We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Anel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Anel
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Homburg
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I´ve spent several days in the Hotel during a project in Sofia. The Hotel is located close to the city centre and which means that everything is within walking distance.

The big pluses of the hotel are definitely the excellent breakfast. Don´t come if you are on a diet. Or use the outstanding pool, spa and sports area.

Staff is friendly and competent.

There are several room sizes available, with the most luxury one located on the 5th floor.

The restaurant offers excellent food.

Overall, a very good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back side, as the rooms located to the front can be a bit noisy (although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerote1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    184
    38
    8
    8
See reviews for
59
185
31
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First visit to Sofia so I cant compare this hotel to other establishments in the city but for my brief stay it was perfectly acceptable.
Good bits:
Room was big and had separate sofa TV area as well as a balcony.
It was clean.
No road noise.
Pool and gym.
Breakfast with good variety.
Friendly Service
Central location - 5 to 10 mins from shops and centre.
good wifi and desk so suitable for working.

Bad Bits:
Room smelt of cigarette smoke. Not sure if this was a non smoking room but stale fag smell was evident.
It is not a 5* hotel by any means - but then it does not have a 5* price tag either. I only paid 99Euros.
Very plain room design with poor lighting.
Room too hot, and aircon too noisy.


All in all more positives than negatives and for an overnight stay was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feedthemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed one night as a stopover on our way to Varna, so wanted somewhere reasonably central. No problem getting a taxi from the airport (tip - go to the OK Supertrans desk in arrivals rather that accepting assistance from one of the touts). We had only boked a double room, but the one they gave us was enormous - more a suite or small apartment with separate living room and bedroom, and the largest double bed you have ever seen!!! The hotel is a bit quirky - you would be forgiven for thinking you had booked in to an art gallery - lots of paintings and sculptures everywhere. The room was clean and tidy, decor a bit dull (lots of dark wood) but that probably spells luxury in Bulgarian eyes. Unusual swimming pool - long and narrow so more suited to serions swimming, also a sauna. In the evening we ate in the hotel restaurant - good food and excellent value, they must expect a lot of business guests as they has a good selection of half bottles of wine. Breakfast was very good too.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Sofia, although its worth diverting through some of the side streets to see the large open market.

As aur flight was early evening we needed to stay after the normal check out time but they were happy for us to keep our room for a couple more hours. We used their car to take us back to the airport - about twice the cost of a taxi but convenient and at least all the luggage fitted into the boot.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibble143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We booked the hotel without knowing anything about it.We arrived very late at night- about midnight- and we were happily suprised with the room. A spacious room was given to us, very clean and with all the amentities we could have asked for! The room service was excellent and the prices low.The room was on the fifth floor- 502- but the next morning we asked to be transfer to another because above our heads were the central external parts of the air conditioning system, so it was really noisy!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We were given another room on the 4-th floor and I have no words to describe how it looked! It was just amazing! It was huuuuge with an enormous king size bed with seperate living room and with jacuzzi in the bathroom! The... aparment was so clean that I felt like home! My kids loved it!
The swimming pool was lovely and the spa area a really nice place to be.
The hotel was full of paintings- the breakfast room was unique, looked like an art gallery! There was a great variety of dishes during breakfast. All people there were fantastic and very children friendly!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had a problem with our car and they helped us so quickly....Thank u Thank u Thank u for the wonderful time we've had and I hope that one day we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kainaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blonay, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Anel for 3 nights on a business trip. I found the rooms very clean and spacious; there were several chairs and tables for laptops, reading material etc. I slept very well in the comfortable beds. The room was absolutely quiet, no noise at all from traffic, showers etc. Wireless internet connection worked well in the room as well as everywhere else in the hotel. I used the fitness area which is a bit small, offering e.g. only one running belt, one bike etc. On the other side I liked a lot the sauna and the swimming pool. It is easy walking to the center of Sofia (about 1km), so I found the location quite convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

the hotel has nice clean rooms with a lot of space. i had a suite on the 5th floor that was just huge with a "TV room" and seperate bedroom.

the TVs were small

clean bathrooms...no problems.

there is a resturant on the 5th floor with good service.

the hotel is 2 blocks walk from the main "downtown" area in sofia. and like another 2 blocks aways from the main attraction Alex Cathedral.

taxi takes about 20 mins from the airport and was about $20 in local currency.

make sure to take the "OK" taxi since they have meters.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Anel hotel for a shortwhile, arriving in the afternoon of the last day in Bulgaria, we slept there overnight and next day left for the airport.
We were all impressed by the nice and roomy rooms, full of different gadgets and we went to dinner in the hotel's restaurant, as it was highly recommended and were too tired to go and look for a restaurant elsewhere. The food was good, plates were not so full but somehow we ate and enjoyed the food, only one thing marred the experience - the servers who attended our table (and we were alone there then) smelt of sweat and every time they approached us we had to avert our faces. Made a remark to one of the guys that was serving and who was OK in this direction - he apologized and said that he has made same remarks but to no avail. Pity.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyLeon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
465 reviews
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
1,269 reviews
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 133 in Sofia
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
888 reviews
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anel

Property: Hotel Anel
Address: 14 Todor Aleksandrov Blvd., Sofia 1303, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Serdica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#1 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#5 Business Hotel in Sofia
#12 Family Hotel in Sofia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Anel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Centrally located in midtown Sofia, Hotel Anel offers easy access to business, government and banking institutions as we as exclusive shopping areas, tourist attractions and the lively nightlife for both business entertainment and personal downtime. With it unrivalled proximity to the heart of Sofia and less time to commute guests can enjoy longer meetings with clients and business partners or just explore in depth the sites of the city without the hustle of time. CONFERENCE FACILITIES With 6 meeting and conference rooms and 3 additional venues including a The Roof Top Terrace, The M Bar and Restaurant Anel, Hotel Anel offers some of the best and most innovative facilities for any event in the Bulgarian capital. With more than 700 square meters (7500 square feet) of meeting and event space guests are provided with one of the premiere settings for conferences, seminars, annual meetings, board meetings, product launches, discreet business lunches, gala dinners, cocktail receptions, weddings and social occasions. RESTAURANT ANEL Savour fabulous cuisine prepared by our dedicated and professional chefs who are inspired by fresh and healthy ingredients to bring a truly extraordinary and delicious meal. The carefully selected wines to accompany the dinning experience will capture the guests' imagination. The soft brown interior with oil paintings from classical Bulgarian artist creates for the perfect ambience and style, which are further underlined by the floor to ceiling windows giving a quiet view of the surrounding city. Every night form 20.00H - 22.00H the restaurant features live music from our in house pianist.Capacity: 115 seats (with roof garden) Cocktail capacity: 140 peopleOpening hours: 12.00H - 23.00H THE M BAR Tucked away right above the Reception Desk and overlooking the hustle and bustle of the street below M Bar is the quintessential meeting place for morning coffees, light and delicious lunches or dinners, healthy refreshments, alluring cocktails and other swanky beverages. PALMS SPORT The Sport center houses a picturesque 18-meter heated swimming pool with a Venetian bridge cutting across it, a 3 person Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, infra-red sauna, 2 rooms for body treatments and a fitness center with Italian Technogym cardiovascular and muscle-building equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Anel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anel Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing