We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankfully it was summertime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Expo Hotel
Ranked #47 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I would hate to have to stay in this hotel in the winter as at least on can sit in the garden area during the nice weather. The bar and restaurant areas are very poor and really do lack any atmosphere as does the reception area. The rooms are basic but then again the price and location to the expo centre is perfect and makes up for the hotels shortfalls.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Expo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 198 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel has good location for doing business at the expo, rooms are good and the breakfast was excellent. They have good parking place and that is very important when you travel to Bulgaria! Would recommend the hotel for business travelers

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This Hotel is located next to the huge expo centres and not too far from Sophia airport 15 mins away, also close to business areas and a 10-minute drive to the city centre, there is also a very big shopping mall facing the entrance of the hotel, which is about a 10 minute walk, I liked the Pillow Menu, they are the softest and freshest pillows I’ve ever slept on,

There is a Huge LCD TV in the lobby bar where you can relax and watch your favourite football team whilst having a nice cold beer, other comfortable sofas in the lobby where you can chill out and be served drinks while you check your emails,

Concierge service is very good and the Receptionist Miss Boriyana was very polite and professional, I wish we had more receptionists like her, Mini bar in your room in the Fridge and tea and coffee in your room.

The food in the restaurant was excellent, you must try the Steaks or the Duck!

Breakfast was very nice, with a wide varity, I highly recommend this Hotel.


Telephone: +359 2 817 81 00

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank British3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The only thing I appreciate is the service and the kindness of people. All others was poor quality compare to quality and name. First, when I open my door, I thought it was a smoking room because air inside was so nasty. I decide to open the door a bit, but it was not possible. Then a kind of air conditioner starts to work and blows the same air full of humidity. Another room, same deal. I was on the fourth floor, maybe it's not the good one because the WiFi was not working properly till they reboot the server. And to conclude the breakfast was expensive compare to the buffet. Good point, Airport is 10 to 15 minutes far away, one traffic light.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arnaud P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very comfortable room (Junior suite) but no hot water in the bath or shower!!!!
Good food in the restaurant and VERY helpful front desk staff.
Shuttle to the airport good but expensive for such a short drive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthCerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel several times. The attitude of the staff is warm and personal. Special requests responded quickly and our stay was pleasant and businesslike.
The hotel is located near the airport, close to business area and a 10-minute drive to the city center.
I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is very nice, located next to the huge expo centers BUT it is quite far from the city centre. I walked 30 minutes to reach the first mall. If you like walking the city you are visiting, or not plan using the extremely cheap taxis, pick another hotel.

Room Tip: Fifth floor was quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkakoulidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.9 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel Sofia
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Sofia Airport Hotel
2.6 mi away
Suite Hotel Sofia
Suite Hotel Sofia
#12 of 133 in Sofia
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Lozenetz Hotel
1.0 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 133 in Sofia
513 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vega Sofia
Hotel Vega Sofia
#35 of 133 in Sofia
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Expo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Expo Hotel

Address: 149 Tsarigradsko Shose Blv., Sofia 1784, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sofia
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $59 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Expo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS & SERVICES Best Western Hotel Expo is: Part of the largest hotel chain in the world - Best Western - with more than 4000 hotels worldwide Located in the heart of Sofia's Business District, within walking distance of the International Exhibition Center, in close proximity to the Sofia International Airport, the numerous city sights, and between two shopping malls Being located in the heart of the Business District of Bulgaria's capital city and within a walking distance of less than 10 meters from Sofia's leading International Exhibition and Congress center, the 4-star BEST WESTERN Hotel Expo offers its guests 99 comfortable rooms, multifunctional meeting rooms, a state-of-art business lounge, a modern bar as well as other dining option, among which and a lush open-air summer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Expo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Expo
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing