We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Holiday Inn Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sofia
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was on business trip in Sofia, spent few nights in HolidayInn. As I'm quite often travelling, I didn't expect a 5* hotel as a Holiday Inn. It was a good suprise!
Nice hotel, good service, helpful staff.
Wonderful breakfast, nice restaurant with a big terrace, you can enjoy your morning coffee on the terrace. Excellent gym, with swimming pool.
Overall I highly recommend to anybody, who is travelling to Sofia in the surrounding business park next to the hotel.
WIFI is expensive, this is the only negative point.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva_Linna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your delightful experience at the Holiday Inn Sofia. We are proud to be among the best Holiday Inns in Europe and your recognition in this regard is highly appreciated! We will share your comments with our entire staff as a reinforcement to continue their efforts in making the Holiday Inn Sofia a leader in excellence.

Further to your comment about the internet charge, I would like to clarify that we have accommodation packages inclusive of internet which offer very good value. Should you contact us directly when you plan your next visit to Sofia, we will be please to offer the rate which is most suited for your needs and expectations!

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

Sincerely

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    148
    36
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
42
29
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I often stay in Sofia for business as well as much of Europe and I must say this is my second most favourite hotel in Europe. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and the food is great. All together a great hotel although the location is not great. Room comes with wi-fi and breakfast so not like the rip off from other larger business hotel chains. I have had dinner here alot and the food is great and staff are attentive and pleasant. Worth staying here if you are on business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primecount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We appreciate your custom and are delighted to understand that we are among your top favourite hotels in Europe. Our entire team is committed in delivering great experience to our valued guests and it is truly motivational when our efforts are being recognized.

Once again, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Sofia for your accommodation needs. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is modern, clean, and has nice amenities. Best of all, however, is its staff. These people all go the extra mile and make you feel like home. Strongly recommend for both business and family stays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom2007Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you very much for your great comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

The hotel team is one of the most valuable assets we have, and it is a real pleasure to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. Delivering great experience to our guests is indeed our main goal, and we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very good food and service, room are spacious and clean. It is in a business center area, which is new and very nice. About 15 min to center of Sofia.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuTheTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Let us thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Sofia for your accommodation needs.

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your positive experiences at our hotel and are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future,

Sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two days on the 13-14 March for two nights after our regular skiing trip in Pamporovo. We have been to this hotel before and were made to feel so welcome that we always like to visit it again. This time we used the spa area which we hadn't done previously and were impressed at the ultra modern facilities available. The staff are always so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. When we stayed there was a traditional Bulgarian evening on for the first night so we decided to partake of that. We were shown and explained all the different buffet style selections from a member of staff in full Bulgarian dress and the food was excellent and plentiful. We will back Ani! Many thanks to all your staff, Alex and Andy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HammyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Alex and Andy

It is with pleasure that we are reading your new review!

Your loyal custom is very much valued by us and we are delighted that you keep on enjoying your stays at the Holiday Inn Sofia. We are always aiming at our guests’ comfort and satisfaction, and feedbacks like yours serve as a reinforcement for our entire team to continue our efforts in making the Holiday Inn Sofia a Great Hotel Guests Love.

Thank you once again. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

The Holiday Inn Sofia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I am a frequent business traveler, so I avoid tourist location and prefer business area. From this perspective, Holiday Inn Sofia is the right choice. The spa and fitness is really a dream for everyone tired of an all day meetings. Breakfast is nothing special, but still OK. Rooms comfortable and clean.

The dark side: You have to ask the room service for equipment that, according to the web pages, should be available in the room. Do you want a bathrobe? No problem, it's complimentary, just ask the room service. Slippers? Do the same (but if you are not far-thinker, it means making second call). Do you need internet connection? No problem, it's complimentary, just call the reception. There is a Tee/Coffee maker in the room, but no tea bags. Do you like tea? Call the room service.

Free toiletries mean you have shower gel/shampoo "2 in one" - amazing in 5* hotel. No conditioner. No body moisturiser/body milk. No shoe polish. You think of nailfile, make-up remover cotton pads or even sewing kit, i.e. stuff you normally expect from 5* hotel room?

Maybe you can ask the room service and they will be more than happy to fulfill all your dreams, but I gave up after four calls (in-room dining, bathrobe & slippers, wi-fi connection).

If this little comfort is important to you (as it is for me), do avoid this hotel. Otherwise, enjoy good services, clean rooms and perfect wellness.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mae_Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all, let us thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Sofia for your travel needs. We appreciate you taking the time to write and inform us about your recent stay at our hotel.

It is with pleasure that we have read your very positive comments related to our Esprit Leisure Club & Spa – with one of the best wellness facilities in town. We also highly appreciate you mentioning the superior condition of our guest rooms – in fact, most of our guests are impressed with the state of the hotel in terms of cleanliness and maintenance, and they mention it looks like a brand new property.

As you may be aware, we have different types of rooms with different amenities – for example, in our executive rooms and suites we have all of the items listed by you and more. Nonetheless, as you have noticed – nothing is too much trouble for our team – whatever you need, you may have it delivered to your room with just one quick call - from toiletries to bathrobes and slippers or additional pillow from our Hallmark Pillow Menu, delicious freshly prepared meal or anything else you may need to enjoy your stay. We are always ready to go the extra mile in order to ensure our guests’ satisfaction and comfort.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

Kind Regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel is conveniently situated for the Sofia Business Park, the staff are friendly and efficient, there is an hourly shuttle service to and from the airport, taxis into the city centre (cathedral) are about 5 Euros (you can pay twice the price for the return journey).
Rooms are clean, comfortable and big enough to work. I had booked an executive room, WIFI was part of the deal.
The menu in the restaurant offers a good range of fish, meat and pasta dishes - having said that, the food is not adequate but not memorable. Service can be a bit slow (life in Bulgaria is a bit slow).
One bit of advice: if you are a non-smoker, do not accept anything but a non-smoking room - Bulgarians do smoke a lot and whatever they are smoking is very strong and pungent to a non-smoker.
There is a well equipped gym and a spa (which I did not try).
There are a couple of coffee shops in the Business Park, apart from that there is nothing in the vicinity of the hotel. It is a great location for the Business Park, I would not recommend it for tourists.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, do not accept anything but a non-smoking room - Bulgarians do smoke a lot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for being a guest of Holiday Inn Sofia. We appreciate you taking the time to share the impressions of your delightful experience with us.

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding the positive attitude of our staff and the good condition and standards of the guest rooms and facilities. By way of information, we do have one floor designated to smokers, as a large number of travelers are still looking for smoking rooms, however the largest percentage of our guest rooms and public areas are entirely smoke-free.

Our international kitchen brigade is one of the best in the city and our various menu options – A La Carte and Buffets – are designed to take the different tastes and preferences of our guests into account.

We highly recommend you to visit the Esprit Leisure Club & Spa during your next stays with us as you will be impressed by the atmosphere and wide range of sports and spa offers there.

Our location is also highly regarded by numerous tourists due to our close proximity to attractions such as the Vitosha Mountain, the Pancharevo Lake Recreation Park, St. George Golf Course, several museums and historical places, the Arena Armeets Sports and Concerts Hall to name but a few.

Once again, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Sofia.

Sincerely

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
4.8 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
1,288 reviews
5.9 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#7 of 133 in Sofia
480 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 133 in Sofia
493 reviews
6.2 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#6 of 133 in Sofia
443 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sofia

Property: Holiday Inn Sofia
Address: bul.Aleksandar Malinov 111, Sofia 1766, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#5 Family Hotel in Sofia
#12 Business Hotel in Sofia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm "Welcome" to Sofia's newest 5 Star hotel. Winner of the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Best Newcomer Award’ 2008, the 'Building of the Year Award" and the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Torchbearer Award’ 2009, 2010 and 2011 the Holiday Inn, Sofia features the highest standards of international contemporary design, comfort and service alongside unparalleled facilities in one of Eastern Europe's most vivacious, dynamic and charismatic cities.Enjoy the best of both worlds with extensive SPA and Conference facilities at the exceptional 5 Star hotel Holiday Inn Sofia, Bulgaria. Just 10 minutes from Sofia Airport and Sofia City Center on the hotel’s shuttle bus, the hotel is ideally located in the foothills of the Vitosha Mountains within close proximity of Sofia city centre.Winner of numerous international awards, the Holiday Inn Sofia is proud of its unrivalled levels of standards and services. The Holiday Inn Sofia offers 130 luxurious spacious bedrooms, including Executive Rooms and Suites, many with breathtaking views of the imposing Vitosha Mountain.The hotel’s extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities are unrivalled in Sofia, combining the latest technology with personalized service. Dedicated staff on our self-contained conference & banqueting floor will help to ensure the smooth running of your event in 11 state-of-the-art function suites with space for between 10-300 guests. The Holiday Inn Sofia provides a variety of gourmet dining experiences, ranging from a seasonal A la Carte menu or quality bar meals to a variety of delicious lunch and dinner buffets. We are certain you will enjoy the “Esprit Fitness & Spa”, including a 19m pool with separate children’s pool, indoor & outdoor Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Gym and Solarium, not to mention our numerous Treatment Rooms for those who prefer to relax and be pampered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sofia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing