is only 200 m. from the Vitosha boulevard (now totally pedestrianed). The women in reception speak excellent english. So, I really can recommend this hotel.

I think the most useful tip I can give is about the public bus connection to Rila Monastery. There is every day a direct bus from Opecha Kupel bus station to monastery at 10.20 am. The return bus to Sofia leaves monastery at 3 pm. So you have about 2 hours to explore the monastery complex. For us it was enough, we even had time to explore the museum of the monastery.

Thank piispa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Great staff here, very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a good location and is clean and pretty functional.
A few odds and ends worth considering though, our top floor room was pretty hot throughout our stay with the air con making no real difference. I think this could be really uncomfortable in the summer months. Our bathroom, while clean and modern did have a musty smell which might come from poor ventilation. A little off-putting that.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcm_uk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

A pleasant hotel in the centre of Sofia. The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. The service was good, as was breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyFriendsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Niky for two nights on our first visit to Sofia. The room was clean and well fitted including flat screen TV, kettle, comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom. The staff are friendly, helpful and mostly fluent in English -- useful if your grasp of Bulgarian is as poor as mine ;-) The Hotel also has a restaurant located in large conservatory / garden to the rear which serves a wide range of tasty dishes.

The location is perfect for a city break, just a few minutes walk from the main shopping street, bul. Vistosha, and NDK park. Most of the other tourist attractions are also within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex78r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
649 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 135 in Sofia
739 reviews
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 135 in Sofia
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 135 in Sofia
503 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niky

Address: ul.Neofit Rilski 16, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $57 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Niky 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Niky is the first privately owned all-suite hotel in Sofia. In response to the modern requirements for business and pleasure, the hotel offers modern furnishing and comfortable atmosphere, which makes it an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists. In addition we offer a great Bulgarian Garden Restaurant where you can experience our culture and enjoy your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Niky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niky Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing