We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absurdly huge room, v low Saturday prices”
Review of Grand Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sofia
Ranked #6 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“absurdly huge room, v low Saturday prices”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The rooms are ridiculously large. Perfect if you want to practice your cartwheels.

Very clean. Bathroom equally huge, separate bath and shower. Great location.

Staff very helpful. Lovely cafe set on a terrace on the edge of the park. Price did not include breakfast but I ate in the terrace cafe which was much nicer than the breakfast room anyway.

It is possible to stay here for a very low price on a Saturday night as it is largely aimed at a business traveller and so prices fall sharply at weekend. Well worth splurging.

Had a massage in the health centre which was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EleN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Grand Hotel Sofia. It is very pleasing to read your words of praise and we thank you heartily for taking the time to share your feedback with everyone.

Naturally, we would love to be at your service again in the future and hope that your travel plans will take you back to Bulgaria.

Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    287
    58
    21
    9
See reviews for
94
226
73
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Rooms the size of a tennis court. All new and clean. Great location. we paid about £100 per night over a weekend which included airport transfers. It was room only but the hotel cafe which overlooks the park has coffee for about £1.50 and omelettes for about £3.50 - therefore £5 for breakfast - which is probably expensive for Bulgaria but is very cheap for a 5*. Location is really central. Staff very helpful. Would go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigelthepelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose Grand Hotel Sofia while you here. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me. The front desk would be happy to connect you to my office.

Sincerely,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was given a superior room on the top floor, with a huge balcony, which was great. The downside was the mosquito bites I got in the room, when I was asleep. I had been warned by a colleague who had stayed there the previous week and took some repellant, so didn't get bitten the first night but did on the second with no repellant. We also noticed them flying around the restaurant, when eating our evening meal. The breakfast, which was included in the price was lovely but the set price evening meal didn't quite live up to expectation, so we ventured out the second night and the meal was much better. A well appointed hotel with lovely spacious rooms and good facilities, it's a shame that the bites and evening meal let the facility down.

Room Tip: If possible get a room on the upper floor, as the views are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carr2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,


Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review and for the overall rating of Grand Hotel Sofia as a good hotel.
We were very happy to know that you enjoyed the amenities and that our service team has met your expectations.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the mosquitoes. During the years we have never had such complaints. Unfortunately, this year due to the heavy rains in the summer, the whole city was invaded by mosquitoes. The action of the municipality did not give the expected results. We have done everything possible to prevent this reflecting on our guests and I am deeply sorry that it affected your otherwise pleasant stay with us.

We hope it will not be long before we welcome you again as guest of the Grand Hotel Sofia. I can guarantee you that my colleagues will make sure that it would be another worthwhile experience for you.

Best Regards

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights as participant to a conference. Extra spacious rooms unusual for the typical business traveler. Price too high but comparable to same 5 star hotels in the area. Great location in the heart of the city. Had breakfast/ lunches/diner there. Would prefer to taste more of the local/national delicacies than the same international standardized menus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATHANASIOS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us and for choosing Grand Hotel Sofia. We are proud of our property and your feedback shows that we have managed to pass the experience to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great location in the centre, close to Presidential and Governments offices, as well as major museums. Large bedroom with magnificent views. Free wifi and good desk area. Good wardrobe and bathroom. Staff very attentive. Great facilities for conferences. Among the very best hotels in Sofia. Recommended for business, but also for tourists because of its location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Sofia. Our team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as possible. When we accomplish that we have done our job. Thank you so much for the kind words. We are more than thrilled that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations.


We hope it will not be long before we welcome you again as guest of the Grand Hotel Sofia.
Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel ticks most of the boxes for the modern business traveller.

On the plus side; the location is excellent, there is a decent sized fitness center and rooms are of high quality.

On the down side, breakfast is charged at a ridiculous amount given local pricing so I would recommend getting it included in your room rate.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank andyhook2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are so honored that you chose Grand Hotel Sofia while you were in town. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience. Your kind recognition has been very well received.

We are proud of our culinary operation and try to satisfy all tastes and preferences. The breakfast might seem a little bit expensive compared to what is on offer locally but it allows us to maintain the quality and variety that our guests deserve.

Naturally, we would love to be at your service again in the future and hope that your travel plans will take you back to Bulgaria.

Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a Business trip.
The rooms are large and spacious.
My room was a superior room, double bed, room safe, no balcony, TV with two English channels, BBC news and discovery channel. No kettle.
The bathroom was old fashioned but large. All bathroom amenities provided, the hairdryer was the old fashioned type and should now be relegated to a museum. There was a seperate shower and bath. Room service available and the food was good.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and was good, with all tastes being catered for.
The hotel was located in the centre of Sofia, so everything was within walking distance.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: My room was on the 4th floor and I had no complaints. 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking some time to share your comments with the Tripadvisor readers. The guest feedback is the best way for us to rate the quality of the services that we provide. Thank you for helping us in our ongoing efforts to achieve excellence. Your notes have been taken into consideration.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Sofia and our hotel.
Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
1,269 reviews
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
469 reviews
Serdica
Hotel Anel
Hotel Anel
#3 of 133 in Sofia
504 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sofia

Property: Grand Hotel Sofia
Address: ul.Gen. Gurko 1, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#2 Business Hotel in Sofia
#3 Family Hotel in Sofia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star hotel's unique central location and easy access to major sights makes this an ideal choice when staying in Sofia. It offers extremely spacious rooms where to enjoy a 5-star level of luxury, style and comfort. The modern Convention Centre features 4 conference rooms, varying in size to accommodate from 10 to 150 delegates in different set-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing