We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy!! Very nice hotel - would stay again!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sofia
Ranked #20 of 131 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoy!! Very nice hotel - would stay again!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Clean spacious room , modern furnishing. Excellent quality and comfort. Staff friendly and professional. Breakfast was very good and included in the room's price. Very good and cheap lunch buffet. Great pool and spa. 24H parking services for free
We spent our X-mas holidays and it was amazing!! Our kids spent a lot of time in the pool swimming. There is an etnertaining center with cinema and restaurants just beside the hotel. There are very good restaurants there with very good quality and extremely low prices.
Just across the street there is a DM MARKET for ladies who want to buy cosmetics.
Internet connection very expencive...it should free.
Easy access to the ring road and just 10 min drive to the city center.
Definately would stay again!!! Excellent value for its price!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lina30ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

We thank you very much for your wonderful comments about your stay with us for your Christmas holidays.

It was truly a great pleasure to read your positive feedback in particular in respect of services, facilities and the staff attitude for which we thank you . It will be shared with our entire team as a reinforcement to continue their efforts in making the Holiday Inn Sofia a leader in excellence.

Further to your note about the internet charge, please be advised we have variety of packages to suit the different tastes and needs of our guests, also one inclusive of internet which you may consider choosing for your next stays with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We would be delighted to welcome you again during this Holiday Season!

Sincerely

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    137
    35
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
39
27
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel, very simple check-in, lovely clean rooms, superb staff and great facilities.

Didn't get to test out the pool during my stay but I did take a shoulder and neck massage, very relaxing indeed.

I even left a couple of items behind and not even this was too much trouble for the hotel staff to snail mail to me, superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimboywynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your memorable experience at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

It is a real pleasure to read your lovely comments about our hotel, facilities, staff and services. Our main goal is to meet and exceed the expectations of our valuable guests, and we are pleased to understand that we have succeeded.

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent hotel, modern and clean. Good selection for breakfast, fast broadband which is free (I had an executive room) not sure if you need to pay for it in the standard room. If there is a charge then for the difference in the cost for the two rooms, upgrade.
Pool and gym are very good.

I was here on business, it is very close to the business park, literally across the road 2 minutes walk.
The hotel offer a shuttle service to and from the airport, which is roughly the same price as a taxi.
Staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly.
There is a cinema complex close by which has some eating places iKFC, Burger King and the Victoria restaurant if you wish to have something more formal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadrunnner7691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We appreciate your acknowledgment of our high standards of property and the cleanliness throughout the hotel, in addition to the abundance of the breakfast offering and the responsiveness of our team. It is our main goal to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations, and it is truly rewarding when we receive such a positive feedback from valued guests like yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Holiday Inn Sofia in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

A very new, clean, modern and efficient hotel...definitely one of the best holiday inns and one of the better business hotels I have stayed in. Locations isnt near city centre but its great for local business park or even airport . Breakfast is great, staff are very nice and helpful. Very comfy hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friendlytips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate your lovely feedback following your recent stay at our hotel.

All our team’s efforts are directed into making the Holiday Inn Sofia a leader in excellence, and you stating that we are “one of the best” Holiday Inns is motivational for the team.

Thank you for your custom and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland traveller
Level Contributor
243 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for work and used their conference facilities. From check-in, through breakfast, to concierge and the conference activities, the staff were terrific - smiling, helpful and speaking fantastic English. Breakfast and lunch were delicious each day - plenty of choice. Business-wise the WiFi worked perfectly and all requests for help with the conference were met with a smile and speedy support. The bedroom was spotless, comfortable and well-appointed. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60-degreese-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience following your recent stay at the 5 star Holiday Inn Sofia.

We were delighted to have read your lovely comments in respect of our services, facilities and the high standards of cleanliness in our hotel. Your feedback is truly rewarding, especially considering the fact you are an experienced traveler and have a wide base for comparison with other hotels around the world. Your commendations have been shared with our entire team as reinforcement to continue their efforts in making the Holiday Inn Sofia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in the main part of Sofia but decided to use the leisure facilities on our last day as it is near to the airport and only cost 6 levs from there (and it's open until 10pm and we had a late flight). The pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi were all well kept and enjoyable. The massages were very good although booking by phone in English is very difficult to do and be prepared for mistakes! Despite this, we had a lovely day and got a lot of use out of it. It cost us 100 levs for 2 people for all day access and a 30 minute massage each. It's very relaxing and a lovely way to wind down at the end of your holiday - even better is the roof terrace to soak in some of the last minute sun!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing the Esprit Fitness & Spa Club at the 5 star Holiday Inn Sofia for your leisure and relaxation day.

It is with great pleasure that we read your lovely comments about your experience at Esprit. Our main goal is to deliver high quality and consistent services, and it is truly motivating when our guests recognize this and enjoy our facilities so much.

We will be delighted if during your next visit you choose to spend your entire stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia. You will be very impressed with our superb accommodation and dining options. We also note you took advantage of our close proximity to Sofia Airport.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Sincerely

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I used to stay at this hotel on a very regular basis as they always looked after the platinum member via the upgrade etc. this stay despite the hotel not being over busy I was not offered one but they did offer a small percentage off the WiFi charge (very generous) despite it consistantly tripping out due to weak signal. The hotel is nice but there is little to do close by which is a bit of a draw back. Staff are always very nice and go out of their way to serve. If the upgrades are no longer to be offered to the frequent travellers then maybe I should look to one of my other loyalty program's and get a central stay next time as these perks are important.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Valued Repeat Guest

We would like to thank you for your loyalty to IHG and in particular to Holiday Inn Sofia which we very much appreciated.

Following receipt of your review, we have investigated the occupancies at the hotel during your stay from 10-12 September and infact the hotel was fully booked which precluded our ability to accord the usual room upgrade that we have previously provided to you. Please rest assured that we always look after our most loyal guests and had we had the availability, it would have been our pleasure to provide you with a better room.

Once again, thank you for your loyal custom. We look forward to your next visit at the Holiday Inn Sofia and we will be delighted to ensure you are treated with the special attention you deserve.

Kind regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
4.8 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
5.9 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#6 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Sofia
Suite Hotel Sofia
#11 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sofia

Property: Holiday Inn Sofia
Address: bul.Aleksandar Malinov 111, Sofia 1766, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sofia
#7 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#12 Business Hotel in Sofia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm "Welcome" to Sofia's newest 5 Star hotel. Winner of the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Best Newcomer Award’ 2008, the 'Building of the Year Award" and the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Torchbearer Award’ 2009, 2010 and 2011 the Holiday Inn, Sofia features the highest standards of international contemporary design, comfort and service alongside unparalleled facilities in one of Eastern Europe's most vivacious, dynamic and charismatic cities.Enjoy the best of both worlds with extensive SPA and Conference facilities at the exceptional 5 Star hotel Holiday Inn Sofia, Bulgaria. Just 10 minutes from Sofia Airport and Sofia City Center on the hotel’s shuttle bus, the hotel is ideally located in the foothills of the Vitosha Mountains within close proximity of Sofia city centre.Winner of numerous international awards, the Holiday Inn Sofia is proud of its unrivalled levels of standards and services. The Holiday Inn Sofia offers 130 luxurious spacious bedrooms, including Executive Rooms and Suites, many with breathtaking views of the imposing Vitosha Mountain.The hotel’s extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities are unrivalled in Sofia, combining the latest technology with personalized service. Dedicated staff on our self-contained conference & banqueting floor will help to ensure the smooth running of your event in 11 state-of-the-art function suites with space for between 10-300 guests. The Holiday Inn Sofia provides a variety of gourmet dining experiences, ranging from a seasonal A la Carte menu or quality bar meals to a variety of delicious lunch and dinner buffets. We are certain you will enjoy the “Esprit Fitness & Spa”, including a 19m pool with separate children’s pool, indoor & outdoor Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Gym and Solarium, not to mention our numerous Treatment Rooms for those who prefer to relax and be pampered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sofia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing