We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rila Hotel Sofia
Nearby Hotels
$139
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Niky(Sofia)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Sofia(Sofia)
$131
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$68
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$183
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cheap(Sofia)(Great Value!)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
18
40
76
45
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
40
76
45
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski depotcheap hotelcold meatsvitosha mountainthe ground floorshort stayshampoomarble
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 248 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The only good things are location and free WiFi.
No heating, no air-conditioning, very old.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giwrgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

The best bit about this hotel is that :
1. it's clean
2. it's right where the ski lifts are
3. Staff are very friendly
4. Shops and facilities are all within the resort

The bad part is it's:
1. Targeted at families who want a resort where their kids running wild in... so there are alot of kids.
2. Smoking is allowed indoors so it stinks
3. If you are a Brit that likes going abroad to experience something new, don't ski in Borovets. The resorts are made for Brits who want a home away from home.. so to summarise, you'll find English tea, chips, marmite and British newspapers here. And you'll be surrounded by Brits.

Overall it's not bad as long as you know what to expect. We knew so it was ok (we tagged on to another trip so this resort's not our natural choice)
The criticism is not aimed at the hotel, but more so the resort, which caters for this market. Overall Rila was ok.

Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
1  Thank angeltroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

I was booked into this hotel by my company; next time I'm in Sofia (soon) I will book my own hotel. I knew it was a mistake the second I walked in the door. It was dark, uninviting, smelled heavily of cigarette smoke and the guy on reception made me feel less than welcome - no smile, no information, just demanded my passport, gave me a remote control (no idea what it was for until I got to my room and found it operated the only redeeming feature of the room - an a/c unit), gave me a key and that was it. Up I went into the lift to the third floor, into the corridor that also smelled of cigarette smoke, opened the door using the doorhandle/lock that was not fixed properly to the door and into my room. It was very depressing, the hotel was probably built in the early 1970s and I can almost definitely say that the room had not been properly refurbished since then. It smelt, the carpet was grubby, a minibar had half the contents missing, a bathroom that looked like something from a soviet bathhouse, curtains that hardly covered the single glazed windows and let the light in anyway, a small CRT television and a bed. At least the sheets looked clean. There was also a balcony overlooking the square but no seats to sit on there. I didn't sleep much so found myself at 6am watching the city wake up from my balcony. In the square below there is an open air bar that plays music until very late at night which you can hear through the bedroom windows. Breakfast was terrible, I was the only one there at 7.15am no tea or coffee arrived (in urns) until nearly 7.30 even though breakfast service was meant to start at 7.00am. On exit I made sure I payed in cash. My experience cost me 150 levas (£60), I guess I was paying for the only other positive aspect of the hotel - the central location close to the banks, President's Palace, Vitosha Boulevard etc. No thanks or goodbye from reception as I left but I didn't really expect that. The only people who I think could possibly enjoy staying at this hotel are those that hark back to the good old days of soviet austerity.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

This was sold as a four star hotel, I don't think we can even justify giving it a 2* rating!!
What with the dodgy 80's Ikea furniture in the bedrooms, not to mention our 8" black box of a TV with no working remote. No kettle or amenities in room, curtains hanging from rails, did not even cover windows, missing the hooks for us to even hang ourselves.

The food was so bad; we paid for half board however only ate breakfast there. We tried to go to the restaurant in the evening for two nights as we hoped the first night it was bad just because we arrived late (about 9PM.) However it got no better, the sausages at breakfast were magically transformed into sausage soup in the evening, the grilled mackerel one day, was dryer grilled mackerel in a tomatoes sauce the next day.

The lobby was like a Smokey, tacky bar with no atmosphere, where porn appeared to come on TV automatically late in the night, which the bar tender struggled to turn off, even when children where around.

We booked a double room, only to get a twin, then we were advised there were no double bedded rooms (I have no way to know if this is true) I do know my husband and I had two twin beds pushed together with a single bed cover each!

Service and smiles were nonexistent! However on ordering a drink in the bar for 3.80lv and being provided with a bill for this amount, the waitress advised amount due was 5lv; they all tend to think they can tell you what to tip and imply you have to do it; even if it takes 30 minutes to acknowledge you, then another 20 mins to serve you.

This was the worst hotel stay I have ever had and I will not return to this hotel. If you are going to this area, check out Ice Angels hotel or go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ellymae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews