We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Art Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Art Hostel
Ranked #10 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

It is very popular place. The hostel has cool design. You can meet a lot of interesting people in the hostel. And good location in the center of Sofia. Negative: i visited this hostel in the spring and in the room was cold at night.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Елена А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    59
    14
    12
    19
See reviews for
3
29
75
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I'm so surprised to see so many bad reviews of Art Hostel- I can't recommend it highly enough! Maybe people don't realise that they are staying in a hostel! We found the place friendly, beautiful, welcoming, clean and a cool setting from which to enjoy Sofia. It has a great bar with a beautiful little courtyard, but it was quiet in out room. We stayed in dorm, which had a shared bathroom, but there was more than enough space for everyone inside and it was clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic dorm, 8 beds if I remember correctly and didn't get a chance to see the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike777
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hostel for 5 nights.
It was a great stay, and a wonderful hostel to discover, which I'll keep in my tablets for my future trips to Sofia.
Breakfast was lovely, and the garden is really enjoyable, with a drink from the bar downstairs, which is very lively and busy.
I don't understand some of the comments posted here: I genuinely had a great stay, and all the staff were very friendly, chatty and helpful.
A place to recommend !

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mikem777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnemede, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The staff was friendly. The hostel was nice. The bar was cool. The location was in a short walking distance to many of the tourist attractions. It certainly is not a bad place to stay, but I didn't find it to be anything special.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank nciervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

it"s location is great, very close to everyvhere and people are very polite, decorations is very cute and the bar downstairs is really nice. i also love their music style, if you come to sofia you sould drink a beer in the bar at least

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I just stayed here for one night because I took a flight the next day. It was a really good experience.

The Staff was really nice and calm and gave us nice tips. The garden was wonderful and the people who stayed there also.

The evening in the bar chatting with the other guests and the breakfast in the morning. I really liked the place.

We took a double room and the beds were really comfy and I enjoyed the balcony where I could see the garden.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thywen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

As with all things, I cannot claim to speak for all people or all experiences. Mine was this. I came to art hostel on one passing mention from one passing acquaintance in Thessaloniki, Greece. I was taking a leap of faith and had little in the way of expectations for either the hostel or the city. I was supposed to leave the next day in fact, on my way to the other balkan countries. In the end, I stayed four other nights, checking out every morning and checking back in every night once I realized I couldn't leave just yet. I fell in love with the place and the people I met at Art Hostel.

Generally, it's hard not to meet people there...if you leave your room and especially if you go to the bar or garden at any point...there are always locals and other travelers around. That's the coolest thing about Art Hostel: it's unique vibe, it's social, yet chill atmosphere, the fact that it's just as much for visitors as for the locals. You're immediately integrated into the local life and culture, if you are open to it. Not to mention the friendly and approachable staff, who you'll no doubt meet and hang with from time to time in the garden and bar as well. The rooms were a great size (much bigger than I had experienced in other hostels, especially the more modern ones in Western Europe. The beds were comfortable and sturdy, the bathrooms and kitchens just enough.

If you are looking for a perfect, modern, all-amenities included, top-of-the-line, corporate hostel-hotel, this isn't for you. It's situated in a lovely, old building, that has a ton of character, and has been refurbished by its own staff. In a way there is a balance between staff care and guest care for the space. And the garden is amazing...my favorite part of the place by far...amazing murals and covered seating area, lots of beautiful plants and greenery, all also lovingly cared for by staff.

I had no issues with cleanliness. Nor with the breakfast - typical hostel fare, with a few nice extras, like the Bulgarian cheese. If you're a gastronome with a refined palate (like moi), no worries there are some great cafe-bakeries in walking distance(I.e The Sun-Moon bakery :) and you can easily supplement with foods you find during your wanderings.

One other warning, having grown up in middle-class America, if you bring demands or expectations of typical American standards of service, conveniences and comforts, you could find yourself feeling like a fish out of water here. They will take care of you at Art Hostel, but you must also take care of yourself. Best to come with an open mind and be flexible.

P.S. Location is great. Very central. Near some nice neighborhoods as well.

Room Tip: I slept first in a single private, then for four nights in a six-bed, mixed dorm. Both were incredib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittybee210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#7 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#6 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hostel

Property: Art Hostel
Address: ul.Angel Kanchev 21/A, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Art Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the Art-Hostel for the unique experience that we create, now for more than 11 years, offering art events to travellers from all over the world.We are people who like to mingle with others, so if you like to share your beer with locals, then we're the right place for you.The Art-Hostel is situated in the very heart of the city and offers dorms and private rooms, all with breakfast; social bar-gallery space and the best hidden inner yard you can find in Sofia. Wi-Fi everywhere.What the “Guardian” says for us is: “Explore and enjoy a Parisian mentality and a Russian thirst for liquor in the centre of Sofia. Probably the best hostel in Europe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Art Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing