We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually we spend our time in the garden”
Review of Art Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Art Hostel
Ranked #18 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Art-Hostel has the best atmosphere i ever seen in hostels all over the Europe. I went there by mistake, but from the first moment i took a step there, i knew that my 1 night stay was to be more, in fact i stayed 8 nights just because i couldn't leave there. The staff were the best and coolest ever. The garden is amazing, you wont believe how much time you will spend there. The price is cheap so that you can stay longer and longer. :) The rooms and common bathroom is not extremely clean but acceptable. And it stands in a good location.
Most important tip: spend a day in the garden and you wont be able to leave.

p.s. thanks a lot for everything you did, Nik.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezgi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 216 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked this hostel for a few days with about 20 close friends, and after paying there was a series of unfortunate events resulting in us having to ask for the money back and visit another country, on the website it states that you can cancel a booking up to 48 hours before. We cancelled the booking 6 weeks in advance and after not receiving the money after multiple emails I wrote a review on here, the hostel stated that if I took down the review we would receive the money back. I retracted the review and we are still waiting for a significant amount of money! The Art Hostel state that we cannot have the money back as they have already spent it. If this is the case then it must be a terribly run hostel. I will go out of my way to recommend that others don't visit this hostel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1ana1smith1, Manager at Art Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

I am one of the owners of the Art Hostel and want to ask you to remove this review, as this refund was refunded completely on 18.06.2013 and the review is not relevant anymore. I can send you bank transfer documents if needed.
Thank you,
Rayna Moneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Rugby team booked the hostel for 3 nights, paid up front but due to unforeseeable circumstances had to cancel. Plenty of notice given, but hostel has ignored the refund policy and avoided refunding us a penny for over a month now. Beware!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank C4Hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1ana1smith1, Manager at Art Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

I am one of the owners of the Art Hostel and want to ask you to remove this review, as this refund was refunded completely on 18.06.2013 and the review is not relevant anymore. I can send you bank transfer documents if needed.
Thank you,
Rayna Moneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for two nights and I relly enjoyed it. I came with friends for the weekend to see sofia and it turned out the hostel was a perfect starting place for that. The atmosphere in the hostel along with the really friendly staff made it feel like sharing a flat. It therefore seemed to be a good place for backpackers or people who also want to get to know other guests.

Along with the roms, there goes free breakfast, a free to use kitchen and a great bar/common room downstairs. Also the location is very central and the city center with bars/restaurants can be reached easily by foot.

Overall, I would definately recommend saying here.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
6  Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

An amazing staff, great people, and Art Hostel has the best bar/pub in Sofia. A perfect place to have a nice chat, a couple of beers when you'r listening some really cool live music. A place to visit more than once.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank danielbacchieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

One of the best hostel I ever stay. The atmosphere is great and the place very artistic. Staff is very friendly and helpful and definetely is a place to meet travelers arround the world. The pub into the hostel it is great for some drinks, especially if there are live concert of bands. Our room was comfy and cute-but a bit cold. Definetely a place I will visit again!

Room Tip: there is another building near to the hostel, that they use it as hostel too. Asked a room there as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in a singke room around new year. On one hand : great location close to the city center, clean and large room, nice atmosphere and very helpfull staff. On the other hand : the breakast is extremely basic and room can be really cold in winter (even with their old electric heater).

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Steph_Paris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
974 reviews
Hotel Niky
#17 of 133 in Sofia
257 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
545 reviews
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hostel

Address: ul.Angel Kanchev 21/A, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Price Range: $14 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the Art-Hostel for the unique experience that we create, now for more than 11 years, offering art events to travellers from all over the world.We are people who like to mingle with others, so if you like to share your beer with locals, then we're the right place for you.The Art-Hostel is situated in the very heart of the city and offers dorms and private rooms, all with breakfast; social bar-gallery space and the best hidden inner yard you can find in Sofia. Wi-Fi everywhere.What the “Guardian” says for us is: “Explore and enjoy a Parisian mentality and a Russian thirst for liquor in the centre of Sofia. Probably the best hostel in Europe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Art Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing