We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic 5* Hotel at 4* prices”
Review of Holiday Inn Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sofia
Ranked #21 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here on a business trip and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Location is great for the new business park.
All the staff are friendly, polite and attentive. The Hotel is nice and clean and the rooms are a decent size too.
Nice bar area and fantastic food at very reasonable prices.
You can eat and drink out on to the terrace too and just watch the world go by.
Didn't have time to do the spa thing, but it looked amazing.
Free shuttle bus to and from the airport reduces the stress.
My only gripe was the Internet was a bit hit and miss in the room and as a business traveller, it's an important issue, so I perhaps harshly have docked a star.
However the WiFi was great all downstairs and on the terrace too.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We are always pleased to receive our valued guests' feedback of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to share it with the travelling public.

We are listening to our guests' feedback and are excited to inform that we have just completed a total renewal of the entire internet system with the latest technologies available on the market. Our high-speed internet access is flawless at each point throughout the hotel and you will definitely feel the difference during your next stay at our hotel.

Also, we highly recommend you to not miss the Esprit Leisure & Spa Club during your next visits - it is claimed by our guests to be one of the best in town and we are sure you will enjoy it!

Thank you once again for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had 1 night here & enjoyed a nice coffee at a coffee bar across the road by the pond. There was also a small supermarket that meant we could easily stock up on water. We had a nice bathroom with a great shower & bath. Tea, coffee, fridge& air con. We had an excellent meal & bottle of red wine on the hotels onside sitting area.The staff were very helpful& friendly. Surrounded by offices meant it was very quiet in the evening. A good car park & a lovely indoor 19 meter swimming pool. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your lovely experience with the Holiday Inn Sofia.

It is our main goal to provide top quality services and accomodation, and we are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you mentioning our great guest room and bathroom facilities and amenities, the delicious meals served at the Brasserie Restaurant & Terrace and the tranquillity of the surrounding area.

Thank you once again for your custom. Looking forward to your next stay with us,

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

It's a good hotel. I chose a suite this time and enjoyed the luxury of a separate living/dining room - very large table. Breakfasts are as good as ever and the staff is generally happy and helpful.

There are a couple of quickiemart type shops in the business park and this time I discovered a Burger King! The BK is located as part of the cinema complex.

The hotel does make a good cheeseburger - but I'd never had a BK in Bulgaria before so had to try it. Like many young Bulgarians, the BK guy was happy to practice his English.

Pool is still good - even managed to go outside for a roll in the snow before going to the sauna.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room with no connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely comments about your experience with the Holiday Inn Sofia.

It is real pleasure to know we are meeting and exceeding your expectations and are among your prefered hotels! This is truly rewarding and we shall share your comments with out entire staff as a reinforcement to continue making our hotel a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for being our loyal guest. We hope to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Sofia in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It was my first time to visit Sofia and we were booked in this hotel. Their breakfast was good and the staff were very accommodating. Their location was great since it was just a short 10-minute walk to the nearest mall. Their gym and swimming pool facilities were also neat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teejgonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your review following your stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

It is with pleasure that we have read your very positive comments related to the services and facilities we offer. Our main goal is to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and we are delighted to know we have succeeded.

Once again, thank you for your custom. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Holiday Inn Sofia!

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

You will like the staff, the breakfast, restaurant and bar, the room and the bed, the pool, the gym.
You might not like very much that you need to get a taxi to reach the city center (it is quite cheap anyway), that that the internet connection might not be good in all the rooms, not all the things in the bathroom are always working well (water temperature, shower drain).
I've been there a lot of times and I would go again to see thay beautiful Vitosha view

Thank UnNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Sofia. Your comments are greatly appreciated since they give us the opportunity to uphold our standards and make sure our guests receive what they are expecting from their stay with us.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed and would recommend the wonderful dining experience we offer, as well as our exceptional leisure and sports facilities, and that you were able to relax and be yourself in your guestroom. As you correctly mention, the taxis in Sofia are very reasonable, and for a minimal amount of Bulgarian levs you may reach any point of the city very easily.

In relation to your comment about the internet, I am pleased to advise we are currently in the process of upgrading the internet system and very soon – maybe during your next visit – you will be able to notice the difference.

Once again, thank you for your custom. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future

Sincerely,

Tha Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Everything from the word GO was fantastic... Ever smiling and helpful staff
Great rooms... I mean this is meant for Business travelers so one cannot expect fancy rooms but the rooms had a nice feel, a well stocked minibar, internet access at great speed, Super breakfast with great options...
Only gripe was that wifi on my phone did not work very well .but they did offer to test and give me another room.... And I declined as I felt lazy to unpack and pack again...they had a great spa, pool ... which was very inviting but I did not have the time :(
Otherwise, If you need to be around Business Park in Sofia... This is a great options...
If It was a personal visit, i would have chosen to stay in the old quarter near the centre...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbkhaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

We thank you very much for your lovely feedback regarding your recent experience with the Holiday Inn Sofia.

For us it is truly rewarding to know we have succeeded to meet your expectations for a wonderful stay and to note that you felt very welcomed and comfortable in our hotel. We are also grateful for your comments in respect of the extensive breakfast offering that we provide to our guests. Our Esprit Leisure & Spa Club with 19 m indoor pool, large gym , sauna, steam room, indoor and outdoor whirlpools and spa as you mention is indeed one of the best in town and we highly recommend you try it during your next stays with us.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience online and look forward to your next visit at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have a company in Sofia Business Park we've been working with for 5 years now, so I've been down in Sofia four times and have always stayed at this hotel. I reviewed the hotel positively in the past but it had been a few years since I was here last, so I was interested in seeing if the hotel was the same standard I remembered.

I was plesantly suprised to see that the hotel didnt seem a day older, even though it had been four years since I had last been there. The hotel is kept immaculately clean in the public areas and the rooms are also very clean. I always look forward to a visit to the hotel because of the great fitness center and pool/sauna/steam room area. Service is friendly and the value for money is also quite good.

My only small complaint is that the beds are too hard for my taste. In a previous review I had complained about overpriced breakfast; I took my own advice this time and skipped it. Definitely recommended--good value for money and one of the cleanest, best kept hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank american_expat_CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your wonderful experiences at the Holiday Inn Sofia during the past several years.

We are most appreciative of your very positive comments regarding the pristine condition of our property. We put significant efforts in cleaning and maintenance, and it is truly rewarding when we receive our guests' recognition.

We also thank you for your lovely comments in relation to the Esprit Fitness Club & Spa - it is indeed one of the best in town and we are pleased you enjoy spending your leisure time there.

Your comments will be shared with our entire team as they serve as a reinforcement to continue our efforts in making the Holiday Inn Sofia a leader in excellence.

Thank you once again. We look forward to your next stay at our hotel.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
4.8 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,378 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 135 in Sofia
558 reviews
2.2 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
790 reviews
5.9 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
629 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 135 in Sofia
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sofia

Address: bul.Aleksandar Malinov 111, Sofia 1766, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sofia
#6 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#12 Business Hotel in Sofia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $75 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm "Welcome" to Sofia's newest 5 Star hotel. Winner of the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Best Newcomer Award’ 2008, the 'Building of the Year Award" and the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Torchbearer Award’ 2009, 2010 and 2011 the Holiday Inn, Sofia features the highest standards of international contemporary design, comfort and service alongside unparalleled facilities in one of Eastern Europe's most vivacious, dynamic and charismatic cities.Enjoy the best of both worlds with extensive SPA and Conference facilities at the exceptional 5 Star hotel Holiday Inn Sofia, Bulgaria. Just 10 minutes from Sofia Airport and Sofia City Center on the hotel’s shuttle bus, the hotel is ideally located in the foothills of the Vitosha Mountains within close proximity of Sofia city centre.Winner of numerous international awards, the Holiday Inn Sofia is proud of its unrivalled levels of standards and services. The Holiday Inn Sofia offers 130 luxurious spacious bedrooms, including Executive Rooms and Suites, many with breathtaking views of the imposing Vitosha Mountain.The hotel’s extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities are unrivalled in Sofia, combining the latest technology with personalized service. Dedicated staff on our self-contained conference & banqueting floor will help to ensure the smooth running of your event in 11 state-of-the-art function suites with space for between 10-300 guests. The Holiday Inn Sofia provides a variety of gourmet dining experiences, ranging from a seasonal A la Carte menu or quality bar meals to a variety of delicious lunch and dinner buffets. We are certain you will enjoy the “Esprit Fitness & Spa”, including a 19m pool with separate children’s pool, indoor & outdoor Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Gym and Solarium, not to mention our numerous Treatment Rooms for those who prefer to relax and be pampered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sofia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing