We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trouble free if uninspiring stay!”
Review of Grand Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sofia
Ranked #4 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Had a very pleasant stay, being a frequent traveller to Bulgaria I suppose a lot of what irritated other travellers barely rated... rooms are really large, and the non-smoking room was smoke free (which makes a change in this country!).

Staff were disinterested, but once you got their attention they did deal with the issue. Room service was okay, and prompt. Bathrooms were decadent, but as with some other reviews, water temperature fluctuated.

Great location, good parking availability, which is a big plus, and very clean. One of the better hotels in Sofia, good english skills which makes things much less stressful, though for the price I was expecting more.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Christanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2008

Stayed two nights on business. The hotel suited my needs. It is very central, very clean and comfortable but a little uninspiring. The room I sayed in was very large - almost too large. I was told that the building was originaly designed as an office block and then made into a hotel resulting in very deep rooms. Bathroom was very clean and had a bath and separate cubicle shower; the only niggle was that the water temperature was a little tempremental, on the plus side the shower pressure was very good. Room was standard large hotel decor (nothing wrong with it but you could have been in a hotel room anywhere in the world i.e. no real character or particular style) and has a huge bed, TV, minibar, safe wardrobes, large picture window, sofa, desk, TV . Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with a variety of hot and cold buffet food. Overall a safe bet in Sofia, but next time I might try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

I've stayed in this hotel in August 2006 during a tour trip to Bulgaria. This hotel is very central, the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated in a classic style. During breakfast I had an omelette prepared in front of me with the ingredients I chose, which was delicious! It was one of the best hotels I've stayed in Bulgaria and I would definetely stay again in this hotel if I'll come back to Sofia!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CIVOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

I have stayed in this hotel twice on business trips to Sofia, most recently in January of 2008. The hotel is very nice and, for the most part, probably does deserve its 5-star rating. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious, well furnished, clean, and comfortable. The service and the breakfast are both very good - although it would have been nice to have my coffee cup refilled a bit more promptly during breakfast. (It's not as though the breakfast room was extremely busy while I was there.) The fitness room is small and doesn't open until 7:30 so no chance for an early morning workout if you need to be somewhere by 9am.

I think my only significant complaint is that the hotel lacks a certain character or flavor. If you didn't look out the windows, you would have absolutely no idea where in the world this hotel was located. If I need to visit Sofia again, my inclination is to select either a lower priced alternative or a hotel that offers something truly special at the same price level.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Stayed here a few times during trips to Sofia over the past year for 1 or 2 nights at a time.

Check In/Check Out

Service at the desk has been excellent each time I've visited. The staff are among the top in the city. They make a conscious effort to remember your name and are good with suggestions around the city. The bell service beats any in the city & the underground valet parking is excellent for anyone with a car.

Room

The rooms are in the pricier region of the higher end hotels in the city, but are by far the largest for a standard or executive. Each of the rooms on the top floor is fashioned with a huge balcony which is nice. There are nice touches in the rooms such as the small bottle of wine as mentioned previously. The bathrooms are definitely nicer than other hotels in it's class in the city. As mentioned earlier, there is an issue with hot/cold water in the showers. It's apparently a top floor thing and you have to figure out just the exact position to turn the shower knob.

Food

Breakfast is nothing special, but it is not bad. Other hotels in this class in the city, (i.e. Sheraton & Radisson) put on a much more impressive spread. Have never eaten a meal but have sat out on the patio and enjoyed a drink/dessert which is a somewhat nice location.

Location

Is excellently placed for exploring Sofia. In fact, arguably the best placed among the luxury hotels for visiting the city center shopping/historical sights.

All in all, I wouldn't avoid this hotel on future trips to Sofia as it can be quite comfortable but it is not the top on my list.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Faithful_Suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

My husband & I stayed at this hotel as part of our Bulgaria & Romania package tour last May 2007. The hotel is centrally located and is walking distance to several major sights of the city. Reception staff service was acceptable; porters/bellboys' service prompt and excellent. We were given an executive room facing the Vitosha Mountains (I think that's what it is) and a busy main street down below, which did not bother us at all, since it was so quiet and peaceful inside our room. I believe the rooms across our room are better rooms to book because they face the City garden & the Ivan Vazov National Theatre, which for me, is a nicer view from one's room. Our room is humongous and very clean although I'll say it's time for the carpets to be replaced. The room also came with complimentary bottle of water daily during the duration of your stay, a small bottle of red Bulgarian wine on day of check-in, room safe, breakfast daily and internet access. What we like most about the room is the huge and tastefully designed bathroom. One can just have a relaxing bubble bath in there after a long day of sightseeing.
Breakfast was more than adequate. They have cereals, juices, various kinds of breads & pastries, fruits & some other food items I personally do not recognize. One can also order omelette which will be prepared in front of you. However, the numerous times we were there, nobody was stationed to cook the omellettes. No big deal, however, our biggest peeve was the slow service by the waiters even though they are not busy. We are not demanding Americans, but most of the time it took forever for anybody to approach us to ask if we want coffee or tea.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay in this hotel. We would not hesitate to recommend this place to our friends & family.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gctravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

I met a bulgarian girl in a nightclub and she agreed to come with me in my hotel room at Grand Hotel Sofia but what was my surprise when the receptionist refused to let her in because she might be a prostitute (I wonder why this should bother me so much since the prostitution is not a crime in Bulgaria) and I couldn't convince them by any means that I can take care of myself pretty well. They ruined my night and my stay at this hotel. I guess that the guys at the reception have some kind of financial agreement with call-girls agencies not to let the competitors in Grand Hotel Sofia. I really didn't care if my girl was a streetwalker or not - I think I have the right when paying load of money to stay at a certain hotel to be able to invite my friends to visit me for couple of hours in my room.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
45  Thank wild_stag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
575 reviews
3.8 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 135 in Sofia
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 135 in Sofia
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sofia

Address: ul.Gen. Gurko 1, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#2 Business Hotel in Sofia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#3 Family Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: $103 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star hotel's unique central location and easy access to major sights makes this an ideal choice when staying in Sofia. It offers extremely spacious rooms where to enjoy a 5-star level of luxury, style and comfort. The modern Convention Centre features 4 conference rooms, varying in size to accommodate from 10 to 150 delegates in different set-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing