We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Festa Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Festa Sofia
Ranked #32 of 131 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overall satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed 3 nights in Festa hotel, during my visit to Sofia. The place is clean and the people very kind. As far as I remember, there was a free internet connection.
One drawback. I tried the food in the hotel. Average quality, and rather expensive for the bulgarian standards. It was disapointed that the whole menu was western style. Nothing bulgarian.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    55
    27
    10
    1
See reviews for
11
16
9
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Most unhelpful team of staff soured the stay - not a patch on the Greenville where I have previously stayed

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeOgilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

My wife, myself and our 2 year old chihuahua picked this hotel as a stop-over coming from a very nice vacation spot near Volos in Greece and going to our temporary "home" in Bucharest.
Philippa (my Mio GPS) gave me some work to drive in Sofia, but, this hotel stay pays back the trouble.

Reception people very friendly. Everything was very easy and very quick.
Still in vacation my time next week is booked by the time driving to Germany to pick the bike I bought a month ago, so, I choose the safest way. Underground parking for x-tra €5.
A valet offered the services, but I prefer doing it myself. No problem.
Room very very quiet, clean.

Restaurant, top of the line.
I had Festa salade, coming with salmon very interesting folded, dreasing and extra lemon. Everything fresh. My wife had a tasty chicken soup.
Main course, and this was a killer, a peper stake. We have switched the french fries with mashed potatos, medium. The beef melts, great taste. Sorry about the wine, we picked beer (thirsty from the road, I know, I know, next time I promised).
At the end we have had creme brulle.
I gues they prepare this somewhere near heaven.
Sorry, I cannot express what I felt. Usually my wife is not into the sweets, so I prayed to the sky to let me finish hers. She had no mercy!!!
I tell you, if anytime thru Sofia, this is a very affordable hotel, friendly people, and do not miss restaurant.
Emil was our waiter. He made me feel like a king. Even he tought me how to add half inch of foam to the beer..
Enjoy...
I am so exciting that cannot even wait to finish my stay here, LLLOL, few hours ago we arrived, tomorrow morning we will hit the road, aint this something?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsunnami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Nice hotel and rooms, abit outside the city center.

They offer parking for about 5-10 euro per night.

It is recommended that you move by TAXI in the city center since it is affordable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebil1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Festa is one of the cheaper 4-star hotels in Sofia. It's not so far from the center, in a quiet, but quite well-connected area. They have 2 conference halls (15 people and 200 people capacity), two restaurants and many rooms. Prices are very good. Service is quite low - although there are no smoking signs around the hotel, you could see staff smoking freely. They are not the most friendly or fastest in adressing issues. Food is OK, but it comes quite slowly.

It's worth the price, but the price's not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vfachev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

i would recommend this hotel and go back to it again. No problems. The room was updated and modern. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keropie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from the 9th-11th March 07 last. This was a short business trip for us. A colleague booked the hotel for us, and we were very pleased to find such a nice hotel. The Barcelo Festa Hotel is a newly built hotel, about 10 minute taxi ride from the centre of Sofia. There is not much to do around the hotel itself ie.. like many other buildings all along this road, it is mainly business and apartment blocks.
But taxis are so cheap into the city centre , it doesn't really matter. The hotel is beautiful , with lovely rooms, and marble bathrooms. It was extremely quiet over the weekend stay we had, we only saw a few guests there. It is a strictly business week day hotel we were told. This was great for us, very quiet and no delay in service etc... Food is cheap here, and quite good, although I recommend eating in some of the lovely restaurants in the city, in particular,Restaurant Uno near the Opera house, an italian eatery which served gorgeous italian food, just don't be in any hurry, it is a place to sit down and relax for the night while dining.

If you have to visit Sofia, I definitely recommend the Barcelo Festa Hotel, all staff were very well trained and spoke excellent english and could not be more helpful. The hotel is very reasonable , prices around 120-130 euros a night per room inclusive of breakfast for two, which comprised of the bulgarian version of an english fry up, lovely hot croissants of various types, toast ,rolls etc....juice & coffee, plenty to eat and cooked fresh. This is a very good four star standard at least in my opinion and there is a leisure spa etc... which I did not get to try out this time.A very good hotel to stay in if you are visiting Sofia.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank JellyKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Suite Hotel Sofia
#11 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Lozenets
Silver House
Silver House
#36 of 131 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hill Hotel
#59 of 131 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Festa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Festa Sofia

Property: Hotel Festa Sofia
Address: bul.Bulgaria 1404, Sofia 1404, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 131 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Festa Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel is located in one of the most quickly developing area of Sofia. The hotel's perfect location offers quick access to both the city downtown and some of the most famous landmarks in Sofia: the National History Museum and the Boyana Church founded 1259, part of the UNESCO World Heritage List and the National Park Vitosha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Festa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing