We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not 5*”
Review of Hotel Anel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Anel
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good but not 5*”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile



Plus
Free unlimited Internet in all areas including rooms
Dressing gown
Spa centre free to guests (18m pool, steam room, jacuzzi). In a strange anachronism you have to wear a swim cap to use the pool so don't forget to pack it or buy it at the spa centre reception....
Standard room was pleasant, the artwork was refreshing and unintrusive.
All staff where friendly, tried hard to speak English (receptionists spoke good English)
Location - very close to the metro and only a few blocks from downtown. The nearby shopping centre is also handy.
Good selection of toiletries in the bathroom
Good jet of hot water

Minus
No slippers (had to borrow them from the spa centre)
Decor. Not distinctly horrible, but definitely from a different aesthetic background than Western Europe and representative of the 90s.
The tv wasn't exactly hi-tech (old style CRT box rather than flat screen), but there are more channels than you could possibly flick through in an evening.
Other reviewers mention the breakfast being outstanding. I have to disagree in fact I would say it is sub-standard for a 5* hotel. I could reel off a list of 4* and 5* hotels with significantly better breakfasts. The filter coffee was pretty horrible (but the espresso I ordered was ok). The fairly meagre hot buffet was average (but good bacon) and the cold spread was also average. No condiments (not even salt and pepper) on the tables or even on the buffet bar. The croissants weren't bad, but the other pastries were below par. The service was the weakest i found in Sofia. Those who like cereals and fruit for breakfast, however, will be satisfied.
No complimentary tea and coffee in the rooms, no complimentary water either, although neither of these things are standard anywhere.
Simple MS Word notices forbidding this and ordaining that stuck up around the hotel don't enhance the 5* experience....


Restaurant
I had a light dinner there the first evening. While, again, the decor is a bit debatable I found the experience pleasant. The pianist played quite tastefully, the Caesar salad was tasty (excellent bacon, the lettuce could have been a bit fresher), the half-bottle of Chilean Sauvignon was fine (shame the local white had run out) and the waiters tried hard despite limited English. Price-wise the prices are more than reasonable for a 5* hotel.

Overall, while I seem to have more reservations than positives I am giving this hotel a 4 star rating. It was comfortable, offered a secure and dignified environment (if somewhat out-dated) and the staff were pleasant. At 80€/night (our corporate rate) I couldn't expect more. However, I have to say that the 5* the hotel proudly displays at every opportunity are exaggerated. 4* would be a more realistic representation.
If I returned to Sofia then I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank czenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    177
    37
    8
    8
See reviews for
57
181
30
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am doing a lot of business in Bulgaria and Sofia is practically central place for meetings. Every time I have to spend night in Sofia, I need to find a hotel, so I tried many of them there. Last two times I took the room in Anel and I am really satisfied and will not change in close future anymore. Perfect place, in downtown, comfortable, large rooms and beds, pool (need to buy a cap) and wellness for relaxing after trip or hard meetings, parking place in front of hotel with guard and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: take extra large bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinisa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I´ve spent several days in the Hotel during a project in Sofia. The Hotel is located close to the city centre and which means that everything is within walking distance.

The big pluses of the hotel are definitely the excellent breakfast. Don´t come if you are on a diet. Or use the outstanding pool, spa and sports area.

Staff is friendly and competent.

There are several room sizes available, with the most luxury one located on the 5th floor.

The restaurant offers excellent food.

Overall, a very good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back side, as the rooms located to the front can be a bit noisy (although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerote1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First visit to Sofia so I cant compare this hotel to other establishments in the city but for my brief stay it was perfectly acceptable.
Good bits:
Room was big and had separate sofa TV area as well as a balcony.
It was clean.
No road noise.
Pool and gym.
Breakfast with good variety.
Friendly Service
Central location - 5 to 10 mins from shops and centre.
good wifi and desk so suitable for working.

Bad Bits:
Room smelt of cigarette smoke. Not sure if this was a non smoking room but stale fag smell was evident.
It is not a 5* hotel by any means - but then it does not have a 5* price tag either. I only paid 99Euros.
Very plain room design with poor lighting.
Room too hot, and aircon too noisy.


All in all more positives than negatives and for an overnight stay was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feedthemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed one night as a stopover on our way to Varna, so wanted somewhere reasonably central. No problem getting a taxi from the airport (tip - go to the OK Supertrans desk in arrivals rather that accepting assistance from one of the touts). We had only boked a double room, but the one they gave us was enormous - more a suite or small apartment with separate living room and bedroom, and the largest double bed you have ever seen!!! The hotel is a bit quirky - you would be forgiven for thinking you had booked in to an art gallery - lots of paintings and sculptures everywhere. The room was clean and tidy, decor a bit dull (lots of dark wood) but that probably spells luxury in Bulgarian eyes. Unusual swimming pool - long and narrow so more suited to serions swimming, also a sauna. In the evening we ate in the hotel restaurant - good food and excellent value, they must expect a lot of business guests as they has a good selection of half bottles of wine. Breakfast was very good too.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Sofia, although its worth diverting through some of the side streets to see the large open market.

As aur flight was early evening we needed to stay after the normal check out time but they were happy for us to keep our room for a couple more hours. We used their car to take us back to the airport - about twice the cost of a taxi but convenient and at least all the luggage fitted into the boot.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibble143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We booked the hotel without knowing anything about it.We arrived very late at night- about midnight- and we were happily suprised with the room. A spacious room was given to us, very clean and with all the amentities we could have asked for! The room service was excellent and the prices low.The room was on the fifth floor- 502- but the next morning we asked to be transfer to another because above our heads were the central external parts of the air conditioning system, so it was really noisy!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We were given another room on the 4-th floor and I have no words to describe how it looked! It was just amazing! It was huuuuge with an enormous king size bed with seperate living room and with jacuzzi in the bathroom! The... aparment was so clean that I felt like home! My kids loved it!
The swimming pool was lovely and the spa area a really nice place to be.
The hotel was full of paintings- the breakfast room was unique, looked like an art gallery! There was a great variety of dishes during breakfast. All people there were fantastic and very children friendly!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had a problem with our car and they helped us so quickly....Thank u Thank u Thank u for the wonderful time we've had and I hope that one day we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kainaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blonay, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Anel for 3 nights on a business trip. I found the rooms very clean and spacious; there were several chairs and tables for laptops, reading material etc. I slept very well in the comfortable beds. The room was absolutely quiet, no noise at all from traffic, showers etc. Wireless internet connection worked well in the room as well as everywhere else in the hotel. I used the fitness area which is a bit small, offering e.g. only one running belt, one bike etc. On the other side I liked a lot the sauna and the swimming pool. It is easy walking to the center of Sofia (about 1km), so I found the location quite convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
1,243 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
447 reviews
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 133 in Sofia
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sense Hotel Sofia
#7 of 133 in Sofia
685 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anel

Property: Hotel Anel
Address: 14 Todor Aleksandrov Blvd., Sofia 1303, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Serdica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#1 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#5 Business Hotel in Sofia
#12 Family Hotel in Sofia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Anel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Centrally located in midtown Sofia, Hotel Anel offers easy access to business, government and banking institutions as we as exclusive shopping areas, tourist attractions and the lively nightlife for both business entertainment and personal downtime. With it unrivalled proximity to the heart of Sofia and less time to commute guests can enjoy longer meetings with clients and business partners or just explore in depth the sites of the city without the hustle of time. CONFERENCE FACILITIES With 6 meeting and conference rooms and 3 additional venues including a The Roof Top Terrace, The M Bar and Restaurant Anel, Hotel Anel offers some of the best and most innovative facilities for any event in the Bulgarian capital. With more than 700 square meters (7500 square feet) of meeting and event space guests are provided with one of the premiere settings for conferences, seminars, annual meetings, board meetings, product launches, discreet business lunches, gala dinners, cocktail receptions, weddings and social occasions. RESTAURANT ANEL Savour fabulous cuisine prepared by our dedicated and professional chefs who are inspired by fresh and healthy ingredients to bring a truly extraordinary and delicious meal. The carefully selected wines to accompany the dinning experience will capture the guests' imagination. The soft brown interior with oil paintings from classical Bulgarian artist creates for the perfect ambience and style, which are further underlined by the floor to ceiling windows giving a quiet view of the surrounding city. Every night form 20.00H - 22.00H the restaurant features live music from our in house pianist.Capacity: 115 seats (with roof garden) Cocktail capacity: 140 peopleOpening hours: 12.00H - 23.00H THE M BAR Tucked away right above the Reception Desk and overlooking the hustle and bustle of the street below M Bar is the quintessential meeting place for morning coffees, light and delicious lunches or dinners, healthy refreshments, alluring cocktails and other swanky beverages. PALMS SPORT The Sport center houses a picturesque 18-meter heated swimming pool with a Venetian bridge cutting across it, a 3 person Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, infra-red sauna, 2 rooms for body treatments and a fitness center with Italian Technogym cardiovascular and muscle-building equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Anel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anel Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing