We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Hostel Mostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Mostel
Ranked #1 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hostel is in such a great location. So close to the city center, with pubs, restaurants and markets. Really clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is delicious and staff are friendly. Fantastic hostel. www.bestsofiahostel.com

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    191
    45
    17
    27
See reviews for
16
113
223
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at Hostel Mostel in Sofia recently, and I can't stop talking about what a great place this was. It was quirky and fun, and well-situated. Of all the hostels I stayed at during my trip recently, this was the most memorable and professional.

I stayed in the 18-bed loft, which was adequate for a good night's sleep. The shared bathrooms and showers were clean and well-maintained. The reception area was great! I got there before my bed was ready; so, I had to hang out downstairs for a few hours. There were plenty of comfortable couch spaces, a no-shoes area, dining tables, a pool table and computer access. I fell asleep on the couch for 2 hours and woke up totally rested!

The staff was very very helpful -- at least the day staff. The girl that told me about the area was very knowledgeable, and anything she didn't know, she was very happy to look up for me. She helped me find train times out of Sofia and get a taxi to the train station, and gave me tons of recommendations on what to do and where to eat. The Free Walking Tour is a great way to see the city, by the way.

The other great thing, of course, is that they have a buffet breakfast and a spaghetti dinner included in the price every day!

The place was filled with lots of fun and interesting people traveling through, and I never felt unsafe as a solo female traveler. I also felt safe walking around the area at night -- within reason, of course -- to local restaurants and bars, etc.

Hostel Mostel set the standard for all other hostels on this trip... and every other one disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomnomyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were booked at this hostel for August 1st week, 2012 and we made this booking almost 2 weeks in advance.

About 3 days prior to our visit we got a mail from the management stating that there was a plumbing problem in few rooms and our room was affected; the hostel made our arrangements at another hostel near by. On reaching Sofia we inquired again on the reason for shifting us? Surprisingly, the answer was not consistent, the staff mentioned it was due to overbooking.

I would not like to comment on the rooms and stay as we did not stay at this hostel but yes the management is unreliable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Absolutely amazing staff, very friendly and helpful with great advice about what to do in the city (tip we benefited from: the Free Sofia tour). Great atmosphere and appreciated free spaghetti/beer in the evening. Nice atmosphere with reggae music to chill.
We stayed at the other part of the hostel (opposite street), which was perfect and cosy (few rooms in an actual apartment with kitchen, great showers and free access computers). Clean rooms and bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great place!!! totally recomended!!! location is great, very close of the city centre and the tourist places. Staff is amazing!!! they are really helpfull, giving you information, being polite with everything you need. Its also really nice to spend time in the hostel knowing people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Ideal location, right in the middle of everything. We had the airport pick up, its a bit more expensive than a taxi and a lot more expensive than the bus but they are waiting for you in the arrivals hall and take you right to the hostel. We were picked up be a couple of very helpful and cheerful men. The staff were happy and very helpful. When we arrived at the hostel we were given a map with places to see/eat/drink on. The girl also marked out the places she suggested we visit and explained about a few places we were unsure of.
We had booked a private double room so we weren't staying in the hostel itself but down the road in an apartment. It has 3 bedrooms and a shared kitchen, lounge, bathroom and small toilet room. The rooms are big and spacious and have 3 single beds in them. There is only one thin pillow on the beds and no extra ones in the room. We had a small balcony overlooking the courtyard behind the building. The rooms are very basic but they do the job The kitchen has a fridge/freezer, oven and hob and all the things you'd need to cook and eat. We didn't find any glasses to drink from but there were mugs. There is a large bathroom with a shower over the bath.shower wasn't the best but it did the job. Near the kitchen there is a small cloakroom with a toilet and sink. The living area is large and spacious with a very comfy corner sofa. They have free WiFi in the apartment and in the hostel itself. The apartment wasn't overly clean during our stay. Partly because of the 3 messy lads in the opostie room who left their rubbish and used towels everywhere but the bathrooms were dirty as were the floors.
Even though we were staying in the apartment we also had access to the hostel amenities. We didn't have the evening meal as we preceded to go out for food but we did have the breakfast which wasn't much, apples, olives, salami, tomatoes, bread, natural yoghurt and Bulgarian white cheese. I wouldn't recommend getting up for it.
Twice we got the staff in the hostel to call us a taxi and they were very happy to help. Would definitely stay here again and will be booking the Plovdiv hostel for next summer's trip across Bulgaria

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GretelRatzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a private room for two people. Everything was very clean. The staff was friendly and even took the time to sit down with us for 10 minutes to go over their free (and very useful) map, pointing out sites of interest and eating recommendations. Wifi worked great. Also the free breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of it. It's pretty much everything a great hostel should be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
478 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
927 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serdica
Hotel Anel
Hotel Anel
#5 of 133 in Sofia
516 reviews
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mostel

Property: Hostel Mostel
Address: pl.Makedonia 2a, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Mostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Mostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mostel Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing