We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hostel with the Most(el)!”
Review of Hostel Mostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Mostel
Ranked #1 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Hostel with the Most(el)!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The location is great, the staff are super friendly and if you get a private room the breakfast and dinner (spaghetti and a beer) are free. If you stay in a dorm they are only 6 lev. Plus there are kittens and wifi!!! What more could you want??? It is a little bit tricky to find the hostel if you are new to Sofia. Something to consider is the hostels €10 transport service from the airport. Pre-book with them and they will get you from the airport to the hostel with no hassle! Enjoy Sofia!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Han16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    183
    44
    13
    24
See reviews for
16
107
216
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellenden Ker, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thanks allot, was nothing short of a great time. I guess these guys ahve been a round a fair while and it shows, they have the whole hostel thing down to a fine art. The breakfast is a serious undertaking, the largest, best looking breakfast Ive seen since mums jam and pancake days. The location is perfect, right in the middle of Sofia. I think all the private rooms are located in building not directly attached to the hostel, which can be a blessing and bit of a pain. Worth considering if you want to be right in the middle of the action. In brief this place has everything one expects from a well run hostel, including helpful, friendly staff. Special thanks to Todd, goodtimes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just spent the weekend at hostel mostel met some awesome amazing people and that was just the staff really friendly down too earth great place too meet and talk to other backpackers . The breakfast is good so is the evening meal and the laundry service . Its a really nice and relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

i guess everyone wrote that, 10 euros for breakfast AND dinner (altough it was spaghetti everyday) + glass of beer. awesome.
good:
- very mixed guests, which is good. i met people all over europe (but also lot of high school uk groups), but also japanese who traveled the world, older couples etc.
- clean, wifi everywhere, computer
- excellent location
- pretty rooms
bad:
- the friendlyness of the staff is rather on a mediocre level.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliketurtleeees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed 2 nights here, but we had great fun. We stayed in the attic room which had lots of beds, so it was cool. The hostel was really relaxed, and in a nice location with really friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisLongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hostel is a nice place to stay in Sofia for a very reasonable price. There is a giant dorm underneath the roof (20 beds). You can get pasta and beer at night and breakfast in the morning. They organize pub crawls which is a great way to meet people and go out in nice pubs and clubs. The hostel is clean and very well located, with a very comfortable common room. It has all the facilities you might need: wifi, computers, free maps, bathrooms, a kitchen.
The only disadvantage I would think of is that it doesn't have much of a family atmosphere: you get the feeling that they don't personalize the service for you, they are very used to dealing with many many guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy_suzy_suzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Really nice hostel with a good position. The staff was really polite and helpful.
Rooms were nice, clean and the prices really cheap.
The hostel is located in a really beautiful old building (The Old Inn, a old greek travellers inn)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelbiont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#6 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Fleurs Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mostel

Property: Hostel Mostel
Address: pl.Makedonia 2a, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Mostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Mostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mostel Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing