We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very old fashoined” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meg Lozenetz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meg Lozenetz
Ranked #55 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very old fashoined”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel many times for business, each time my expterience gets worse.
yes the rooms are big but this does not compensate for the rest of the experience

the unusual and dingy decor and lighting makes you feel depressed. The smell of stale cigarette smoke gets into all your clothes. even items i did not wear had to be washed when I got home becasue of the smell.

the lady serving behind the bar was the most rude and miserable woman i have come across in any hotel i have stayed in all over Eastern Europe. the restaurant was closed in the evening dure to a private function. on asking her advise if there was anywhere else nearby to eat, she just said "no" and walked off.
you were made to feel you were intruding if you went into the bar.

If you like anything more than a roll and cold meats for breakfast, then this is not the place for you. they have cereal but no cold milk. there is noone actual in the restaurant in the morning to ask for some. They do have cold scrambled egg.
I had to go to reception to ask for a knife and got tutted at for the inconvenience, although they did find me one
They do not have any black and you were lucky to find a clean cup to make coffee in.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nevadacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
12
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2006

My friend and I planned a 12 day tour of Bulgaria for October 2006, and the agency offered this hotel for our 3-day stay at the start and 2-night stay at the end of our tour. This was our best hotel experience in the tour, given that we stayed primarily at 3-star hotels. First, the rooms are spacious; many have balconies; the wall controls offer air cooling anfd heating with a remote; there were lovely terry robes; the hotel restaurant is a gourmet experience, and the included buffet breakfast is a feast, including fruit and Bulgarian yogurt along with anything else you can think of. The building is modest in scale, and very attractively laid out. The staff speaks English and is very cooperative. We longed for the Meg while we traveled the country (which we loved, but never found a peer to the Meg). We would stay there again.

It is important to know, however, that the location is not walking distance to anything, although it is near central attractions.

  • Liked — The rooms and the restaurant
  • Disliked — Leaky plumbing in one room; but room was changed
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for what you need, such as extra towels/covers
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArtistEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2006

I stayed at this hotel in July 2006 and can advise that it is in a reasonable location, is very clean and well maintained and that the staff are all friendly and proficient.

Most of the staff speak very good English so no problem there, the only slight niggles are that if you get a room at the very front of the hotel you can notice some noise form the main road, and the local "street dogs" during the night, but in general this was not to much of an issue.

All rooms are very spacious and have a/c and mini bar ( at western prices), the restaurant is o.k for breakfast but didn’t seem to geared up to provide a very vast range for dinner, they also have a very nice bar / lounge, but again at western prices if , i.e 5Lv for bottled beer, however a short walk or tram ride to the center of the city will cost about 70st i.e about 25p sterling, and you will find a vast array of cheap and very good restaurants serving anything from traditional Bulgarian foods, through to more Western options, there are also about 4 McDonalds it seems ( not sure if that is a good thing or not!).

Generally food and drink is of a very good standard with plenty of fresh vegetables / salads and Bulgarian stews Ect. most places are very cheap here if you eat out , average meal for 2 including drinks £10-£12 GBP, average beer including western brands is 1,20 – 2.00Lv ( 80 pence!) .

Sofia is changing beyond recognition at present with the recent opening of 2 new major western style shopping malls one with anIMAX cinema Ect and it will be interesting to see how the city looks in 5 years time.

Nonetheless still plenty of history to be seen with the old churches Ect. and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2006

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night and made the mistake of falling for what appears to be a very nice resturant. The Resturant which is part of the hotel is very well set out and decorated, but the food and the service is something else.Firstly we were seated by the outside door not a problem you would think, but the locals seem to have a problem with closing doors and it soon became very tiresome to have keep closing the outside door, the staff seemed oblivious to this problem dspite constantly patroling the room. My wife order a duck dish which was so tough that you could sole a shoe with it, she complained about this and was offered a replacement meal however not before the waiter arguing that the meat was ok and the rest of the staff going into a huddle to duscuss the complaint with lots of pointed looks etc. My main course of rabbit and bacon and the chilli tomato source that went with it was also tasteless and insipid. The first courses and deserts are so memorable that i cannot remember them. The whole experiance was very poor of what appears to be a good resturant. The hotel its self is very nice and i would recommend it for any one visiting Sofia but what i say is what ever you do is do not eat in the resturant!.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greeceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hotel Vega Sofia
#32 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Hotel Zenith
#44 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oborishte
BEST WESTERN Art Plaza Hotel
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 130 in Sofia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Lozenets
Silver House
Silver House
#35 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meg Lozenetz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meg Lozenetz

Property: Meg Lozenetz
Address: 84 Krum Popv Str. | (off Naum Str.), Sofia 1421, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meg Lozenetz 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meg - Lozenetz Hotel offers to you a homey comfort and elegance at reasonable prices. The professional care will make your hotel stay a big pleasure, because of the quality and value offered. The attractive Lozenetz Restaurant will provide for a gourmet experience. The Meg - Lozenetz hotel is situated in the very heart of Sofia. It is in the close proximity to the National Palace of Culture and to the shopping area of the "Vitosha" boulevard. It is situated in a walking distance from all governmental institutions, banks, cultural and historical sites. The hotel is a perfect place for businessmen as well as for tourists. The airport is only 15 minutes away by car. The elegant background and professional service will make you feel just like at home. Our chief mission is our clients to come back to us, unforgettably touched..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Meg Lozenetz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meg Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing