We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sofia
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,380)
Filter reviews
1,380 results
Traveler rating
819
421
95
30
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
819
421
95
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green marble red restaurant rooms are huge corner suite national theatre executive room five star hotel excellent hotel central location airport transfer walking distance the heart of the city breakfast buffet lobby bar on foot hotel restaurant business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,380 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2020

My wife and I spent 3 nights and can truly recommend this hotel.

Rooms are very, very specious, staff is very friendly, professional and speak good English.

The location is unbeatable...great value for money

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ivancvetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristianIvanov, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Cvetic,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor readers.
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and kind recognition! our team is delighted!

You are always most welcome in Grand Hotel Sofia!

Kind Regards,
Kristian Ivanov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Excellent service - customer dedicated, very friendly and experienced staff!
Spacy and clean rooms.
The staff did adequately and quickly respond to our needs and requests - such as arranging business car and English speaking driver, etc. Looking forward to our next stay there

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ahemel216357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristianIvanov, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Hemeling,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are extremely happy when our guests appreciate our style and this makes their experience even more pleasant. We are grateful for your kind recognition and delighted that our team’s efforts have been noticed.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again as a guest of Grand Hotel Sofia!

Kind Regards,
Kristian Ivanov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

I start from the flaws, I spoke to the Concierge because the room had been badly redone, without the bathrobe of my size, without part of the accessories, he said he was sorry and that they were wrong and that they did, but nothing done; to keep a small dog 50 € per night (incredible); windows cannot be opened.
Central hotel with excellent spaces, you can breathe the quality and the people will let you down, at least that.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robysubve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristianIvanov, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for the valuable feedback you shared with us, because it all will help us in our ongoing efforts to meet guests’ expectations. We can assure you that your recommendations and remarks will be taken into consideration. Please, accept our apologies if the service did not meet your expectations all the time.
Regarding the pet fee, please, have in mind that Grand Hotel Sofia is among the few hotels that allow pets in the guest rooms. The tax is needed for the special cleaning of the room.
Having in mind your positive comments, I believe you will find reasons to book with us again in the future and we will have the chance to provide you a worthwhile experience.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you again as a guest of Grand Hotel Sofia!

Kind Regards,
Kristian Ivanov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019 via mobile

I’d like to thank all Hotel staff making every effort to make the guests feel comfortable. They were very kind and willing to help me with my request. Airport transfer service was on time and drivers were kind and friendly. Hotel was very clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast was rich and foods were delicious. My room was with balcony with the great park and square view. Location can’t be better. I strongly recommend! Thanks

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Bluevesna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristianIvanov, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
Your description of Grand Hotel Sofia is the feedback that any hotelier can only dream about. Welcoming guests is more of an art than just a business for us, thus paying attention to the details is of great importance. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our breakfast and, above all, that you have given such a high score on the service you have received. Thank you for your warm and kind recognition!

It would be a real pleasure to welcomе you again as a guest of Grand Hotel Sofia!

Kind Regards,
Kristian Ivanov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019 via mobile

Had to pay to use the jacuzzi which was listed as no charge. All reception were very curt and rude, no sign of the warm welcome noted elsewhere. Asked them to book a taxi for a specific time, said they would, they didn't and ended up flagging down a street taxi, which felt really unsafe and was to a very poor standard. Decor in rooms very dull, needs a refurb. By far the worst was the banging party music from an event at the hotel on Sat wce. Calld reception at 1130pm to ask when it would end, told would end at midnight, when asked why the noise was so loud was just told they had an Xmas party (why did you book these rooms out if you knew this was going CB to be the case). Called reception again at 1230, told the noise had finished. Relayed I could here the disco beat over the war plugs I had put in. Was still listening to the thud thud thud through my ear plugs at 0130. Totally ruined and already, really poor, stay. I feel we raised our issues at the time, none were addressed.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank xxxxxxx22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristianIvanov, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020


Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, although receiving such a negative review is very disappointing for us. It means to us that our 15 years of experience in providing one of the best possible services to our honored guests was not enough to meet your expectations.
It is well-known that this is the time of the year when most of the Christmas parties take place throughout the hotels in Sofia. Grand Hotel Sofia is not an exception. We always advice the organizers on the time zones when it is acceptable to have live music. Unfortunately as I understand this event turned into a party that had been prolonged in time. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. The comfort of our guests has always been a priority for us.
We would like to apologize for the misleading information you had in your booking confirmation. We will further investigate this matter with Expedia. We are deeply sorry that our team seemed unhelpful and that the level of service disappointed you.
Please, have in mind that taxi companies are independent and even though we work with them we cannot take responsibility for their service. That is why we offer our own high-level transportation service.
I understand your disappointment but I am sure that if you decide to book again with us, your next visit would be according to your expectations since we are already aware of your preferences and my colleagues will make sure that it would be a worthwhile experience for you.

Sincerely,

Kristian Ivanov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews