We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel Mostel”
Review of Hostel Mostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Mostel
Ranked #1 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great place!!! totally recomended!!! location is great, very close of the city centre and the tourist places. Staff is amazing!!! they are really helpfull, giving you information, being polite with everything you need. Its also really nice to spend time in the hostel knowing people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 701 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Ideal location, right in the middle of everything. We had the airport pick up, its a bit more expensive than a taxi and a lot more expensive than the bus but they are waiting for you in the arrivals hall and take you right to the hostel. We were picked up be a couple of very helpful and cheerful men. The staff were happy and very helpful. When we arrived at the hostel we were given a map with places to see/eat/drink on. The girl also marked out the places she suggested we visit and explained about a few places we were unsure of.
We had booked a private double room so we weren't staying in the hostel itself but down the road in an apartment. It has 3 bedrooms and a shared kitchen, lounge, bathroom and small toilet room. The rooms are big and spacious and have 3 single beds in them. There is only one thin pillow on the beds and no extra ones in the room. We had a small balcony overlooking the courtyard behind the building. The rooms are very basic but they do the job The kitchen has a fridge/freezer, oven and hob and all the things you'd need to cook and eat. We didn't find any glasses to drink from but there were mugs. There is a large bathroom with a shower over the bath.shower wasn't the best but it did the job. Near the kitchen there is a small cloakroom with a toilet and sink. The living area is large and spacious with a very comfy corner sofa. They have free WiFi in the apartment and in the hostel itself. The apartment wasn't overly clean during our stay. Partly because of the 3 messy lads in the opostie room who left their rubbish and used towels everywhere but the bathrooms were dirty as were the floors.
Even though we were staying in the apartment we also had access to the hostel amenities. We didn't have the evening meal as we preceded to go out for food but we did have the breakfast which wasn't much, apples, olives, salami, tomatoes, bread, natural yoghurt and Bulgarian white cheese. I wouldn't recommend getting up for it.
Twice we got the staff in the hostel to call us a taxi and they were very happy to help. Would definitely stay here again and will be booking the Plovdiv hostel for next summer's trip across Bulgaria

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GretelRatzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a private room for two people. Everything was very clean. The staff was friendly and even took the time to sit down with us for 10 minutes to go over their free (and very useful) map, pointing out sites of interest and eating recommendations. Wifi worked great. Also the free breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of it. It's pretty much everything a great hostel should be.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The hostel was standard. Clean, comfortable and located about 10 min walk to the centre of town.

Room Tip: Dorms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed in a private room (with double bed and a bunk bed) which located in another building on the second floor, about 500 meters from the main building. I liked the spacy and colorful room (which can be cramped up for 4 people), overlooking the Hristo Botev Bulevard. There was internet that was on-and-off but worked okay and the shared bathroom was clean and spacy too. They served breakfast and simple dinner with free-flow beer in the common room in the main building. The staffs were very helpful esp. w/ the Sofia map with insider tips on places to hang-out. They offered a day trip to Rila Monastery which was worth it. They also give you a voucher for a free shot at their Hostel Mostel Bar (about two doors next to the main building) every night. All in all, it's great place esp. for 1st time travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A great little find at a very good price! Very welcoming staff and atmosphere. Great common room facilities and we loved the breakfast and dinner. (it may have been just pasta- but it was free and there was a beer too!)

We met some lovely people there and they recommended the day trip that was on offer. Day trip was a great experience and the staff couldn't be more accomodating. Personal touches made this hostel.

Quirky place, with dry cleaning offered and lots of great things to see! Loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoothedoutdrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great facilities, lovely atmosphere, great price. Couldn't ask for better, especially as there was an earthquake during our stay. Took a suite (wonderful), but spent one night in a dorm initially, which was also fine.

Room Tip: Suite is DEFINITELY worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 135 in Sofia
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
10 Coins Hostel
10 Coins Hostel
#5 of 142 in Sofia
90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Moreto & Caffeto Hostel
Moreto & Caffeto Hostel
#4 of 142 in Sofia
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canape Connection Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mostel

Address: pl.Makedonia 2a, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Price Range: $12 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Mostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Mostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mostel Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing