We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Hostel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$111
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Sofia(Sofia)
$125
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Lion(Sofia)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Hotel(Sofia)(Great Value!)
$47
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$47
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
101
64
18
17
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
64
18
17
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar downstairscool bardorm roomfree breakfastplace to stayminutes walkingstayed for nightsshort staybasementhippiecitydiscomidnighteurope
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 223 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

After deciding that I would visit the surprisingly lovely city of Sofia, I knew I had to find a place that would match my budget - that of a traveling student who prides himself with his deal hunting abilities.

Art-Hotel was recommended to me by word of mouth, a friend having a friend who had stayed there. I immediately checked it out and loved the bohemian feel the pictures gave out. No two rooms were the same, and in no way could you shake the feeling that you were visiting an art expo, until you went to sleep.

The staff was great, all good English speakers clearly excited and committed to their project. They made sure that everyone felt right at home both in the hostel and outside in their garden - the place to be for socializing and sharing thoughts with fellow travelers. There is also a bar downstairs, where gigs are sometimes played and drinks are at your disposal.

The prices are so good you start to wonder if they're for real. In no way should you expect 5 star service or near it, but by all means expect comfort, as they do offer it. The furniture is bare minimum (and it handles that excellently), but the beds are very comfy. Hot water is always there, as is the WiFi internet. Breakfast is included, but I can't speak about the food, as I left early every morning and did not have time to enjoy it.

If there is one thing I could suggest improvement to is the cleanliness. The rooms are not visibly dirty, but for those of you having issues with thick dust, crumbs between mattresses and whatnot that maybe unpleasant. Nothing to put you off completely though.

Overall a great experience, I will surely book there again even after staying in more pretentious spots in Sofia.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihnea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I was looking for something unusual that would stay in my memory! And Art Hostel is totally of that kind. Here you can find graffities on the walls, old-style furniture, lot of interesting people! Bar is amazing! The guy in the bar plays video from YouTube=)) I was very glad to spend a night here and the atmosphere was great, thanks to all the staff!
P.S. The place was also clean, silent at night, and you can find computers, Wi-Fi, free breakfast and a free shot in the bar at night ;))

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrei_Klimchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times. The atmosphere is very laid back and the staff very friendly and helpful. English is the common language in the hostel and all the staff are fluent. The place is a huge run-down building, with various size rooms. The plumbing works and the showers are good. It attracts a young crowd and it is a hang out place for bohemian type Bulgarian's. The garden and bar can get crowded and the socialising goes on in to the early hours of the morning. The location of the Art Hostel is great. It's in a narrow street in middle of town and the area has a shabby chic feel. There a some great restaurants within a stones throw, plus little shops, market stalls and a main shopping street is very close by (look out for the holes in the pavements). Breakfast is a help yourself affair of bread, spreads,jams and cereals. If you don't fancy that you can get coffee and cakes in one the cafes, down the road.

The only issue with the last visit was: Four of us had booked and paid for a room for our exclusive use. On arriving back from a good evening out however, we found that a kind hearted and tipsy member of staff had put someone else in with us. Our complaint resulted in profuse apologies, a refund and some free drinks, as I said the staff are laid back but perhaps not always quite on the ball.

If you want a relatively cheap bed for the night in a cool part of Sofia, a 60s / 70 arty squat type environment and don't mind a bit of shabbiness and noise at night (earplugs are useful) you'll be happy here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here one night when Hostel Mostel was full. This is a nice place although I recommend Hostel Mostel as it is much cleaner and the staff is more organized and the free breakfast is better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Needed a place to crash out after a frantic weekend in Dupnitsa. And Art-Hostel failed! ...just so much going on - great people, amazing live music, refreshing beers and really helpful staff. So close to the sights of Sofia too, with a daily 'walking tour' starting out every day at the nearby Palace of Justice. Perfect then...and it gets better when you get the bill, just about the cheapest place I've ever stayed, in numerous trawls round Europe. But Cheap and Nice!

Room Tip: Decide how much you want to spend - dormitaries are very cheap, but you might not like the company. Or you can get lucky, I got a dorm all to myself!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews