We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Sofia
Nearby Hotels
$111
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Sofia(Sofia)
$125
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$66
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lion(Sofia)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Hotel(Sofia)(Great Value!)
$47
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$90
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,084)
Filter reviews
1,084 results
Traveler rating
637
344
70
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
344
70
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen marblered restaurantrooms are hugecorner suitenational theatreexecutive roomfive star hotelcentral locationwalking distanceexcellent locationbreakfast buffetairport transferthe heart of the citylobby bareastern europebusiness triphotel restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 1,084 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The rooms are ridiculously large. Perfect if you want to practice your cartwheels.

Very clean. Bathroom equally huge, separate bath and shower. Great location.

Staff very helpful. Lovely cafe set on a terrace on the edge of the park. Price did not include breakfast but I ate in the terrace cafe which was much nicer than the breakfast room anyway.

It is possible to stay here for a very low price on a Saturday night as it is largely aimed at a business traveller and so prices fall sharply at weekend. Well worth splurging.

Had a massage in the health centre which was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EleN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Grand Hotel Sofia. It is very pleasing to read your words of praise and we thank you heartily for taking the time to share your feedback with everyone.

Naturally, we would love to be at your service again in the future and hope that your travel plans will take you back to Bulgaria.

Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Rooms the size of a tennis court. All new and clean. Great location. we paid about £100 per night over a weekend which included airport transfers. It was room only but the hotel cafe which overlooks the park has coffee for about £1.50 and omelettes for about £3.50 - therefore £5 for breakfast - which is probably expensive for Bulgaria but is very cheap for a 5*. Location is really central. Staff very helpful. Would go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigelthepelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear valued guest,

I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose Grand Hotel Sofia while you here. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me. The front desk would be happy to connect you to my office.

Sincerely,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was given a superior room on the top floor, with a huge balcony, which was great. The downside was the mosquito bites I got in the room, when I was asleep. I had been warned by a colleague who had stayed there the previous week and took some repellant, so didn't get bitten the first night but did on the second with no repellant. We also noticed them flying around the restaurant, when eating our evening meal. The breakfast, which was included in the price was lovely but the set price evening meal didn't quite live up to expectation, so we ventured out the second night and the meal was much better. A well appointed hotel with lovely spacious rooms and good facilities, it's a shame that the bites and evening meal let the facility down.

Room Tip: If possible get a room on the upper floor, as the views are better!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carr2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear valued guest,


Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review and for the overall rating of Grand Hotel Sofia as a good hotel.
We were very happy to know that you enjoyed the amenities and that our service team has met your expectations.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the mosquitoes. During the years we have never had such complaints. Unfortunately, this year due to the heavy rains in the summer, the whole city was invaded by mosquitoes. The action of the municipality did not give the expected results. We have done everything possible to prevent this reflecting on our guests and I am deeply sorry that it affected your otherwise pleasant stay with us.

We hope it will not be long before we welcome you again as guest of the Grand Hotel Sofia. I can guarantee you that my colleagues will make sure that it would be another worthwhile experience for you.

Best Regards

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights as participant to a conference. Extra spacious rooms unusual for the typical business traveler. Price too high but comparable to same 5 star hotels in the area. Great location in the heart of the city. Had breakfast/ lunches/diner there. Would prefer to taste more of the local/national delicacies than the same international standardized menus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATHANASIOS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us and for choosing Grand Hotel Sofia. We are proud of our property and your feedback shows that we have managed to pass the experience to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great location in the centre, close to Presidential and Governments offices, as well as major museums. Large bedroom with magnificent views. Free wifi and good desk area. Good wardrobe and bathroom. Staff very attentive. Great facilities for conferences. Among the very best hotels in Sofia. Recommended for business, but also for tourists because of its location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Sofia. Our team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as possible. When we accomplish that we have done our job. Thank you so much for the kind words. We are more than thrilled that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations.


We hope it will not be long before we welcome you again as guest of the Grand Hotel Sofia.
Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews