We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“grand in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Sofia
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
CHESHIRE,ENGLAND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“grand in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed at the hotel recently and could not fault the hotel in any way. The rooms are really spacious and very clean and the location of the hotel is superb for sightseeing as everything is within walking distance. We did not use the restaurant at the hotel but had a full English breakfast at the hotels grand café ( cost only 11 lev ..about £5 ) and was one of the best we have had in Europe, we also had a late snack at café and this too was lovely.
We had a room on the 6th floor which was very quiet and the air conditioning did work , unlike stated in other reviews.There are tea/ coffee making facilities and a safe in the room and ample wardrobe space , our room was not a suite or executive room but we still had two settees in the room.
This was our first time in SOFIA and with the hotels location found it easy to find our way around to the shops etc.. There is a lovely park at the rear of the hotel and lots of bars/ cafes just a short walk away.
we would highly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone visiting Sofia for their first time or to anyone who has stayed at another hotel in the city .as you will not find a better hotel in Sofia

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIKKERMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for the kind recognition. I have to admit that we had a wonderful start of the week after reading your comments. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the facilities and above all that the services met your expectations. Maybe on your next trip to Sofia you will have more time and you can enjoy the variety of tempting dishes in our Shades of Red restaurant, too.

Thank you for your overall rating of Grand Hotel Sofia as an excellent hotel.
It would be a great honor and pleasure to welcome you again next time you are in town.

Sincerely
Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    255
    49
    18
    7
See reviews for
80
189
65
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
235 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The location is great and the staff in the lobby is excellent, competent and responsive. The rooms are large and clean. The bed was uncomfortable - I actually question whether there was a box spring in it. Seemed as if it was a mattress on a base.
The bathroom is adequate and unlike many European bathrooms, the shower does not leak. Hallelujah.
However, it does not have any kind of railing to hold on to while taking shower -- important for older adults who may have trouble with balance. Air conditioning is non existent. You just put up with the heat.
The worst part of this hotel though, is the breakfast. While there is much scurrying around and people look busy, there is no system here. No one seems to have an assignment and I just got tired of running after the staff to get a cup of coffee. the tables are inconsistently set. The waitstaff does not look around or ask if they can get anything for you. The training is very much lacking. I believer that this has been mentioned by another reviewer a few years ago. They still haven't sorted it out!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandaMPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel has magnificent grandeur. The services are great, the food is great and the rooms are large and beautiful. Best hotel ever and perfect location right in the centre near a beautiful parc. Great to stay their for business, with friends or family including young children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Grand Hotel Sofia. It is very pleasing to read your words of praise and we thank you heartily for taking the time to share your feedback with everyone.

Naturally, we would love to be at your service again in the future and hope that your travel plans will take you back to Bulgaria.

Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very good location very close to the Old Town, polite and helpful staff, a large beautiful room :
Meal is not trying yet for this reasons can't say abaut quality or delicious but i hope its will be good :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindaugas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us and for choosing Grand Hotel Sofia.

We are delighted that you find our staff to be “polite and helpful” because it is people’s attitude that really make the difference.

Maybe on your next trip to Sofia you will have more time and you can enjoy the variety of tempting dishes in our Shades of Red Reastaurant or Grand Café Garden.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,
Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Grand Hotel Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
155 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

When I arrived in May the room was very hot, the windows in whole the hotel could not be opened . I asked for having the air condition or at least the ventilation repaired - both did not work. The reception replied that for whole the hotel neither aircondition nor ventilation is switched on! After heavy complaints they offered me a room in 6th floor with terrace doors which can be opened - but I would have to pay additional 55 Euros for that. When I refused they offered a room at the first floor at no extra charges where the windows aexceptionally could be opened- but I had to refuse because otherwise I would have been disturbed by the noisy street through the opened windows. Finally they gave my an other room where windows could not be opened and air condition and ventilation did not work, but which was a bit cooler than the original one. It was far from pleasant to stay the night in it, I streamed and slept badly. I only can say: Refrain from booking this hotel which allegedly is the best in Sofia!! What do you think about a hotel where windows cannot be opened and air condition and ventilation is stopped??

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wolfgang s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share this review.
Please accept our apologies that you have experienced some troubles with the airconditioning. This spring we witnessed quite unforeseen weather conditions in Sofia. Due to the differences in temperature from day to day and in order to suit the personal preferences of each guest we provide fans, heaters, humidifiers and rooms with opening windows ,along with the air conditioning, which is a standard room feature.

Thank you again for your comments. I understand your disappointment but I am sure that if you decide to book again with us your next visit would be according to your expectations since we are already aware of your preferences and my colleagues will make sure that it would be a worthwhile experience for you.

Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Grand Hotel Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

One of the best hotel in Sofia. The staff makes a big difference. They are discreet and efficient.
The rooms are big and nice. Some would need to be freshened-up a bit as the hotel gets a bit old. But generally speaking, always a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddb-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay at Grand Hotel Sofia and that our level of service surpassed your expectations.

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for commending our service team in this regard. Your kind recognition has been very well received.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

My friend and I were not sure about which hotel we had to reserve for our 4 days business trip in Sofia. I know Sofia very well. This is my 14.th visit but my first time to stay in Grand Hotel. I can shortly say that you will never get a better hotel in Sofia. The location is in the heart of the city. The staff, the rooms, the service and facilities are top of the top compared to all other hotels.
try it. You will never regret !!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the rooms facing the park are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahirhadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor readers. I have to admit that we had a wonderful start of the week after reading your comments. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the facilities and above all that the services met your expectations.
We hope it will not be long before we welcome you again as guest of the Grand Hotel Sofia.
Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Sense Hotel Sofia
#5 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 130 in Sofia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#6 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sofia

Property: Grand Hotel Sofia
Address: ul.Gen. Gurko 1, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#2 Business Hotel in Sofia
#3 Family Hotel in Sofia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star hotel's unique central location and easy access to major sights makes this an ideal choice when staying in Sofia. It offers extremely spacious rooms where to enjoy a 5-star level of luxury, style and comfort. The modern Convention Centre features 4 conference rooms, varying in size to accommodate from 10 to 150 delegates in different set-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing