We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent place!”
Review of Hotel Brod

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Brod
Ranked #78 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times. Mostly just for a night to catch a much to early flight from SOF airport. Only some 15 min drive to the Terminals.
The staff is very friendly and speaks good English.
The breakfast buffet is very good. Not too far off a 5 star hotel breakfast buffet, compared to the Sofia Holiday Inn for example, which costs an arm and a leg extra if you take even just one sausage from the hot breakfast items.
If you have to leave in the middle of the night they make you a simple to go breakfast.

The rooms are modern and clean, if you want to sleep in for a bit, traffic noise can be a bother.
They will also park your car and have it ready for your departure if the car park is full.
A very decent place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Brod
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

Don't be put off by the hotel being outside the city centre, it is on a bus route and not expensive to reach by taxi. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The shower/toilet room was small and the shower had no cubicle but there was a shower curtain and the floor drained and dried quickly so it would be a petty criticism. It is on a busy road but I managed to sleep well. Breakfast was continental but plentiful, a good variety of cereals, meats, cheeses, boiled egg, toast, pastries, yoghurt etc. The big plus however was the friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. I asked about shops as I had forgotten toothpaste and I was immediately given a small tube of toothpaste. I checked out at 4.30am and was given a "breakfast bag" to take with me. I would certainly stay at the Hotel Brod again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

I was here with my wife and we enjoyed the stay very much. The Brod maybe only 3 star but the staff are friendly, the breakfast,, restaurant, , rooms and cleanliness were first class. Would definitely stay here again next time in Sofia and would have no qualms about recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

The staff was young, friendly and welcoming, the hotel was clean and comfortable, but the best part was the breakfast. From chocolate cappucinos, eggs, yoghurts, and hot dishes, it really gave us good balanced energy for our travels. We ate our fill, and found that the hotel was really great value. Also, it was an easy and cheap trip to the airport by taxi.

Our only complaint is that our neighbors were loud in the morning-- we could even hear them in the hallway.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktimene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The Room was clean and very nice. Fresh towels and bed was turned daily. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Hot and Cold Buffet Breakfast available. Very Affordable at Euro 35 per night (i got the promo) - Euro 40 regular price per night. Free wifi ... strong signals, routers for every floor. About 10 to 15 minutes from the Airport. Restaurant on the first floor. Will definitely stay there again when I am in Sofia. Overall a wonderful stay !!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_P2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed just one night to catch an early flight. They made me sandwiches to pick up when I left at 3:30AM. WiFi performance patchy but free, unlike in the Holiday Inn f.ex.
Restaurant dinner was pretty good too.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reistvielundgern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

The hotel was modern, rooms were good size, clean and comfortable, well heated in winter. Lifts small but fast. Free wireless worked well, but not too many plugs in room. Small television and small refrigerator (stocked by hotel, but space for some items). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Included in price was good breakfast for Sofia with cold meats and cheeses, cereal, breads, yogurt, juices, a few hot items. Restaurant had non-smoking section but smoke still thick, especially in the evening. Hotel will pick you up and take you back to airport in their shuttle for 12 Euros. Good price coming to hotel if you don't know where it is, but I only paid about 5 Euros for taxi back to airport (would be more at busy times). Location good for embassies and university area but long way to city center. Hotel is on main road with heavy traffic 24-7 so it can be noisy in rooms fronting the road.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
California Hotel
#95 of 133 in Sofia
42 reviews
Suite Hotel Sofia
#12 of 133 in Sofia
274 reviews
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 133 in Sofia
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akord Hotel
#32 of 133 in Sofia
93 reviews
Alexander Palace
#85 of 133 in Sofia
1 reviews
Lozenets
Silver House
Silver House
#34 of 133 in Sofia
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brod

Address: bul.Simeonovsko shose 66, Sofia 1700, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: $41 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brod 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brod Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing