We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly business hotel”
Review of Holiday Inn Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sofia
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice and I really like staying there. I did try the Hilton in town however it's to cold. This hotel and their staff is more friendly. Internet works, Their Gym and Spa is wonderful also. The rooms and beds are at an excellent standard and it's totally clean everywhere. What more can you ask for?

However their resturant (Breakfast, lunch & dinner) could be improved. I am missing home cooked food with local ingridients. A Fresh Juice in the morning - not from concentrate - A home made fresh smoothie. It would be great if their kitchen invested in "Brain Food". Would want more fish, whole-grain products, fruits, vegetables. Obiously Primarily fresh, locally sourced ingredients. Pure ingredients with minimal industrial processing, Natural sweeteners.

If you arrive via the Airport. Do youself a favour and order the hotel bus, rather than the taxi's in the airport. Their Taxi's in Sofia is a total rip off. The holidayinn drivers are very friendly and take good care of you.

Overall it's a great hotel and I am a very happy customer and will revisit in a couple of days :-)

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view to the mountains
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keld M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your custom and for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your lovely comments in respect of the friendly attitude of our team members, the high quality of services and facilites offered and the exceptional cleanliness in our hotel.

It is indeed the personalized touch and the attention to detail which makes our hotel stand out from the rest. Your comments will be shared with our entire team as a reinforcement to continue making the Holiday Inn Sofia a leader in excellence.

Further to your comment about the restaurant, please note our international kitchen brigade is one of the best in the city and our various menu options – A La Carte and Buffets – are designed to cater for the varied tastes and preferences of our guests. In addition to the A La Carte, we offer varieties of wonderful buffets during the weekdays – from BBQ and Italian Live Cooking to Traditional Bulgarian Evenings with freshly made local dishes. All food ingredients are fresh and high quality, including the fish which is specifically imported for us.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us and look forward to see you again,

Kind Regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Sofia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 337 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel deserves all of its 5 stars. You get all the assistance from its well-trained staff, and everybody speaks excellent English here. The rooms are spacious, well-equipped, and everything looks and feels brand new here. Everything is sparkling clean. Location is the only drawback, as this hotel is on the outskirts of Sofia, but if you're here for business and don't plan to do much sightseeing, this is the hotel to choose, definitely.
Their spa is also very good from what I know, but I never had time to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We are most appreciative to you for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay at the 5 Star Holiday Inn Sofia.

It is truly rewarding when our guests take the time to provide such a wonderful review and your feedback has been very motivational for the team.

In relation to our location, we are conveniently located for both the airport and the city center. For a very reasonable price of approx. EUR 6 on the hotel shuttle bus or taxi, and within only and 10-15 minutes’ drive, you can reach most of Sofia’s primary places of importance in the city centre.

We hope you will have the chance to visit our superb finest Esprit Leisure & Spa that during your next stay – either for a relaxing hot stone or chocolate therapy massage or a range of pampering spa treatments.

Once again, thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to having the pleasure of being of service to you in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Clean spacious room , modern furnishing. Excellent quality and comfort. Staff friendly and professional. Breakfast was very good and included in the room's price. Very good and cheap lunch buffet. Great pool and spa. 24H parking services for free
We spent our X-mas holidays and it was amazing!! Our kids spent a lot of time in the pool swimming. There is an etnertaining center with cinema and restaurants just beside the hotel. There are very good restaurants there with very good quality and extremely low prices.
Just across the street there is a DM MARKET for ladies who want to buy cosmetics.
Internet connection very expencive...it should free.
Easy access to the ring road and just 10 min drive to the city center.
Definately would stay again!!! Excellent value for its price!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lina30ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We thank you very much for your wonderful comments about your stay with us for your Christmas holidays.

It was truly a great pleasure to read your positive feedback in particular in respect of services, facilities and the staff attitude for which we thank you . It will be shared with our entire team as a reinforcement to continue their efforts in making the Holiday Inn Sofia a leader in excellence.

Further to your note about the internet charge, please be advised we have variety of packages to suit the different tastes and needs of our guests, also one inclusive of internet which you may consider choosing for your next stays with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We would be delighted to welcome you again during this Holiday Season!

Sincerely

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel, very simple check-in, lovely clean rooms, superb staff and great facilities.

Didn't get to test out the pool during my stay but I did take a shoulder and neck massage, very relaxing indeed.

I even left a couple of items behind and not even this was too much trouble for the hotel staff to snail mail to me, superb.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slimboywynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your memorable experience at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

It is a real pleasure to read your lovely comments about our hotel, facilities, staff and services. Our main goal is to meet and exceed the expectations of our valuable guests, and we are pleased to understand that we have succeeded.

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent hotel, modern and clean. Good selection for breakfast, fast broadband which is free (I had an executive room) not sure if you need to pay for it in the standard room. If there is a charge then for the difference in the cost for the two rooms, upgrade.
Pool and gym are very good.

I was here on business, it is very close to the business park, literally across the road 2 minutes walk.
The hotel offer a shuttle service to and from the airport, which is roughly the same price as a taxi.
Staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly.
There is a cinema complex close by which has some eating places iKFC, Burger King and the Victoria restaurant if you wish to have something more formal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadrunnner7691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We appreciate your acknowledgment of our high standards of property and the cleanliness throughout the hotel, in addition to the abundance of the breakfast offering and the responsiveness of our team. It is our main goal to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations, and it is truly rewarding when we receive such a positive feedback from valued guests like yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Holiday Inn Sofia in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A very new, clean, modern and efficient hotel...definitely one of the best holiday inns and one of the better business hotels I have stayed in. Locations isnt near city centre but its great for local business park or even airport . Breakfast is great, staff are very nice and helpful. Very comfy hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friendlytips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate your lovely feedback following your recent stay at our hotel.

All our team’s efforts are directed into making the Holiday Inn Sofia a leader in excellence, and you stating that we are “one of the best” Holiday Inns is motivational for the team.

Thank you for your custom and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for work and used their conference facilities. From check-in, through breakfast, to concierge and the conference activities, the staff were terrific - smiling, helpful and speaking fantastic English. Breakfast and lunch were delicious each day - plenty of choice. Business-wise the WiFi worked perfectly and all requests for help with the conference were met with a smile and speedy support. The bedroom was spotless, comfortable and well-appointed. Well done!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60-degreese-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience following your recent stay at the 5 star Holiday Inn Sofia.

We were delighted to have read your lovely comments in respect of our services, facilities and the high standards of cleanliness in our hotel. Your feedback is truly rewarding, especially considering the fact you are an experienced traveler and have a wide base for comparison with other hotels around the world. Your commendations have been shared with our entire team as reinforcement to continue their efforts in making the Holiday Inn Sofia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
4.8 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
1,310 reviews
5.9 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
522 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 133 in Sofia
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
739 reviews
6.2 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 133 in Sofia
457 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sofia

Address: bul.Aleksandar Malinov 111, Sofia 1766, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sofia
#5 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#12 Business Hotel in Sofia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $71 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm "Welcome" to Sofia's newest 5 Star hotel. Winner of the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Best Newcomer Award’ 2008, the 'Building of the Year Award" and the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Torchbearer Award’ 2009, 2010 and 2011 the Holiday Inn, Sofia features the highest standards of international contemporary design, comfort and service alongside unparalleled facilities in one of Eastern Europe's most vivacious, dynamic and charismatic cities.Enjoy the best of both worlds with extensive SPA and Conference facilities at the exceptional 5 Star hotel Holiday Inn Sofia, Bulgaria. Just 10 minutes from Sofia Airport and Sofia City Center on the hotel’s shuttle bus, the hotel is ideally located in the foothills of the Vitosha Mountains within close proximity of Sofia city centre.Winner of numerous international awards, the Holiday Inn Sofia is proud of its unrivalled levels of standards and services. The Holiday Inn Sofia offers 130 luxurious spacious bedrooms, including Executive Rooms and Suites, many with breathtaking views of the imposing Vitosha Mountain.The hotel’s extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities are unrivalled in Sofia, combining the latest technology with personalized service. Dedicated staff on our self-contained conference & banqueting floor will help to ensure the smooth running of your event in 11 state-of-the-art function suites with space for between 10-300 guests. The Holiday Inn Sofia provides a variety of gourmet dining experiences, ranging from a seasonal A la Carte menu or quality bar meals to a variety of delicious lunch and dinner buffets. We are certain you will enjoy the “Esprit Fitness & Spa”, including a 19m pool with separate children’s pool, indoor & outdoor Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Gym and Solarium, not to mention our numerous Treatment Rooms for those who prefer to relax and be pampered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sofia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing